We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury beyond words. Elegant hideaway.”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hollies
Ranked #1 of 3 Guildford B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury beyond words. Elegant hideaway.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thankyou Judith for a wonderful stay at your luxurious retreat.
I just needed to get away for a couple of days to unwind and your place was the perfect choice.
The room was spacious and elegant overlooking the most beautiful private garden that I have ever seen.
I will be back next year to recharge my batteries again. I could not believe the reasonable price and highly recommend "The Hollies" to anyone looking for a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.

Positive aspects:
1. Room looks beautiful, nicely decorated.
2. Breakfast included, albeit simple.
3. Daily change of towels for our two nights of stay.
4. Within walking distance to Woodbridge Hotel if you like a drink or have dinner there. However, the weather is cold, and we prefer to stay inside the to stay inside the room.
5. Nice garden. Even saw two parrots on the grass patch before we checked in.

However, there are a few areas which need improvements:
1. On the surface, the room is clean. If we go into details, the cleanliness is not up to our expectations. Example, glasses provided are not washed or rinsed before. As a practice, we normally rinse it with hot water before use. Then we realized the water in one of the glasses turned milky. So that's how we know they are not washed before. Another example is: our tea cups are not washed after day 1 of breakfast. The remaining tea is still in the tea cup when we wanted to make some hot tea at night. (We are ok to wash It by ourselves but there isn't detergent provided). That somehow makes me wary of the milk inside the fridge too. Has it been refilled prior to our stay or there for long? (A thank you note written in April was still beside the tv.) Then, our wine glass was not replaced too. When I opened the drawer containing the hair dryer, I saw a mirror and then a used shaver. It was kinda disgusting but for hair drying purpose, I continued to use the hair dryer but place it in another cleaner drawer.
2. There was no wifi. Understandable that some b&bs don't have wifi, especially they are remotely located. However, we see no reason why there isn't wifi provided.
3. It will be much appreciated if there could be a microwave inside the room.
4. Location is within guildford but in winter time, it is not recommended to be on foot. Furthermore, it is not so near to be on foot to anywhere else except Woodbridge Hotel. So dinner could be a hassle. Microwave in point 3 will be appreciated.
5. When we checked in, the hosts were not in. Luckily a note was provided on the door. We figured our way in. However being staying in several b&bs, the service is a little lacking and AUD190/night seems expensive for the services in this case.

On the surface, the room is nice. And if you are not too particular and pretty much just want a nice room without other frills, this is ok for you. If you are after services, very warm hospitality, someone to be there telling you where to visit etc, then this may not be suitable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We loved The Hollies as soon as we arrived. We were welcomed with warmth and the setting is amazing. We looked forward to the breakfast every day where we ate fresh fruit and yogurt, fresh juice and jam and croissants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying there again when we next visit Perth. We thank Judith for being such a great host and sending my clothes that I had forgotten from Perth to Queensland.
Thanks for a great experience.
Gerard & Lesley

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is the 4 th time I have stayed with Judy over the past 3 years and it is like coming home, only better. The rooms are delightful with antique furniture and a soft French feel. Comfy beds and excellent breakfast, served with cut crystal and silver teaspoons, fine bone china cups and saucers, just lovely. Judy always adds the little extras in the room in case u have forgotten toothbrush, moisturiser, shower cap, robe. Just delightful. The gardens are amazing, all white standard roses and lawn that looks like a carpet, a little taste of England.
I will be returning. Thanks Judy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you do not like here then you will not be satisfied anywhere.

Superbly comfortable rooms. Relaxing surroundings. Compared to similar places we have stayed in Europe, The Caribbean, America and Asia this place is a diamond, and cheap as chips.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runway9L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Working as a national training manager for a firm means that I get to experience many hotels, motels and B&B's. The 'Hollies" is a rear find. I could say nothing bad about this place. The room is very comfortable and the gardens are extremely beautiful.The breakfast consists of muesli, yogurt, beautiful verity of chopped fresh fruit and a heated croissant.

Judith is a delightful host.

I hope this room is not booked out the next time I need to go to Perth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Best place to stay in Perth! Gardens just beautiful and host made us feel so welcome. breakfast yummy! Can not wait to stay again! A fairy tale to wake up each morning looking out on garden. The attention to detail in the rooms is exceptional! Peaceful and relaxing. Hosts are welcoming and lovelly! Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
0.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
284 reviews
3.7 mi away
International On The Water Hotel
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bel Eyre Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 3 in Guildford
61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Guildford, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing