We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here in 2013 and it was lovely. This time round- no confirmation email (and took multiple attempts to get hold of someone to clarify) there was no hot water (mid winter cold shower), no wifi and the inclusive breakfast comes with urn coffee only and they charge extra for any other variant. Was not worth the price they charge for the room sadly...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEVTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Easy booking for restraunt. Great freindly service. Choice of several interesting rooms. Superbly prepared food. Parking a little difficult but, hey. Worth it.
Accomodation a bit rustic but expected from this great old pub with history.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for my birthday weekend, and it lived up to our expectations. Comfortable bed, all the amenities you need, close to the restaurant and reception, great atmosphere. Breakfast came with the room which was lovely (bacon, eggs, mushroom, tomato, toast). The only two things which let it down were one or two of the wait staff which weren't as friendly/helpful as the majority of the wait staff, and being close to the pub and other restaurants in the area other guests weren't very considerate when they got back to their rooms at midnight. It was a joy to stay here and im sure we will again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlyf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Rose and Crown is reputed to be Perth’s oldest pub and it could well be as it is blessed with a pleasant welcoming atmosphere. It is a large and rambling establishment with plenty of space for food and drink service. The restaurant is both inside and outside and the service is good as is the food. While the menu is uncomplicated it is honest and straightforward. Choice is rather limited but offering enough variety to cater for most tastes. It is however rather overpriced for what it really offers, good pub food. Nevertheless the Rose and Crown is well worth a visit and is sure not to disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CrewCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a last minute booking. The receptionist handled my enquiry very efficiently over the phone. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main hotel. We liked the old world ambinence, the hotel being the oldest in the state. The room was a good size with access to the balcony, with an ensuite and air conditioning. The Rose and Crown is surrounded by several restaurants and historical tourist spots. Although there was a large number of people in the "beer garden" area of the hotel we did not find any problem from intrusive noise. We had breakfast at the hotel and found the food to be of good quality with very prompt service. I was impressed that I had an extra breakfast item that was not part of the bed and breakfast deal and they did not charge us for it. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Emerald room is quite adequate unless you have a need for a spare or one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here overnight and while the rooms were basic it was clean and spacious. We had a family room.

The restaurant was very good, food lovely and service good. Liked the breakfast basket which was useful as we had a very early flight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golightlycat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed recently in the accommodation on the pub car park of The Rose & Crown. The room is very basic, and should really be called a chalet or a motel, it no way resembles a hotel. The breakfast was in the pub garden which was adequate, but overall $200 for a chalet on a noisy pub car park, was regrettable!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCFCkathtyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ascot Serviced Apartments
3.5 mi away
International On The Water Hotel
2.7 mi away
Airport Apartments by Aurum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
6.3 mi away
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 4 in Guildford
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: 105 Swan St, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range: £92 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Hotel is WA's most historic hotel and recognised by the National Trust as a significant historic landmark. Situated in leafy Guildford WA, surrounded by restaurants & on the doorstep to the Swan Valley wineries. The hotel has 28 3.5 motel units in its lodge and 4 boutique rooms within the hotel (some entry restrictions). The hotel & lodge have undergone a recent major renovation since being purchased in mid 2004 by the current owners operators Mark & Tracy Weber. In 2007 the hotel was selected by the Sunday Times as a tourism hotspot with the biggest beer garden in the city and two well known restaurants. The Rose & Crown Hotel is the ideal location for a stayover or outer city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel Guildford, Australia - Western Australia
Rose Crown Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing