We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg did Bistros....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 62 - CLOSED

Bistro 62
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did Bistros....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

....they'd do one like Bistro 62. Probably!

Like the man of the Cointreau ad used to say,'It's been a long time'. Too long.

Back for the first visit of 2014 and worth the wait.

The Salt Cod Fritters were orgasmic. The Special of risotto with brown shrimp, crab and king prawns even better.

'Er Indoors' tomato and roasted red pepper soup was faultless and the tart tatin of red onion, fennel, chilli was outstanding.

The treacle tart dessert was beautiful, the espresso complementary (it went well, it was not free) and with a bottle of the finest prosecco, a bill of a few quid shy of £60 excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candice b, Owner at Bistro 62, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We can not Thank you enough for your continued custom and support. It is especially nice to read such reviews whilst on maternity leave, therefore knowing that the place doesn't fall apart without me! Glad you both enjoyed your first visit of 2014 and our new menus!
Kind Regards
Candice & Marley (formerly known as the bump)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    35
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Visited bistro 62 on Saturday 15 for valentines all tables were taken during the evening always a good sign,the menu contained something for everyone , food arrived promptly and was beautifully presented. My wife and I were both very impressed with food and the service will definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candice b, Owner at Bistro 62, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I assume it was your first visit and we are very pleased you enjoyed it! Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the North East? Probably!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We have tried most of the highly rated dining establishments in the area and this place tops them all.
The menu seems to change often enough so it doesn't get boring & the food is always outstanding.
It's great to have such a special place local to us that's not just the usual 'chain' rubbish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Binni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candice b, Owner at Bistro 62, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments and value your continued custom. See you again soon!
Regards
Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boozy Sunday lunch....fab!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I visited one Sunday for the boozy Sunday lunch and we were extremely impressed...excellent quality food, good service and value for money....will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbielaviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candice b, Owner at Bistro 62, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to your return :)
Kind Regards
Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal making the new year start the way we mean to go on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

As we go to this excellent small, friendly local bistro as often as we can, we were not disappointed with the New Years Eve menu. As usual the food was to a standard matched by no other eatery in the north east (and although not wanting to brag, we have eaten in some of the better places yet still come back again and again) As my husband is a chef himself his taste and opinions of food are very high, and he is increasing hard to please yet loves this restaurant!.
Our meal was pure delight to the palette - scrumptious canapes with prosecco followed by cured salmon for keith and pigeon with risotto for me. Then on to the main consisting of succulent lamb cooked to perfection and duo of beef which was equally good. Add to this fantastic home-made desserts and petit fours this meal was well worth the price. Great wine to at affordable prices too what more can we ask for - maybe just that our names are put down early for next years fesivities although we will be aback often for evening meals and sunday lunch!
Thankyou to Candice and Del and their great staff for all you hard work ( and thankyou for looking after our regularly visiting aunt and uncle who frequent your establishment on a weekly basis )
A and K Charlton

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candice b, Owner at Bistro 62, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and Happy New Year of course! We are very pleased you enjoyed spending your New Years Eve with us and appreciate your returning custom greatly! Wishing you both all the best in 2014 and hope to see you soon.
Kindest Regards
Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 62 also viewed

Bedlington, Northumberland
 
Bedlington, Northumberland
Bedlington, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing