We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to relax”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #1 of 3 Guildford B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to relax”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Hollies several times now and it is really a nice little oasis in the historical suburb of Guilford.The accommodation (x2) is actually located at the back of the house in the garden and covered in a spawling array of Ivy. Close to the nearby antique shops ,restaurants and even the Airport is not far away. The beautiful and famous wineries of Swan Valley are literally up the road and Perth itself is less than 30 min away. Judith really goes out of her way to make you welcome and comfortable and the continental breakfasts are lovely and welcome. Judith takes personal care that the room is "just so" when you arrive back from a day long outing or evening on the town. It really creates a homey atmosphere. The decanter of reserve Port is also a nice touch. Overall its really a very pleasant place to relax and enjoy....andre and Peggy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

You could not ask for a more delightful and comfortable place to stay - if only the rest of the B&B operators could raise their standards to match what is provided at Judith's wonderful B&B. We were so relieved to arrive at the Hollies having spent time in the South West. Judith has obviously invested hugely of herself - The "Hollies" oozes charm, warmth and elegance. From the instant we walked through the doors we relaxed and didn't want to leave. From the bedroom, french doors open out onto a spectacular garden. The bedding is wonderful - thick cotton sheets and fluffy dreamy pillows. We slept deeply and woke up rested. We feasted on a wonderful continental breakfast before we set of exploring Guilford. The Hollies is immaculate and Judith and her beautiful Cavaliers are the perfect hosts. The Hollies is perfectly situated from the centre of Perth and is on the doorstep of the Swan Valley. I will be staying again. Thank you Judith

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Thank you Judith, so much, for such a wonderful stay. We've travelled to many places around the world and choose, more often than not, to stay at B&B's. From the moment we walked into the drive, to be met by your two beautiful Cavaliers and stunning gardens, we felt instantly relaxed and very much at home. Our room contained all we could ask for, plump towels, fluffy robes, crisp linen and very comfortable beds. Again with a beautiful garden outlook. A perfect continental breakfast was served day one and thank goodness for one of the best full breakfasts we've had in a long time, so as to get us through a very busy day two. Your facilities are second to none and as such, will have no hesitation in recommending you to friends and family, should they ever hit your shores! Thank you once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Hollies is lovely, and Judith does her utmost to provide her customers with lovely decorated rooms, superb garden setting and delightful breakfast but there were a few small things that prevented our stay from being perfect.
The french doors in our room could not be opened outward due to an overhanging awning, this made the room very stuffy.
Proximity to the airport means thundering planes overhead quite often.
There is no parking near the rooms, I was shocked when asked to park on the street verge however Judith did let me park in the driveway once hubby was home from work.
We could not find the remote controller for the air con anywhere.
The rowdy neighbours kept us entertained with their coulourful language.
Without sounding too negative our stay was enjoyable but for $190 per night I expected perfect, and it was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katanning, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Hollies was an absolute delight. In addition to the fact that it was located right in central Guildford and close to Guildford train station , it was within a stones throw to a number of restaurents, cafes the Woodbridge Hotel and a short drive to the Midland shopping precinct. I was lead by Judith the lovely host through a beautiful garden with lovely little outdoor pavillion, into a reasonable sized very elegant bedroom decorated in the French Provincial Shabby Chique style. The ensuite bathroom was modern and luxurious .
The bed was decorated with lovely linen and was incredibly comfortable. I usually hate the pillows in hotel accomodation but these were plump, glorious and offered a wonderful night's sleep.
The continental breakfast was delicious consisting of cereal,fresh fruit and yoghurt , croisant with condiments and juice.This was complimented by an excellant selection of teas and coffee already provided in my room.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hollies and left feeling like I had been a princess for a short time.

Room Tip: Shop around in advance There is excellant value to be had at the right price. Just because a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

As it was my wife's special 50th birthday, I thought I'd treat her to a special stay at what I thought was a special place, because we were married in Guildford. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor about 'The Hollies' it sounded like the perfect and tranquil place.

We made contact with the owner Judith who seemed very pleasant via email and over the telephone, however, upon our arrival things were much different!

Firstly, due to a birthday bash of friends and family gathering at King's Park, we decided to check in later, around 6pm. Upon arrival and after ringing the doorbell, we were told to going around the side through the carport which was a very tight squeeze due to 2 luxury cars parked and about 40cm of room to squeeze by them carrying our luggage plus presents! I even said to Judith that I may struggle getting through there and was puzzled why we were not taken through the house to the glorified granny flats at the back!

Secondly, when we did get to the beautifully landscaped garden at the rear and to the rooms, my wife asked Judith where the key was to lock the room as we needed to go out for dinner localy and ensure our belonging were safe, however Judith did not know or realise that the door key had been taken by the previous guests back to Perth and had not checked this and did not have a spare key for us which is very surprising, but what surprised us the most was her attitude which was quite awkward and cold when we asked about the key and actually said to my wife that "well you can leave now then and find other accomodation"!! We were agasp! She did reassure us that the room would be safe, but we felt that wasn't really good enough and we certainly were not impressed with the reception we recieved during our stay.

The room was nicely layed out and decorated but the air con was humming all night and the shower recess leaked out into the rest of the bathroom and there was not even a vacuum fan.

Apart from all that the bed was very good and the surroundings were pleasant, but sadly the service didn't match.

The continental breakfast satisfactory, but we have stayed in cheaper B&B's which supply a generous hot cooked breakfast with fresh coffee and juices. So overall 'The Hollies' was not what we expected. The only consilation was that after my wife asking for a discount upon payment, she was given a $40 discount because of no key supplied.

We expect a B&B to be warm, friendly and homely and sadly this B&B lacks that, and it is also sad that there was not a chance of social interaction with the owners of which we have enjoyed elsewhere in WA.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Grassface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Beautifully decorated bedroom and lovely bathroom, set in showpiece lawns and gardens. But surprisingly for a B&B that rates itself as 4 stars, we returned to an unmade bed and unserviced bathroom day after day for the duration of our stay. Dirty plates were even left on our table and small touches like replacing a box of kleenex that was finished on our first morning was never attended to.

Light sleepers wanting a very peaceful stay should also be aware that this property is in the flightpath and planes from Perth airport fly very low overhead.

There is more to looking after guests than bringing in breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank restlessandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
0.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 3 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Perth Vineyards
9.4 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
2.5 mi away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Guildford, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing