We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views from every window!”
Review of Posada el Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada el Bosque
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mieses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we were choosing a location in the Picos, we were hoping to wake up, throw open the curtains and be wowed by the mountain scenery and this is absolutely what his guesthouse delivers. It is perfect.

It is very easy to find, albeit you have to navigate a steep slope, to arrive at the hotel drive. Once there, you will be greeted by the charming Jose and Isabella, who allow you to enjoy their home as your own.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with windows looking out on to stunning mountain views. Jose and Isabella gave us a choice of rooms and we chose the Red room at the top of the house.Just lovely.

Their home is well tended and particularly enjoyed watching Jose water his roses in early evening. Isabella speaks good english and whilst Jose speaks only spanish to my basic Spanish, we managed just fine with improvisation and a good sense of humour!

Breakfast was very good and if you are fortunate to be able sit outdoors, the mountain ranges are mesmerising.

A perfect place to stay, perfect hosts - just perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful location, stunning views, lovely bedroom with picture window, courteous and very helpful hosts, we were made to feel welcome and considered ourselves very lucky to have found such a beautiful place. The little narrow track up to the property was challenging the first time, but we quickly got the hang of it, as other reviewers have said beforehand. Only a few minutes drive into Potes for evening meals. Fabulous base for exploring the Picos region, both by car, on foot and by cable car, ( going up by cable from Fuente De is fantastic). Potes itself is pretty, though apart from Asador Llorente, a lovely restaurant with great food, eating out was average. We would have given 5 stars to Posada el Bosque, a small thing which let it down was the breakfasts, which were disappointing. A little more attention to this aspect , ( asking for example if we liked sweet cakes, bread and butter pudding, instead of just serving it to us, providing a better range of cereals, just basically a little more choice), would easily result in a top score. If a good breakfast is a must, skip it here and eat elsewhere. But the location, the views, the facilities, and the hosts were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

When you plan your holiday you do some research and than you Book. Sometimes you get what you expect,sometimes you are dissappointed and sometimes reality exceeds your expectations
This was the case at the posada el bosque. Fantastic setting,friendly service and good tips to explore the surroundings, nice well equiped rooms a good breakfast with a panoramic view

A few small things: rooms are not really sound proof and comming back after dinner is a bit of an adventure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here with my sister and her husband - what a joy!!! Our rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable with exceptional views. Jose and Isabella were the perfect hosts, helpful and attentive. We particularly enjoyed the ample breakfast with spectacular views. Although the road up to the posada is narrow it is easily passable. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace with our nibbles and wine after a long day walking. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the two rooms facing the Picos on the top floor, beautifully decoracted with picture side win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amigademaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It's a lovely restored country house with stunning views over the Picos de Europa. The whole place is comfy and well set up - there are lots of places to sit outside, hammocks, a swimming pool, a big open fire for colder seasons. Outside and in, the views are always on show.
The couple running the posasda are friendly and helpful, and they've given the place a nice informal and unfussy atmosphere.
There's wifi, free parking, and hot and cold drinks all day.
Potes is a five minute drive away - plenty of places to wander in the old town, lots of restaurants. We were there for walking, and Mieses is very well placed at the beginning of a valley with enough pathways to keep you busy all week, but still close to the road networks you need to go elsewhere in the area.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, but ask for one with the best. These rooms also catch more of the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCWesterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely hotel! Fantastic location close to Potes. All rooms (living room,dinnig room, our bedroom and bathroom) are very clean and cosy. Swiming pool and a sun terrace, free car parking and wi-fi. Everything what you need to have a good time is there.Owners are friendly and helpfull. Beautiful place to have a great time:)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniadabstilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I have to say this was the place that I anticipated more than any of our other accomodations in Spain. But for us something was just "off". Fun drive up to the Posada, easy check in. I had emailed all accomodations a week or so prior to arrival just to confirm, non smoking and 2 beds in one room. (we were a group of 4). When we arrived we were told they did not get that request, even though the first request was when booking the rooms. We know emails get lost etc so we said no problem. While checking in there were several couples in the main rooms having wine and enjoying the views. We had stopped for a late lunch so after unpacking we met in the common room for wine. We also had some bread and cheese . The owner stomped in and very loudly said there was to be no eating in this room and then he walked out quickly. We were surprised to say the least, we had seen the other couples earlier with wine. We apologized profusely. But he was quite upset. We felt terrible, but he was so rude it was like we were grade school kids. I had been writing in my journal, the other two were reading, we had not even spoken for a while. We went into the dining area to finish our snack, but it soured the entire stay. The next day after hiking in the Picos (highly recommended) we came back to shower, he seemed much warmer and asked how it went etc. But the earlier encounter put us off. We ended up in Potes for the entire evening because as our daughter and friend said, "Lets stay until we can just go back and go to bed" They too felt uncomfortable. The breakfast was good and he could not have been more charming the day we left. Maybe he was having a bad day ...who knows. We loved the area and will be back to Potes.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mieses
17.5 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
216 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Posada de Cucayo
La Posada de Cucayo
#1 of 2 in Dobres
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casona Malvasia
Hotel Casona Malvasia
#1 of 1 in Cabezon de Liebana
46 reviews
8.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Picos de Valdecoro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Bosque

Address: Carretera Monastero De Sto. Toribio | Mieses Camaleno, Mieses, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Mieses
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mieses
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada el Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Bosque Spain/Mieses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing