We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend with Friends at Idabel Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Idabel Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idabel Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Idabel Lake
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend with Friends at Idabel Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are from the Kelowna area and this was our first time spending time at Idabel Lake. It is so close to home, yet we still feel like we got time away for some R&R. The management was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Minnow Suite which was very clean, had a rustic feel and came with everything we needed to get by for a weekend. It had a gorgeous view of the lake, bbq and a hot tub on the deck (which was amazing in the evening). It was also nice that we could bring our 2 dogs with us, they had to be on leash on the resort property but it was only a short walk to the public beach where they could be off leash and swim. There was also plenty of trails and places to walk them. The boats/canoes/lifejackets were all included and we enjoyed time out on the lake fishing and paddling around. All in all it was a fantastic 2 night stay! Thank you so much for the great experience, we will be back!

Room Tip: The Minnow suite allows dogs and is at the end so there are extra windows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here with my in-laws for 2 nights in "The Boathouse." We had a fantastic time here. We were surprised how fully stocked it was with movies, CDs, the kitchen was well supplied and very comfortable beds. We also enjoyed using the hot tub after a long day of skiing at Big White, which is only 30 minutes or less away. My in-laws had a fantastic time going sledding on their snowmobiles in the area on the vast routes in the area. I would love to come back again to stay here another time if it allows.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CrochetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our first ever Christmas away from home..... we were nervous! Idabel Lake Resort turned out to be an incredible place to try this adventure! Great staff and a friendly, home-style environment you may not find anywhere else! Is it posh? No. Is it comfortable? VERY! If you want to disconnect, this is the place to do it - skating, snow-mobile, tobogganing... all right outside your door and the scenery is lovely - day or night! Big White is just 35 mins away - roads are in great shape! Ok there is no cell service or tv - but for us that meant a whole lot family time with a whole lot of laughs. At the end of four days, I can see how much of our time and attention is usually taken up by the tv and cell phone so .... Yay Idabel! ....a very merry Christmas it was!

Room Tip: The Arlington Suite is huge - great for a family gathering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantzville, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recent stay at the Idabel Lake resort was a real treat. This was a five man board meeting and Field trip and we stayed in the summit suite. Full kitchen well equipped but missing the usual sugar for coffee and no salt. Always bring your own.

Beautiful view of the lake and very friendly staff. Rooms and kitchen were clean and spacious and good TV reception. However the wifi was sketchy and with this business crowd that was a bit of an issue.

For a summer retreat this resort would be grand, you don't need the Wifi and you can get it if you wander around. Great dock, dog and kid friendly, boats are free and the lake is stocked with rainbow trout! I will be back with the family or when we do the cute to Naramata ride.

Room Tip: Looks like the suites are nice but not as private as the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Before booking, I ready every review and was confident that this was the perfect place for our family summer get away. Boy were we in for a surprise, cabin #4 smelled when we walked into it. There was dog hair everywhere, the sheets were not freshly washed and not everything was washed down in the kitchen! The shower was disgusting...the floor was spongy and the water wouldn't drain so you were left standing in your own filth and probably someone else's! The water out of the faucet was also yellow! Bring bottled water! In all, we had a great time with the canoes and boats, game room and playing in the play area! The managers were very nice! Just don't book Cabin 4!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RXKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fara E, General Manager at Idabel Lake Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2015
We are sorry to know that you experienced a dirty room. When we began our roles as managers of Idabel Lake Resort (March 2015), one of our first goals was to thoroughly clean all of the cottages and suites. Our Spring cleaning is now complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Coming from the city, and only have one week of vacation this summer to unwind, we could not have picked a better place to put up our feet! Idabel Lake is beautiful, quiet but not lacking in things to do.

I guess the best place to start in describing this place is with the hosts, Arlyn and Laurel. Extremely friendly, and welcoming. We really felt like we were welcome and that they would take good care of us (they even gave us a couple of gallons of gas when we were concerned about making it back to town!).

We have three children, ranging in age from 10 to 16 years. They loved it too, and did not see one boring moment. They spent time walking down to the games room and playing air hockey, ping pong or even watching a movie with a handful of other kids. There was a playground with plenty of outdoor games as well. And then the lake.....

The dock was perfect for jumping off, catching minnows, or just dangling your feet in. There is a "pirate ship" for the kids to play on (maybe mom was on there a few times too) and guest have, at their disposal, canoes and rowboats! We went out on the canoe almost every morning and saw the whole lake with all the wildlife and great landscape. We even spent a morning finding the best place to hear an echo.

Our cottage was perfect for our family and we were extremely comfortable. The deck over looked the lake, and I spent as much time as I could sitting there reading, or just looking over the lake. The night sky was filled with stars and the morning sky was filled with birds of all kinds. We even heard owls one evening.

This was a wonderful trip, and we left feeling very relaxed and happy, even with our short stay. We will return to Idabel.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 has an AMAZING view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a lovely, peaceful mountain Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, played in the lake,
went on beautiful nature walks, socialized around the campfire and listened to only the sounds of nature when falling asleep, what a treat... The managers, Arlyn and Laurel were most helpful and attentive and we enjoyed their company during our stay. A highly recommended family vacation spot with so much to see and do.

Room Tip: The cabins are great for privacy and the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainDreamer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idabel Lake
23.3 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
10.1 mi away
Myra Canyon Ranch
Myra Canyon Ranch
#1 of 31 in Kelowna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort
Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#29 of 261 in Vancouver Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idabel Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idabel Lake Resort

Property: Idabel Lake Resort
Address: 800 Idabel Lake Road, Idabel Lake, British Columbia V0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Idabel Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Idabel Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Idabel Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A year-round lakeside resort offering self-contained cottages and suites, some with private hot tubs. Every unit is on the lakefront with a breathtaking lakeview from a private deck. Lake activities enjoyed include fishing, swimming, canoeing, ice fishing and boating. Complimentary canoes and rowboats are available. Local trails are great for hiking, biking and cross-country skiing. Many trails accessible by quad, ATV and snowmobile. We are on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail. Games room with pool table, ping-pong, foosball and air hockey is open for guests. Small playground, community bonfire evenings until 10:00 pm. WiFi available for an extra charge. Coin operated laundry on-site. Resident managers: Cliff and Fara. Note: There is no cell service at the resort. Free local calls available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idabel Lake Hotel Idabel Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing