We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of The Black Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oldstead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldstead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alrewas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in the "Cockerdale" room for 1 night and opted for the 7-course taster menu with wine on the evening.

The food is outstanding and we would highly recommend the wine to accompany the food.

The room is tastfully decorated, with a wonderful bathroom including a double-ended bath.

All of the staff were genuinely fantastic.

Overall, a relaxed restaurant, wonderful room in a great setting - we will be back!

Room Tip: There's only 4 rooms, so they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gravimetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
141
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at The Black Swan to celebrate our 14th anniversary. The experience was wonderful from start to finish. We were lucky enough to enjoy the tasting menu - which the chef even tweaked for me, as I dislike hazelnuts. I think that this just highlights the standard of service that the staff manage to deliver.

It wasn't a cheap night but I did feel we got real value for money, both with the food and accommodation and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Black Swan to any of my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dand38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This small hotel is first class. The rooms are beautiful and the food is fabulous. Family run with very nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for one night as a Christmas treat - couldn't have wished for a nicer present. Lovely cosy country pub with a welcoming real fire, Mousey Thompson furnishings & Black Sheep bitter. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished with a lovely large bathroom. Lots of nice little touches such as home made biscuits, fresh ground coffee and fresh milk provided. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and ranks alongside some of the best meals we have ever tasted. We were made to feel very welcome by friendly professional staff. Who could ask for more...well perhaps I forgot to mention the fabulous surrounding countryside in the vale of the white horse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tykehikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just returned from another overnight stay at The Black Swan in the picturesque North Yorkshire village of Oldstead. Our room was immaculately clean and attention to detail is evident. The room was decorated with Laura Ashley soft furnishings, with a king size bed, small sofa, mahogany wardrobes/bedside tables, TV, fully stocked mini bar, and tea/coffee making facilities complete with mouth watering brownies and home made biscuits. The bathroom had a roll top bath along with wet room shower, and this was completed with Molton Brown toiletries. We ate in the restaurant on this occasion, but you can also eat in the bar which is extremely welcoming with the open fire. The food was both beautifully presented and absolutely mouth watering. It most certainly deserves the Michelin star recently awarded. Service is attentive and extremely professional. We would not hesitate in recommending what we now consider our favourite romantic get away in North Yorkshire. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but the four poster bed and bathroom with copper slipper bath is our fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at The Black Swan in Oldstead for one night and would highly recommend it. The food is fantastic, they have recently been awarded a Michelin star and you can understand why. We stayed overnight too and the accomodation was gorgeous, old world charm in a very upmarket cottage style. The attention to detail in the rooms was really impressive, an umbrella and torch are provided to walk the short distance to the restaurant should you need it and lots of other thoughtful touches. The bathroom was really large with a wetroom/ all tiled shower area at one end and a big victorian style roll top bath at the other, dressing gowns and Molton Brown body products, I will definitely go back at the earliest opportunity for longer if possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZKRONKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A real find! ... spent one night at the Black Swan in a wonderfully relaxing environment .... roaring open fire in the bar, outstanding food and wine and wonderful service. We had the tasting menu and wine package - possibly the best meal we've ever had - and all in a very relaxed, unpretentious setting. The Black Swan full english breakfast was fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldstead
5.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.6 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
23.3 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: Main Street, Oldstead YO61 4BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Oldstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldstead
Hotel Class:5 star — The Black Swan 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing