We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service!”
Review of Fish and Eels

Fish and Eels
Ranked #38 of 52 Restaurants in Hoddesdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fish and Eels in Hoddesdon is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for a meal on Bank Holiday Monday and were greeted with two very long queues at either entrance. Fortunately we had booked a table in advance which was definitely an advantage, but then came the wait... and the wait... and the wait... and the wait... and then we received our drinks. Around us, two groups actually got up and walked out, having not been served. A large table next to us had been in for four hours and still hadn't received theirddeserts so also got up and left. We eventually received our food which was okay, although they forgot a side order, likewise a drink which never came.

They are shockingly understaffed for a pub of that size. We really sorry for the girl serving, as she appeared to be working the entire pub: serving, running the bar, cleaning the tables, taking orders and taking payments. It wouldn't surprise us if she was cooking the food as well! She was clearly very stressed but very pleasant and the only positive thing to come out of our afternoon. They need more like her!

Whoever is in charge really needs to get a grip of this place because it's in such a lovely location - but as you can see from the reviews and talking to people on the day, first impressions last and there will be many not coming back.

Also, beware of the parking. Although if you show them your ticket you will be reimbursed when you pay.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luke891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Luke891,

We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We have recently had a new management team come in and we are in the process of recruiting to support major days like summer bank holiday, We do apologise for the long delays you occurred whilst visiting us,
We were understaffed on our bank holiday weekend, however, with our new team slowly increasing we would like to welcome you back to the fish and eels for another visit.

We hope to welcome you back soon and see an improvement,

Kind Regards
Tess
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reserved a table for my husband and father and being a beautiful day cycled 8 miles to get there. Walked in to see a mass of people at the bar and one person serving. We were then told that the kitchen was closed due to it being too busy. Really?! You’re a restaurant- it’s bank holiday and sunny. Surely you want to be busy that’s what business is all about. Employ more staff and don’t rely on your lovely setting to ensure people come. I’ve been coming here all my life and today was the last time. If you’re reading this do yourself a favour, don’t waste your time take note of the reviews and choose somewhere else.

1  Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning and thank you for your recent visit here to The fish & Eels, We are disappointed to hear your latest visit didn't reach the high standards we set ourselves. We are currently under new management and taking on lots of new staff to help us cope better and be able to deliver a much better service to our guests, and we hope to address the comments you have left for us.

Kind reagrds

The Fish & Eels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lucky we booked in advance, on arrival notice outside said no more food being served outside and 2 hour wait in the restaurant. We were told food would take 40 to 45 minutes and they did in fact manage this. Service was though slow to take our desert order and serve this up. It was very obvious that they were short of staff in the kitchen, although must say we were all please with our food. Staff were very apologetic but they need to make some serious changes. We have used the Fish and Eel many times over the years and must say the service has gone down hill. Almost got caught out with the parking, can appreciate the need for them, but found the machines a bit complicated to use. Lets hope that the management can turn things around quickly as this is a great location with a good reputation to maintain.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Ian , Thank you for your recent visit to The Fish & Eels and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are currently under new management and are taking on a large amount of new staff to see us through the busier times. We hope you visit us again soon and give us the chance to improve on your next visit.

Kind regards

Fish & Eels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have been to this pub and been disappointed. We love the location so much that we gave them the benefit of the doubt and returned. We will never do that again!

They are so badly understaffed. We went on a beautiful hot sunny day and there seemed to be just 2 people working. It took us over an hour to get served and then when our food to arrived some of our order was missing.

To ad insult to injury we have just received a car parking ticket from them!!!!
We did not see a car parking machine nor expected to see one in a pub car park. £50 on top of the price of a very average meal!

Avoid this pub!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolseameads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning and thank you for your recent visit here to The fish & Eels, We are disappointed to hear your latest visit didn't reach the high standards we set ourselves. We are currently under new management and taking on lots of new staff and we hope to address the comments you have left for us. If you call us on 01992 466073 and we can erase the car parking fine for you, we hope this helps.

Kind reagrds

The Fish & Eels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with friends with our 2 kids.
Don't want to judge too harshly as the lady had taken over 2 weeks before and she was struggling with recruiting.
As a result the service was really slow.
Most of the food was great actually, but unfortunately the steak had to be sent back.
I think once the staff situation is sorted it will be a great place to eat.
Lovely location on the river.
The pub will refund your £2 or £3 car park fee.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning, Thank you for your recent visit to The Fish & Eels, and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are currently under new management and we have recruited a large amount of staff to help us improve our service over the busier months. We hope you visit us again soon hope that we can improve for you.

Kind regards

Fish & Eels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish and Eels also viewed

Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Enfield, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Fish and Eels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing