We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique takeaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfred's Kitchen

Alfred's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best Pea and Ham Soup and Cram Burgers.
Ourique, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Unique takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

On a chilly Saturday evening the wait was worth it for our burgers and chips. A wide selection of burgers on the menu cooked to order. Alfred's does not have an eat-in option but there are several outside fixed benches and a huge open fire, which if you are lucky to get a seat around it, will keep you warm while eating - not needed at certain times of the year I'm sure. It is only open in the evenings and on the Saturday evening we went there were masses of people around the Kitchen eating and waiting. Several people sitting in the backs of 4x4 cars or even bringing their own camping chairs. A unique experience/atmosphere and good food too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveA620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    73
    24
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This place is just always good...at any time of night, on any night the burgers cannot be beaten for both value and taste. We all know this and this is why the place is always busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrialRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good fast-food style burgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Compared to the higher end fast-food burger places in the U.S. (Five Guys, Shake Shack, etc.), Alfred's is not quite as good. However, if you're hungry (as we were) and a bit chilly (as we were), then waiting for a burger by the fire and chowing down afterwards can really hit the spot.

I wouldn't seek it out, but if you're looking for a good burger in the area, this fits the bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Burger's, Great Sandwich, Fire , Water and Wind all together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was raining all day long when we decided to go find the best burger in town. The wood fire out front was burning bright and the place was packed. The burgers are awesome, the seating is all outside around the fire so if it rains you are stuck. You can call and order your burgers for takeaway.

They dont waste any time in getting your orders and the food is worth every penny. I had a CRAM burger, couple of friends picked the Alfred's Special and the lady picked the steak and cheese burger. All of it was awesome. The servings are perfect. The veggies to meat to bun ratio is spot on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tito V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“favourite burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have never been let down. Even when it is really busy it is worth the wait. Love the fries as well. A great place in the Winter with the outdoor fire going to keep the crowds warm. Wish they would also open for lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfred's Kitchen also viewed

Caversham, Swan Valley
 
Caversham, Swan Valley
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
 

Been to Alfred's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing