We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Chinese food, great value”
Review of Springwater

Springwater
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Calverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$33
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food, great value”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent Chinese food, great value - especially the all you can eat menu - which for a change is not a help yourself buffet, but waiter service. Only criticism is that it can sometime feel a little rushed - as if they need your table - perhaps that was just us!

Perfect venue for a family party or works do - they'll even bring your birthday cake to your table and play the happy birthday music for you!

Take away service is good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewsManWoodborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    73
    31
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food & party atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We visited on our works Xmas party, I have been before with family & had been disappointed however upon our recent visit the food was much nicer & still great choice on the menu which is a set price, personally I can't eat much so the price is quite high for small eaters but still reasonable for all you can eat overall.
There's a disco on from middle of the night so very loud, I wouldn't recommend this place for a romantic dinner for two but if you fancy a party then perfect place.

Helpful?
Thank Pugsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The real truth about The Springwater Chinese Resaurant”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is one of the finest retaurants on the planet. The negative reviews are probably the work of local rival businesses, or the type of person you just can never can please. Those amongst us who have visited Springwater many times have nothing but praise for this establichment.
The food is excellent and consistent. We dine there once a month and the quality is always the same - faultless. The staff are attentive and polite, and nothing is a problem. Anyone visiting for the first time will notice that it is always busy and this alone speaks volumes. Don't take any notice of any negative reviews. You will not be disappointed, and if something isn't to your liking, tell the staff. They will be only to happy to resolve any of your concerns without fuss, quickly and efficiently.
Tell them if its a birthday or celebration, and they will go out of their way to ensure you have the most enjoyable evening. My wife and I, and our two friends always look forward to our visits. Good value for money, wonderful atmosphere, superb staff, and above all the most fabulous food. Not to be missed.

Bryan, Brian, Sheila and Val.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good birthday celebration”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have visited before and decided on this venue for a birthday celebration. Just 4 of us but the table was scattered with 'happy birthday' confetti and balloons were also attached which was quite nice. Food was reliably good and we had a very pleasant evening. Staff very efficient and polite if not over-attentive. We felt we had good value for money. It was Chinese New Year so it was packed but food and service seem to remain consistent regardless.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average & over priced - wouldn't rush back”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday evening without a booking, just my partner and I and managed to get in fine. The man at front of house simply greeted us with 'booking?' to which I advised that I hadn't booked and he turned and ushered us over to a table... Very rude!
We did the all you can eat at £17.50 as we didn't have any other option. Starters are normally our favourite but so disappointing with little taste and the ribs had little meat with small bones throughout. Mains were a bit better but you can only order 4 at a time and rice/noodles have to be included in the 4. The food overall was very disappointing and simply average, not worth the price.
The waiters/waitresses were a mixed bag, as we were served by a different one each time. Some were very dismissive and not interested whilst others were great.
I have been to Springwater many times over the past few years and the place is very dated now and needs a revamp. The whole experience felt rushed and as if the place is simply run as a money making business rather than a nice restaurant for its guests to enjoy. Wouldn't highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springwater also viewed

West Bridgford, Nottingham
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Springwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing