We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Ambience”
Review of La Torre

La Torre
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Bedlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went on a Thurs night arrived 8pm. We had a choice of seating areas as it wasn't busy though there was a really big party in the back room. We were given menus promptly and ordered our drinks which came quickly.
We both had Pasta , Daughter had Penne Carbonara (she asked for penne it is Linguine on the menu) and I had Ravioli Al Funghi.
The Ravioli was nice though the mushrooms were very chewy and Daughters bacon in the Carbonara was in a pile under the penne she likes her bacon to be mixed in with the sauce. . We had Sides of Green Salad and Garlic Bread. We loved the garlic bread the best we have had It's massive but wafer thin.
We both wanted a dessert, there's no dessert menu which I found odd. The dessert cabinet had 3 choices. Dime bar cake, Chocolate Fudge cake and Profiteroles. I opted for the Dime bar cake which I got with chocolate ice-cream. It was nice enough, daughter had Chocolate Fudge Cake (warm) with cream she said it was lovely. Both desserts had mint squares of chocolate which did not go with either desserts .. We would come back but I would opt for a starter instead of dessert as I thought the dessert choices were a let down and nothing special.
The decor and ambience is nice. Food reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlyjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    57
    16
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a good night”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and the family went for dinner.we all had a lovely meal but I can say rossini's at Bedlington station has just taken my vote.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good Italian food - reasonably priced, good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. The nights they have live music on are popular

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Italian Restaurant by far”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and my family have been attending this restaurant for the past 3 years and I can honestly say the food is outstanding, the service is second to none, Brent and his team are amazing, there is nothing they wouldn't do to make your visit as comfortable and as pleasant as they possibly can, they certainly go the extra mile. They will cater for your every need whatever intolerance you suffer from. My family came over from Australia last year for a holiday and fell in love with the La Torre, unfortunately they have been unable to find anywhere else down under to match it. The entertainment in the restaurant is incredible, both Peter Allan and Tom Wylie are fabulous to watch, a really sensational night for both adults and kids, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We went to La Torre on a Monday night to celebrate our daughters birthday. We opted for the Monday night special which was a starter to share, main meal off the special menu , coffee and a small drink for £20.
Our daughter ordered a calzone pizza, however when it came it was slightly burnt which was not to her liking so she just ate the filling. The waitress came over during the meal and asked if everything was ok as she had noticed the pizza had been left.
When we explained she offered to get another one, which our daughter declined as she didnt want to be eating alone.The waitress could not be more apologetic and kept saying sorry with it being her birthday.
Our meal was delicious and when we came to pay the bill they brought a free drink over for our daughter to say sorry.
We would definitely visit again as it is good value for money .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trotskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Torre also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Blyth, Northumberland
Bedlington, Northumberland
 

Been to La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing