We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable ”

Academy of Taxidermy
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Took the grankids (4 & 2). The older one is obsessed with dinosaurs! He was so excited every time he turned his head. There was so much to see and look at. We all enjoyed it and the stuffed animals were truly amazing! As someone else said make sure you go around the back of the building to see the T rex and other large dinosaurs. I'm sure we will be back again $5 for adults $2 for kids. A great collection.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank NickyB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"different types"
in 3 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 3 reviews
"picture theatre"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"delight"
in 3 reviews
"michael"
in 3 reviews
"taxidermist"
in 3 reviews
"exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"curator"
in 2 reviews
"creatures"
in 2 reviews
"casts"
in 2 reviews
"shells"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Set in an old picture theatre, there are many different types of creature that have been preserved in some way and are on display. Yes, some are replicas (the dinosaurs) and there are some helpful videos to show how it is done. There are many books you can look through and a comfy couch to sit on.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank platypus150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This place is AWESOME!! :-D Our kids absolutely loved it! From the first "Oh WOW!" as you walk in the front door, to the hundredth "Oh WOW!" as you're ready to leave, this exhibition is just amazing! Michael, the owner and taxidermist extraordinaire, was such a delight to talk to. He shared some hilarious stories that had us all cracking up with laughter! His lovely wife was keen to get the kids looking for unusual exhibits, including the "strawberry shells", which kept them busy for a while longer. The hard work and detail that goes into this exhibition is easy to dismiss because it's so well done that it looks effortless. We're only giving 5 stars because Google won't let us give it 10! If you're looking for something special to do on a rainy or dry day, this is it! :-D

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Went here with my Aunty and it was a wonderful place. It was packed with exhibits. We had to walk around twice to make sure we saw everything. There are also some more dinosaurs out the back.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kaeley_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Great atmosphere, we almost missed it at first but when we entered we received a very warm and friendly greeting. The place itself is filled to the brim with artefacts, taxidermy, casts, moulds and skeletons of all types of creatures. It was a little difficult to get a look at everything they had there because of how packed it was with these figures, but overall it was a great experience!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank elizavetakouznetsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Academy of Taxidermy also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Taxidermy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing