We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of seafood”
Review of Clambake - CLOSED

Clambake
Price range: US$41 - US$82
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of seafood”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had an amazing table right by beach and close to singer. The food was over the top as far as variety. Lobster, crab, shrimp, clams, sushi, prime rib, salads. I ate way too much since it was so good. The price is spendy, but it was a great way to spend our first night in Hawaii. I may not need to eat today. We splurged on the Cakebread wine, so yes, all in all, pretty expensive. Lovely evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaSandy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cramp tables but lots of people”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

All you can eat lobster, it was okay. Their crabs are good too. The fruits wasn't sweet at all, that's the part I'm dissappointed.

The tables were so close together, it's so uncomfortable. But the service was good. The bill, omg, the bill! Thank goodness it was paid for by my husband's company. A soda cost $5!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
395 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Come one and All to the Great Ripoff”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

$100 per person, drinks not included. Sat at a table far away from the action and unfortunately, the server. She charged me for 2 glasses of Cakebread Chardonnay at $26 per glass, when I ordered the house, Bogle. When she would not come around to adjust the matter, and it was getting late and cold, I just decreased her tip by the $36 ripoff! Ha ha, great fun. The lobster is not the best ever...not even close and is comprised primarily of the green stuff you dont eat. The prime rib is tough and with gristle. The Shashimi was good and plentiful, as well as the shrimp. It is just not that great and certainly not worth $100 per. My advice is you should save the money and go to the Canoe House at the Mauna Lani.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimo688889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I am not the kind of person who likes to over eat and pig out. Even at buffet's I do not take more than I can eat, hate wasting food. With that said, $100 is pricey for me a light eater. The lobster served was the main attraction. They are baby main lobsters raise in Hawaii. There was dungeness crab, clams, sashimi, and much more. The quality is decent, but I next time, I prefer to eat at Manta which actually cost less than the clam bake and taste way better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TervTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best lobster ever!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

If you love fresh lobster, then this place is a must! Yes, it's pricey, but it's so worth it! The live lobster is cooked right behind the buffet table so it's served fresh & hot right off the steamer. I didn't try much else because I wanted to eat as much lobster as I could, but their dessert bar is worth mentioning! Yummy ice cream, fresh fruit & a variety of pastries. The location right by the beach with the sunset was amazing & the service was friendly & excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clambake also viewed

Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing