We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good but service unwelcoming”

Auberge de la Vallee d'Ancre
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Authuille
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food very good but service unwelcoming”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were a party of five and had booked the restaurant before leaving the UK. We had high expectations after reading the comments on Trip Advisor. The restaurant is beautifully situated and very busy, so the atmosphere was good. Our only disappointment was the service, which on arriving was good but after that it was cool and brusque. The food was good but not quite as good as expected.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckacumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    27
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Booking advised!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Recommended by our accommodation hosts, we were not disappointed.

A friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere on arrival.

Menu is in French (we downloaded an example and translated prior to arrival), aid is attempted by staff (their basic English matched our basic French) but some knowledge certainly came in handy.

We chose the cheapest of the three menus on offer and at the end of our meal thought it was exceptionally good value for delicious and perfect food.

The wine list is extensive and suited our choice of food and budget.

And . . . the cheese board? Find out for yourself!

A wonderful evening and we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely little restaurant with excellent service. The food was very tasty and very good value for money. A friendly, quiet and delightful place to eat

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eglingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value, exceptional food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great restaurant, very good value. Interesting menu, well presented food, friendly service. One of the best meals we have had in Picardy. Would love to return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davalst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Hoping to return”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant about 25 years ago by accident. We had a Sunday lunch which was so memorable that we went back a few years later and again had a wonderful meal. We think the restaurant, at this point, changed hands. Some years later we went back and found the restaurant closed so the following time we were passing through Northern France we booked a table by letter before we started our travels. We turned up on the Sunday, after not hearing back from the restaurant, to find one table set in the bar area and the restaurant set up for a Baptism/Christening party. Our meal was again, amazing and the interaction we had with the other guests was great fun. We left the restaurant rather worst for wear!!!! We have been back on two more occasions, once for lunch (wonderful, and very busy) and once while staying in Albert for dinner (again, superb!!). We have been thinking of returning to Northern France and MUST book a table here for, hopefully, another wonderful meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FarquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de la Vallee d'Ancre also viewed

 

Been to Auberge de la Vallee d'Ancre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing