We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to our holiday”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hollies
Ranked #1 of 4 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for one night with another couple and absolutely loved it. Judith is a lovely host and provided us with a delicious breakfast in the garden next to our rooms at the back of her beautiful garden. We started our holiday at Guildford as it was in the direction of Albany, Pemberton & Margaret River. The room were very clean and stylishly decorated. The beds would have to be the MOST COMFORTABLE I have EVER slept in whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This wonderful B&B was a delight from the time we arrived to be greeted by the owner Judith & her 2 pups Homer & Pippa. The 2 available rooms are tucked away behind the main house therefore you have your own entrance. It is surrounded by beautifully maintained gardens. Our room (we also had a separate lounge) was very clean with superb decor & one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in away from home. Breakfast was delivered to our door promptly at the time we requested & consisted of juice, homemade muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, jam & marmalade. It was more than enough for us. With close proximity to the airport & the Swan Valley it was a perfect way to start our WA holiday.

Room Tip: For a longer stay check if the room with separate lounge is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Hollies several times now and it is really a nice little oasis in the historical suburb of Guilford.The accommodation (x2) is actually located at the back of the house in the garden and covered in a spawling array of Ivy. Close to the nearby antique shops ,restaurants and even the Airport is not far away. The beautiful and famous wineries of Swan Valley are literally up the road and Perth itself is less than 30 min away. Judith really goes out of her way to make you welcome and comfortable and the continental breakfasts are lovely and welcome. Judith takes personal care that the room is "just so" when you arrive back from a day long outing or evening on the town. It really creates a homey atmosphere. The decanter of reserve Port is also a nice touch. Overall its really a very pleasant place to relax and enjoy....andre and Peggy

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

You could not ask for a more delightful and comfortable place to stay - if only the rest of the B&B operators could raise their standards to match what is provided at Judith's wonderful B&B. We were so relieved to arrive at the Hollies having spent time in the South West. Judith has obviously invested hugely of herself - The "Hollies" oozes charm, warmth and elegance. From the instant we walked through the doors we relaxed and didn't want to leave. From the bedroom, french doors open out onto a spectacular garden. The bedding is wonderful - thick cotton sheets and fluffy dreamy pillows. We slept deeply and woke up rested. We feasted on a wonderful continental breakfast before we set of exploring Guilford. The Hollies is immaculate and Judith and her beautiful Cavaliers are the perfect hosts. The Hollies is perfectly situated from the centre of Perth and is on the doorstep of the Swan Valley. I will be staying again. Thank you Judith

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Thank you Judith, so much, for such a wonderful stay. We've travelled to many places around the world and choose, more often than not, to stay at B&B's. From the moment we walked into the drive, to be met by your two beautiful Cavaliers and stunning gardens, we felt instantly relaxed and very much at home. Our room contained all we could ask for, plump towels, fluffy robes, crisp linen and very comfortable beds. Again with a beautiful garden outlook. A perfect continental breakfast was served day one and thank goodness for one of the best full breakfasts we've had in a long time, so as to get us through a very busy day two. Your facilities are second to none and as such, will have no hesitation in recommending you to friends and family, should they ever hit your shores! Thank you once again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Hollies is lovely, and Judith does her utmost to provide her customers with lovely decorated rooms, superb garden setting and delightful breakfast but there were a few small things that prevented our stay from being perfect.
The french doors in our room could not be opened outward due to an overhanging awning, this made the room very stuffy.
Proximity to the airport means thundering planes overhead quite often.
There is no parking near the rooms, I was shocked when asked to park on the street verge however Judith did let me park in the driveway once hubby was home from work.
We could not find the remote controller for the air con anywhere.
The rowdy neighbours kept us entertained with their coulourful language.
Without sounding too negative our stay was enjoyable but for $190 per night I expected perfect, and it was not.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Hollies was an absolute delight. In addition to the fact that it was located right in central Guildford and close to Guildford train station , it was within a stones throw to a number of restaurents, cafes the Woodbridge Hotel and a short drive to the Midland shopping precinct. I was lead by Judith the lovely host through a beautiful garden with lovely little outdoor pavillion, into a reasonable sized very elegant bedroom decorated in the French Provincial Shabby Chique style. The ensuite bathroom was modern and luxurious .
The bed was decorated with lovely linen and was incredibly comfortable. I usually hate the pillows in hotel accomodation but these were plump, glorious and offered a wonderful night's sleep.
The continental breakfast was delicious consisting of cereal,fresh fruit and yoghurt , croisant with condiments and juice.This was complimented by an excellant selection of teas and coffee already provided in my room.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hollies and left feeling like I had been a princess for a short time.

Room Tip: Shop around in advance There is excellant value to be had at the right price. Just because a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
0.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
295 reviews
1 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 4 in Guildford
61 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Perth Vineyards
6.3 mi away
Swan Valley View B & B
Swan Valley View B & B
#1 of 1 in Herne Hill
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: £95 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Guildford, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing