We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Metro and have been impressed both times.
The Hotel is in a good location in South Perth being 15min from airport, 10min from Perth CBD and easy 20-25min from Fremantle, also easy access to Kwinana freeway to head north or south of Perth. Attractions within easy drive are Perth Zoo, Kings Park. The Metro has been here longer than I can remember but has undergone renovation to modernise the rooms and facilities. Check in at reception was smooth and easy with great, freindly staff.
I stayed in a Superior River View room which provides, as you would expect by the name, a good view of the river and Perth CBD which looks great at night. The room was very clean, spacious with a very comfortable king(?) bed. Tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge are provided.
I did not eat at the restuarant but did have both evening meal and breakfast from room service. I could not fault the food. It was cooked well, good serving size and was delivered in a timely manner.
I found all staff from reception to service to houskeeping to be very freindly and professional.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The River View rooms are certainly the best as beside the view they are also on the north side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pirate63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    166
    107
    33
    29
See reviews for
80
128
46
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is located on the canning highway and you can walk into central perth in about 40 minutes.

I stayed in a studio room which was quite large and had suitable furnishings. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a bath as well as a separate shower.

The restaurant served decent meals but expensive. Breakfast was a buffet which was quite good.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors to reduce traffic noise. A/C was not too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Metro Hotel last night as we went to a wedding in Applecross and thought we would use our taxi money for a hotel stay!

Check in was smooth and the room was lovely and spacious with fabulous views of the city. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We were very impressed with the size of the room and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location too on Canning Highway.

We had a lovely stay and will be back. Even on check out the girl who checked me in the day prior remembered we had a wedding and asked me how it was! The little things make the difference.

Two thumbs up for this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandC1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Metro in South Perth is very well positioned to access all areas of Perth. There are many great walking paths along the South Perth foreshore. Walking distance from the Perth Zoo, easy access to the Airport. Short drive to the city and Kings Park. Secure undercover parking! which is rare with hotels in the CBD.
We had an executive room with balcony and city views. The room is a good size and the ensuite is not bad, with shower and bath tub.
I have stayed here a few times and now won't stay and where else.
I have stayed in several city centre hotels which advertise "parking available" to find out there is none any end up paying and extra $40 a night just to park my car....... a 5 min walk down the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights between christmas and new year and was impressed with everything about the stay. Tastefully decorated room, with city view, nice lobby and pool area, fantastic staff all made this stay memorable. Would certainly reccomend, and will be back for another stay sometime in the future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back at our property when next you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My Mum and I stayed for 2 nights in this Hotel.
I chose it due to close proximity to family, easy to get to from Canning Highway and close to everything I required.
The staff were friendly, professional and the room was airy, clean and cool with 2 huge KS beds. The bed was firm which is what I like, the windows have block out curtains to keep the room cool with the aid of A/C.
Although there are renovations going on in the carpark and generally to refurbish the rooms, it appeared quiet as it was over Christmas period.
I got a great deal on WOTIF for the accommodation.
Our room was a 'Deluxe' which offered views of the city from the small balcony - this room was also away from the traffic noise. The only negative was the noisy fan in the bathroom.
Great place to stay, not 5 star but certainly suits us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabeelya60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your comments; we are looking forward to the completion of our renovations which will host a range of new facilities for our guests. Well done for taking advantage of specials that we list on websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at the Metro Hotel Perth for one week, one among the 15-20 I spend every year in hotels.

Interesting first experience in this hotel as the lobby and corridors do not really look like they belong to a hotel. Staff will expedite you check-in.

Room was big and ready, however my room was positioned towards the city with supposedly a good view except the roof of the podium floor would obfuscate most of the view leaving really light to reach the room.

Nothing to say about cleanliness. However room service could pay more attention to details. Had to a light spot bulb broken for the whole week.

Although I have not tested them, the on-site breakfast/dinner facility look pretty sad as you get to see the lonely souls eating right when exiting the elevator on the ground floor.

One last thing – walls are paper thin, I could swear somebody was using my bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Property: Metro Hotel Perth
Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing