We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of The Black Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oldstead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldstead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This small hotel is first class. The rooms are beautiful and the food is fabulous. Family run with very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for one night as a Christmas treat - couldn't have wished for a nicer present. Lovely cosy country pub with a welcoming real fire, Mousey Thompson furnishings & Black Sheep bitter. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished with a lovely large bathroom. Lots of nice little touches such as home made biscuits, fresh ground coffee and fresh milk provided. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and ranks alongside some of the best meals we have ever tasted. We were made to feel very welcome by friendly professional staff. Who could ask for more...well perhaps I forgot to mention the fabulous surrounding countryside in the vale of the white horse.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tykehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just returned from another overnight stay at The Black Swan in the picturesque North Yorkshire village of Oldstead. Our room was immaculately clean and attention to detail is evident. The room was decorated with Laura Ashley soft furnishings, with a king size bed, small sofa, mahogany wardrobes/bedside tables, TV, fully stocked mini bar, and tea/coffee making facilities complete with mouth watering brownies and home made biscuits. The bathroom had a roll top bath along with wet room shower, and this was completed with Molton Brown toiletries. We ate in the restaurant on this occasion, but you can also eat in the bar which is extremely welcoming with the open fire. The food was both beautifully presented and absolutely mouth watering. It most certainly deserves the Michelin star recently awarded. Service is attentive and extremely professional. We would not hesitate in recommending what we now consider our favourite romantic get away in North Yorkshire. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but the four poster bed and bathroom with copper slipper bath is our fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at The Black Swan in Oldstead for one night and would highly recommend it. The food is fantastic, they have recently been awarded a Michelin star and you can understand why. We stayed overnight too and the accomodation was gorgeous, old world charm in a very upmarket cottage style. The attention to detail in the rooms was really impressive, an umbrella and torch are provided to walk the short distance to the restaurant should you need it and lots of other thoughtful touches. The bathroom was really large with a wetroom/ all tiled shower area at one end and a big victorian style roll top bath at the other, dressing gowns and Molton Brown body products, I will definitely go back at the earliest opportunity for longer if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZKRONKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A real find! ... spent one night at the Black Swan in a wonderfully relaxing environment .... roaring open fire in the bar, outstanding food and wine and wonderful service. We had the tasting menu and wine package - possibly the best meal we've ever had - and all in a very relaxed, unpretentious setting. The Black Swan full english breakfast was fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just visited the Black Swan for our 10th wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are lovely and big, really clean and luxurious. The bathroom had a heated floor and mirror, large roll-top bath, wet room style shower and Molton Brown products. The food is incredible, beautifully presented and deserves all it's awards. The family who run it are very friendly and thoughtful. Fabulous getaway location - a great place to unwind in beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

we came here for our 5th anniversary and loved it here. There room was lovely and clean. The food was out of this world and full credit to the chef. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very nice although a touch early 08.30-09.30. However it was well worth it. Would definately recommend this

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldstead
5.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
1,711 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
422 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: Main Street, Oldstead YO61 4BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Oldstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldstead
Hotel Class:5 star — The Black Swan 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing