We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Moradas del Unicornio
Nearby Hotels
El Raco de Madremanya(Madremanya)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Pepa Maca(Monells)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Castell d'Emporda(la Bisbal d'Emporda)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Cau de Papibou(Peratallada)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador(Torroella de Montgri)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Can Bassa(Madremanya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mas Rabiol(Peratallada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
388
27
2
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
27
2
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was such a surprise and totally unexpected.
As an aside, it is an example of why Trip Advisor is so important as this B&B is not found in the normal travel guides and my concierge service had never heard of it.

BUT this trip was special as we were visiting Can Roca (no.2 restaurant in the world) and we were dosing out on Dali's history - this met all those criteria and even more.
not only was it only 20 minutes from the best restaurant in Spain but it was at the doorsteps of Gala's home.
I normally freak at B&B's as typical proprietors assume they are my best friends within minutes of meeting but Kim and Olga are both courteous and friendly but also leave you alone to enjoy their home.
We not only though had Kim and Olga looking after us in a home that was hundreds of years old but we also had Gala's ex housekeeper make us breakfast in the morning.
History doesn't get any better.
Another bonus was our room - dsecribed by other reviewers as the Golden Unicorn room, and yes, it is large and it fronts onto the pool and garden but more importantly for us,it was described by Olga as the Dorado Unicorn.
This just made it for my wife as Lynn trains brumbies (wild horses known as mustangs in the States) and her special horse is named Dorado - what more could you ask for.

We went onto Cadaques the next day to visit Dali's studio and we stayed in a typical non-descript motel - my only regret then was that i hadn't booked a couple of days at Pubol rather than looking for accommodation at Cadaques - the sense of history and b&b atmosphere was more relaxing than your typical family motel in other towns.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: ask for the Golden Unicorn room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were looking for somewhere special to stay - and we found it. This is a really unique B&B in the historic town of Pubol - in fact, the B&B is actually in the building that forms the entryway into the town. We stayed in the Golden Unicorn room which was very large and comfortable. There's an entire living area with a small couch and a table where you can eat. The bathroom is also large, though there is no standing shower, just a large jacuzzi tub (which is very nice). Overall, this is one of the two best hotels we stayed in out of 9 places in 4 countries.

A few things to know:

-The owners are lovely people, but their English is very poor. Kim also speaks French, but if you are limited to English, don't rely on them for detailed information. This is also true for e-mail correspondence with the hotel. I put it all through google translate.

-Get a meal at the B&B (other than breakfast). We initially thought the menu sounded a little pricey but one night we didn't feel like going out so we decided to get a small snack from Olga and it turned into one of the best meals we had on our whole trip. They laid out a huge spread for us of meats and cheeses and salads and everything was delicious and fresh. Totally worth it. Plus, we only made this request around 10:30pm and they jumped right on it.

-The town of Pubol is tiny, though tourists descend on it in droves to see the Gala Dali Castle. This is not even remotely disruptive if you are staying at the B&B, just something to know. Also, there is a restaurant in town that caters to the tourists visiting the house - don't go there, it's not very good.

-You will need a car if you stay here, but everything is very accessible and the roads are extremely well marked with a lot of signage. We didn't need a GPS.

-Browse through the photo books in your room and in the hotel lobby. Kim is a professional photographer and most of these books contain his work. They may inspire you with places you want to visit, since they are mostly of the Spanish landscape.

-Ask Kim for restaurant recommendations. He has many and is very thorough with giving directions.

-Get specific directions on how to find the B&B when you arrive in Pubol. If you don't know where it is, it's hard to find.

-Just to clarify - the private gardens and pool and the B&B are for the use of all the guests and for the family. When we arrived, the family was having lunch in the gardens, from where you can see into the Golden Unicorn room. This didn't bother us as we were planning to go out anyway, but we had been under the impression that the gardens were just for our room. Also, Olga and Kim enjoy New Age music and on one night they were playing it quite loudly throughout the B&B. As this was their home, we didn't feel comfortable asking them to turn it down, but if you are someone who goes to bed early, this may bother you.

-Breakfast is not included. We assumed it was, since B&B typically stands for bed and breakfast, but we were charged 12 euros each for it. This is actually not a bad deal given how expensive food can be in Spain, but we were surprised. Still, the setting for breakfast was beautiful and Olga (and her daughter, who helped serve) were wonderful.

Room Tip: The Golden Unicorn was pretty great, though we didn't really see the other rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Lovely people, lovely BB, lovely location

We booked for 2 nights and would stay more if they had available rooms. The house for itself is an attraction.
The room decoration is incredible and the breakfast at the garden an experience!
Kim and Olga are wonderful persons and they love to talk to their guests. They also gives a lot of tips about the surroundings.
Olga cooks very well and made us the best food we have eaten during our trip to Spain.
Kim, one of the most famous photographers in Spain gave us a lot of tips abou how to take the best photos.
As the hotel is very close to Gala-Dali museum a lot of people believe that they are a tourist attraction.
We really felt at home and the most difficult thing was to leave the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claudio-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is something truly special. The rooms are incredible. We stayed in the Golden Unicorn room which is the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in, with access to a private garden and swimming pool. It has beautiful murals on the walls and framed tapistries and shabby chic crystal and wrought iron everywhere. The meals are home cooked by Olga who is a phenomenal chef and the breads and sausages are made by local artisans and are the best you will find in Spain. Meals were brought to our room by Olga who carefully selected organic and delicious ingredients, some of which were grown in the hotels own organic garden. She lit incense and placed meditation music and the whole experience was so therapeutic and calming. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi bathtub was a real treat. We loved talking to Olga and Kim about art and culture and food and it was great to have a look at their library with 4,000 books and artifacts from their world travels. The whole experience was exceptional and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dgelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A fantastic rural getaway with all the peace and tranquility you would expect in small town Spain. Olga and Kim (proprietors) were fantastic hosts, incredible cooks and extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. This is a high end B&B situated within the walls of historic Pubol. Great scenery and wonderful area to explore by foot or bike. This is a good idea for a peaceful break from hectic Barcelona or Girona. We stayed in the Unicornio room which had access to the private garden and great views. Treat yourself to this!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBone547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews