We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, bucolic getaway from Addis hustle”
Review of Negash Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Negash Lodge
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint, bucolic getaway from Addis hustle”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Negash is a wonderful little oasis -- a sprinkling of small cabins throughout a lush, monkey laden forest. With no internet connection, it proved the perfect place to disconnect and relax. We organized a day trip with a hotel driver from Negash to the Wenchi crater -- it was the highlight of our long weekend (and our car thanked us for travelling in the hotel's vehicle instead). Restaurant is good, although some things are better than others (when in doubt, go with the Italian and you won't be disappointed). Pool is great for kids, as are the monkeys who really seem to be the ones running the show.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    36
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
16
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about 20 days on a business trip. Food was mostly adequate with Italian dishes being their best fare. Warm water occasionally for showers if you ran the water long enough. Given the other choices in the Waliso area this is the best place around by far. The staff was always pleasant and helpful in my experience, so I will stay here again on my return trips to the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Lodge is good for a vacation escaping from the hustle of Addis Ababa. The newly designed bungalows are named after some tribes or nationalities of Ethiopia, which make a good sense of being in the Country.

We were impressed by a tree lounge and the hot spring baths. The hot spring bath is refreshing. The rooms are clean but the price is a bit high. The general Ecosystem is good to relax or meditate. Swimming pool is also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston/New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I fell in love with Negash Lodge as soon as we drove through the gate. The location is amazing, the whole estate is magic with bungalows depicting the many different cultures of Ethiopia. Staff was friendly, food was good. the only draw back was the internet connection (almost none, but that's a problem all over the country). I wished I had stayed there when it was not raining so that I could take advantage of the pool. It's a magical, timeless place.

Room Tip: You just have to have the staff show you all the bungalows available until you find the one you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel has the atmosphere of an old time lodge and the environment with the huge trees and monkeys is an experience in itself. The room was a bit small (in Amhara house), but functional enough. I recommend this place, for example, when visiting the Wenchi crater lake. After the dusty road from Wenchi, the pool with warm water will be particularly delightful. We had very nice kitfo for dinner in the garden restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A nice place to chill outside if you need to get out of Addis nowadays quite polluted air. A bit run down and quite a few functions not running. Rooms tidy and clean. The "orthopedic" mattresses are not very comfortable though and there is absolutely no insulation between the rooms in the huts - you hear everything. The food is ok by Ethiopian standards, unfortunately one of us got uncooked chicken (served in darkness) and had some stomach problems afterwards. Powder juice for breakfast.
I have spent quite some time in Ethiopia through the years, but this is the first time I ever had something stolen. And unless monkeys wear shoes...
What upsets me more was the total lack of interest by the staff at the front desk to try to solve the theft. They were also rude and tried to prevent me from talking to the manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethiopia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nice compound and the swimming pool makes all the difference. Rooms are clean and silence is there during the night.Orthopedic mattresses sounds nice, except that they are much more harder than a normal one, so be ready.
Food is average, not tasty. Juice from powder by breakfast doesn't fit well.
No room prices are visible at the reception, so they try to sell you surely not the cheapest room.
WIFI only at the reception at limited moments.
Otherwise the swimming pool, not available on TUESDAY, there is not so much you can do here.No view, no nice walks in the surroundings. Also NO mosquito nets in the room.

Room Tip: cheapest are the rooms Addis Ababa in the white building. 725 BIRR. Price for couple or single is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eenEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Negash Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negash Lodge

Property: Negash Lodge
Address: Main Road | Wolliso, Giyon, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Giyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Giyon
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Negash Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negash Hotel Giyon
Negash Lodge Ethiopia/Giyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing