We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Contarini a hidden gem”
Review of Villa Contarini

Villa Contarini
Book In Advance
More Info
US$521.36*
and up
Day Tour from Padova: Veneto Villas, Medieval...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We arrived and were greeted by two very helpful members of staff. The next guided tour was in an hour and as it was a beautiful day they suggested we took a stroll in the park. The park is so relaxing and beautiful especially near the lake. They were taking the gondola out for the fist time. The guided tour was so interesting that I felt a bit sad when it ended

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank sarahbia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"baroque style"
in 3 reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"villa"
in 12 reviews
"century"
in 4 reviews
"contarini"
in 6 reviews
"venice"
in 2 reviews
"palace"
in 3 reviews
"lake"
in 3 reviews
"park"
in 6 reviews
"pleasure"
in 2 reviews
"paths"
in 2 reviews
"marco"
in 2 reviews
"brenta"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

The Villa sits on the ruins of an ancient castle built by the Dente family around the year 1000. After many years it became one of several properties of the Carraresi family, rulers of Padua, and then inherited by a member of the Contarini family. The Villa was a farmhouse until the mid-17th century: Marco Ceontarini expanded the building transforming it into a palace. After a long period of neglect, the Camerini family purchased the estate bringing it back to its old splendor. the modified style was the eclectic 19th century style. It then the Villa went through a new period of neglect until the mid-20th century, when it was purchased by Professor G.E. Ghirardi and was assigned to the Foundation bearing his name. Since 2005 the Villa has been a property of the region of Veneto, which is currently working at its development and enhancement. It is regularly used as the venue for concerts and cultural events, as well as being available as the ideal location for conferences, meetings, and public and private receptions. There is a monthly antique market on the grounds and surrounding area the last Sunday of the month with many vendors from around the Veneto and surrounding regions.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank RobertRAH-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Even though it's not a Palladio villa it still has a lot of the same feel also due to the location and the landscape settings .
I particularly love the park behind and the large piazza in front with its curved portici lined with food stores, bars and a mix of other retail shops .
It's also a great place to visit on the last Sunday of each month when they dedicate the market to vintage . The fair of St Martin is also a piazza event and it's around the 2nd week of November .
The interiors are well preserved and are in perfect armory with the architecture of the building . I have been visiting this place since I was a child and every time I go past the entrance gate it feels like time has stopped .

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank w0rldtraveller-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

From Vicenza, approx 30 minute drive to Villa Contarini - highly recommended on a sunday in summer. Whilst our purpose was to visit the wonderful art and craft market set in the Palladian architectural extravaganza opposite the villa, in the porticoed hemicircle piazza - we were astounded and left in awe as we wandered the villa's grounds of the villa after purchasing some quality handmade jewellery & a unique stylish aqua blue suede leather handbag, both handcrafted and purchased from the makers - I was ecstatic - amazing craftsmanship/ craftswomanship. An afternoon downpour happened and we found ourselves sitting outside a bar onlooking the magical Villa for a couple of hours making some new made friends. Earlier to our arrival between Vicenza & the villa, we called into the town of Camisano another sunday market in nearby town of and purchased delicious stone fruit & grapes which lasted for our next 4 breakfasts.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We were in Piazzola for Young and Bonamassa's concerts and decided to visit Villa Contarini. The Villa is really monumental and magnificent, built in baroque style in the 16th century for Paolo Contarini, belonged afterwards to the Camerini family and finally property of the Ghirardis. The inside is breathtaking, especially the music room, the room with the mirrors, the ballroom the library and the shellroom - an enormous room made all of seashells!!! It's really worth visiting if you're nearby!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank MartinaJ496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Contarini also viewed

Battaglia Terme, Province of Padua
 
Valsanzibio, Galzignano Terme
Piazzola sul Brenta, Province of Padua
 

Been to Villa Contarini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing