We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel choice but rather far from downtown Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnaxide
Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel choice but rather far from downtown Lisbon”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean, comfortable, quiet. The reception area is very nice with an original decor and nice helpful staff. Our room was a little small compared to the usual size of rooms at Holiday Inn Express, but it was comfortable and very clean. I think the maid got the pillows confused also since we only had hard pillows in the room despite them having soft signs on it, but that's a detail. It's a brand new hotel in an industrial area, so we had a little trouble finding it with our GPS that was sending us to a residential area across the highway which apparently has the same street name. Once we finally got there, it was easy to find parking right next to the hotel, but they do have an indoor parking as well. Breakfast was very good for a free continental breakfast, with a choice of local food usually available. The staff always made sure there wasn't anything missing there, so really quite good. There's a big shopping mall about 15min away of foot, or 3 minutes by car. It has a big food court, a supermarket and many other stores, so that's very convenient. The hotel's location is very central if you want to visit Belem, Estoril, Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon (with the highway leading to all these places meters away) , but if you're there to visit Essentially Lisbon, it's a little far from downtown. Going there by car is rather fast but not very practical because of the narrow confusing streets there, but there's a bus right next to the hotel that takes you all the way downtown and to Belem. The problem is that this bus has stops like every 100m before getting downtown, so that pretty short drive still takes 45-60 minutes (1euro75). If you have plenty of time it's very convenient, but if you're short on time, the drive could make you crazy. Belem however takes about 15 min so it's not so bad. Anyways, the hotel is a good deal if you have some spare time and don't mind being far from downtown Lisbon, if in a hurry it might be better to drop a few more bucks and go for something closer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark1977Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    99
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
40
57
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just spent 3 nights here. Hotel is great, very stylish and excellent value for money. The staff were lovely and very helpful. We parked outside the door of the hotel and used the local bus service to get into Lisbon and Belem. Bus service was also very good. We found it a bit hard to find the hotel initally but we followed a lovely portuguese man who showed us the way. The shopping mall with a great food court is within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW22613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Holiday Inn Alfragide is a brand new business hotel, located in a commercial area in the first sorrounding of Lisbon.
The structure is obviously very new and clean, rooms are nice (I asked for an upper floor room and I was give a 5th floor, thank you!), personnel extremely professional and helpful. There is no restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

stayed here 3 nights with family,

if you like you can take bus to lisbon centre (i think its about 40 min ) busstop is infront of hotel

about 15 to 20 minute walk to a big shopping mall with foodcourt with various choise to eat ( pizzahut, mc donnalds, wok to go, sushibar and much more )

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank derks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I went to Optimus Alive Music Festival in Alges and looked for a hotel near the event. I had luck to choose Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide : very comfortable and clean. The price was ok.
I will be back next year.
As a hotel to visit Lisbon? I think is a little bit far from Lisbon Historical Centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espunoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just back from the Optimus Alive festival 2012 (greta fun, thanks) helped by staying at this newly opened hotel. Good rooms, clean plus friendly staff. Design is exactly what you expect from the chain.

Two minor points:

Taxi drivers are still just catching on to the location so take your map and ask to go to Makro or Staples - I don't think we ever went the same way twice.

Watch out for the fire alarm that seems to go off about 5pm everyday during your siesta - a killer wake up alarm.

Otherwise, great for OPtimus festival and on cheap bus route into the centre of Lisbon (714)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnaxide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Alfragide
Ibis Lisboa Alfragide
#1 of 2 in Amadora
484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.8 mi away
Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos
Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos
#1 of 2 in Linda-a-Velha
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
1,102 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
3.9 mi away
Hotel Real Oeiras
Hotel Real Oeiras
#1 of 1 in Oeiras
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide
Address: Rua Quinta do Paizinho | Lugar da Outorela Alfragide, Carnaxide 2790-237, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carnaxide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnaxide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Alfragide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing