We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing way to see Australian animals in their natural environment”

Australia Walkabout Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.10*
and up
Hunter Valley Wine and Wildlife Tour from Sydney or Hunter Valley Including...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Calga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you love animals but you don't like to see them in zoos, this working wildlife sanctuary is a wonderful place to visit. Only an hour north of Sydney city, you can meet kangaroos, emus and wallabies living free in 80 acres of Australian bush. Natural camps house koalas, wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, flying foxes, echidnas, pythons, cockatoos and all their feathered, furry, scaly and spiky friends. Follow the walking tracks to visit ancient Aboriginal sites. Open every day from 9am to 5pm, or book an overnight ranger-led Wild Night Out. Fun and safe for children and adults alike. This is not an intense commercial experience with concrete paths and play areas. This is the real Australian bush.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing way to see Australian animals in their natural environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Thank you for a gorgeous day today at your wildlife sanctuary. We were and still are in awe with the both free-roaming Australian animals and ancient Aboriginal rock art sites! Our Argentinean friends are still in awe with the ability to interact alongside kangaroos, emus and wallabies, that we patted the koalas and wombat, and saw flying-foxes, dingoes and Tasmanian devils.
Thank you so much for the ranger guided tour of the Australian animals and Aboriginal heritage sites. Our Argentinean friend are still talking out it!! Great work Tassin and to your team.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverleyvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We took here our friends visiting from Europe. I reckon this is a great place to see all the wonders of Oz in one short trip = iconic ozzie animals either wondering free of very very close that you may almost touch them; on top of that you have a typical ozzie bush setting through which you can walk for as long as you wish (or not), AND an aboriginal drawing and engraving. The only downside is a very disturbing aviary that seems too small for such wonderful birds. However, all the animals seem very well taken care of.

They run several short talks either about the animals or the bush which are very short and basic.

We brought food for our own BBQ as the cafe on site has very limited offering.
My kids could always just sit and watch for hours and hours the kangas grazing many of them having their young.
If anybody else is visiting from abroad in future - will take them there again as you get an impression of encountering the animals in the wild rather than a busy zoo.

It's very well signposted, only about 3 min from the motorway.

TIP1: Take your own food and drinks.
TIP2: Go later in the afternoon to stay until dusk to see all the animals to wake up for a feed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mali_svetobeznici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Kids loved the hands on with the animals. The bird a avery was a big hit with bring able to have the birds on them. Great tracks throughout the park. Don't recommend wheel chairs to be used over the rocks like a tourist tried while we were there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatw
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were taken here by Sam from Kangarrific Tours - and it was a real eye opener - having been to another so called 'wild life park' this was amazing - the animals are allowed to roam around the 80 hectares and they decide if they want to be seen - we met koalas first - a lovely experience and then we got to see emus, kangaroos, possums and many more - if we had had more time we could have taken one of the many bush tracks around the park - we will definitely be going back and will be recommending the park to all my friends - thank you!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our penultimate day in Sydney was a helicopter flight to the Walkabout Park. We were welcomed by Karen and escorted on a personal trip around the park meeting and handling Koalas, Kangaroo, reptiles and other mammals. Karen also gave us a very informative insight into bush tucker and bush medicine. We found it so great to get up close and personal with truly wild animals without fences and cages etc. Wholeheartedly recommend this trip (especially if you arrive/depart be helicopter!)
Thanks Karen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australia Walkabout Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Glenworth Valley, New South Wales
 

Been to Australia Walkabout Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing