We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu and great food in the Garden bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Interesting menu and great food in the Garden bistro”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Enjoyed a great meal in the 'Garden' bistro. The menu has some interesting choices and the food was freshly cooked and efficiently served. It's really interesting venue with a 'posh convict bar' and an area that serves wood fired pizzas. Definitely recommended for a relaxing atmosphere where you can enjoy good food and wine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    104
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
66
85
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We recently spent one night at the Rose and Crown Hotel. As long time Perth residents and having never set foot in this place I was really surprised by it. The whole place has a very laid back relaxed feel about it. The gardens are neat and provide good shade from the sun which made it very pleasant kicking back and downing a few pints of the local Feral Brewery.
The rooms were clean and of a decent size. A bit expensive I thought at $195 per night but hey that's Perth for you.
Ate that night in the 1841 restaurant outdoor section which was very good. Service was first class (Thanks Louise) and the food excellent.
If I were to pick on something it would be I think they run a little bit light on for staff which made getting a drink from the bar take a bit longer than normal.
I will definitely go back there maybe this time with a small group of friends as there is plenty to do with the Swan Valley just up the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dthompson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Cute little hotel close to the wedding venue (the reason for our visit to Perth) but the service was appalling. Staff don't care. They're not at all attentive. Wait times are ridiculous. And the food, when you do finally get it, not all that great. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YNotGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Neverland, Nowhere
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It is a nice treat to stop by at the Rose & Crown, while waiting for a connecting flight. Only 8 minutes by taxi and there you are: Either in the Garden bistro area, the Pub or the wonderful restaurant with a fire place and all in a historical building. The food is very good, too. Enjoy a beer, or some of the food, meet and mingle with people, relax and time flies by. Definitively beats any airport lounge. And not to forget, the accommodation is nice. The hotel is set in a Bohemian neighborhood with nice little shops and historical buildings. It is worth a visit!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently spent just one night at the Rose & Crown as we had a wedding nearby. We found the rooms spacious and clean, the included Breakfast though limited in choice was tasty, I went for the cooked which was a good sized serving of Bacon, Sausage, Eggs and Toast. The staff appeared to know what they were doing so no complaints. The hotel has a nice beer garden and covered areas for that quiet drink in the afternoon or evening. Parking is right at your door which is convenient but also means if you are in bed early you may hear other people returning late. And I'm not sure if it's the norm but the hotel appears to be in the Airports flight path so if you are a light sleeper take earplugs. Location wise it's perfect for the Swan Valley Wineries. In all a comfortable sleep even with the planes. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed in the motel style room which had a comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Though I didn't use the air con,it was the older style unit in the wall. The room was actually quite spacious, though there was a just a small table and 2 chairs in the room. There was a small supply for tea and coffee including biscuits.

There was a bit of noise from airplanes and trains but overall it was fine and I enjoyed my stay.

Ate the free breakfast included in the room price which was a choice of a full cooked breakfast including bacon and eggs or a bruschetta and poached egg combo. We tried both and they were both cooked beautifully. Coffee was decent and all the staff we countered were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BcozPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Here for an overnight stay in a queen room on the weekend. Room was ordinary, hard uncomfortable bed, doors and walls paper thin with cars parking directly in front of the doors - not making for a pleasant sleep. Noise from the pub in the complex was very loud and didn't make it easy when the bar shut at 12 and the patrons spilled into the car park for the next hour. Planes overhead made sleeping very hard as did the trains passing by. Very hard to say this was worth $200 a night. Won't be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matty9861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
2.7 mi away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
180 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ascot Serviced Apartments
3.5 mi away
International On The Water Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
84 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
0.4 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#1 of 3 in Guildford
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: 105 Swan St, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Hotel is WA's most historic hotel and recognised by the National Trust as a significant historic landmark. Situated in leafy Guildford WA, surrounded by restaurants & on the doorstep to the Swan Valley wineries. The hotel has 28 3.5 motel units in its lodge and 4 boutique rooms within the hotel (some entry restrictions). The hotel & lodge have undergone a recent major renovation since being purchased in mid 2004 by the current owners operators Mark & Tracy Weber. In 2007 the hotel was selected by the Sunday Times as a tourism hotspot with the biggest beer garden in the city and two well known restaurants. The Rose & Crown Hotel is the ideal location for a stayover or outer city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel Guildford, Australia - Western Australia
Rose Crown Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing