We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
240
124
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
124
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baroque style guided tour couple of hours villa century contarini venice palace lake park pleasure paths marco brenta
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Villa Contarini is worth a visit, rich and interesting history, very original inner decorations , large park with a lake where is also possible to do a tour on a real Gondola in summer saturdays and sundays .

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank GiorgioXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

An hour's drive from Venice and 45 minutes from Vicenza, where we were headed, we stopped in front of the gates in an almost empty giant car park. Open daily, except Wednesdays, entry is 7 Euros but a 1 hour guided tour is obligatory and the only way you are allowed inside.

Tours are at irregular hours and only in Italian so you might want to call and check times before visiting. We spent an enjoyable hour in the peaceful grounds waiting for the only tour that afternoon (and probably that entire day) as this government owned property seems little visited.

The building itself was a pleasure to see and the few staff we encountered were sweet and helpful. But we were very disappointed with the interior decorations, which mostly seemed surprisingly amateur. I think we were even more disappointed than we would normally have been because of our visit the previous day to the fabulous Doges' Palace in Venice, overflowing with artwork by so many master painters.

Knowing what we know now, we would skip a visit here in favour of more time in Vicenza. However, it was almost made up for by our lovely lunch at a cafe just 100 m from the front gate.

The Osteria Al Majo offers cusina tipica at a bargain price. For just 10.50 Euros we enjoyed 3 lovely courses all cooked by Mama plus wine and coffee; in some ways it was better than any meal we had in Venice and the first time on our trip that we encountered service with a smile. Not surprisingly, this modest but happy place was popular. Every chair at every table was taken.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank exotissima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We visit the city of Piazzola almost every month for the antique market. The setting is awesome for this big market. If you're wanting to have a quiet tour of the grounds don't go the last Sunday of the month - the antique market is in full swing. Definitely a nice visit while in the Vicenza area.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank RobertRAH-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We found this by accident while we were looking for where Andrea Mantegna was born. It is a splendid place to visit and a tour of the villa will cost you 7 euros and you can stay on in the park and have a picnic if you so wish. The tour lasting almost an hour is well worth the effort and there are some beautiful rooms in the villa to see - original auditorium is just one. Watch out for the frescoes by a local artist Michele Primon and the villa abounds with truly magnificent sculptures all around the facade and in the gardens.

The Villa is open to the public every day from 9.00am until 7.00pm except Wednesdays during the sumer months.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank DFD1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a well preserved grand palazzo well worth a visit.
The gardens are particularly magnificent and grand .
The villa was built in the 1500s in a Baroque style.
It is the backdrop for the antique market held in Piazzola the last sunday of every month.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews