We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo Cross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterloo Cross
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

the food is alright but it takes a while to get to you. i ordered a pesto and chicken wrap and it took nearly an hour to arrive. good when it did come and would recomend it if not in a rush!!! lovely style of serving aswell!!!!! lovely service aswell!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank BeckyBoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    57
    44
    20
    16
See reviews for
66
62
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I visited on a Friday night at about 6pm with my two children,we took the last table that wasn't reserved,it was very busy but we were seen to very quickly and all the staff were very friendly and helpful,as for the food I orders a veggie Wellington that came with veg and new pots which was very dry and one of my daughters had tortilla wrap and her cheese to put in them had already melted in a lump to the plate,will try them again when they are less busy as we were made to fill welcome

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrsshakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Had a birthday meal on Saturday,with my family.the staff were very helpful and looked after us well.we seem to wait a very long time between the starter to the main meal,it was about 50mins,which was far to long,some of are party did not have a starter,and felt that time the main meal had arrived,they appetite had gone.it was a long draw out affair,time we had a pudding, it was 3hours for three courses.far to long?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevinscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night this weekend to visit relatives in the area. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was very busy and had a wait for meals but we were advised of this on ordering. The meals were plenty and hot, we sampled chicken, steak and pie between us and no complaints at all. We were then told we were getting 50% discount on our food as we had waited longer than told. This was unexpected as we had not even noticed the time taken.
Breakfast was selected from a list of items which were then cooked to order all came exactly as ordered hot and service was excellent. checkout was fast and efficient. We would definitely stay again as is very convenient just off the M5 and gives easy access to several towns around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellovingforties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stopped for lunch with my mum and a friend,Lovely food,nice and hot,very friendly efficient waitress but a little understaffed considering how busy it was for a Thursday lunch,nice to see an obviously thriving business .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devondiner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bampton,devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The parking was adequate,the waitress service was good at our table.The food however was not good home grown as advertised , i had the rib eye steak .Chips were frozen & the peas still were the single mushroom was full of oil from being deep fried not nice, I asked the steak to be cooked medium it came rare & bloody .To send it back would not have improved the meal..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uffculme hotels

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here on our way down to Torquay for 1 night.We were taken to our room,huge with a leather sofa flat screen tv.Spotless through out.We ate dinner in the restaurant about 6pm,was quite busy for a Sunday evening,we waited an hour for food.The food was not fantastic,but it was ok,just pub grub really.Our room was lovely and quiet & we slept very well.Would stay at this Inn again if in the area again & would recommend.Very friendly staff too..

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room & a quiet room we had..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPerry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uffculme
0.0 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ostler Inn B&B
The Ostler Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Uffculme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fisherman's Cot
The Fisherman's Cot
#2 of 4 in Bickleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Cross

Property: Waterloo Cross
Address: Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Uffculme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Cross Hotel, on the border of Devon and Somerset, is a charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms. The Waterloo Cross is easily accessed, just five minutes from the M5, but also boasts a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel offers a traditional pub experience with a cosy interior and outside seating for the summer months. Cullompton is a great location for exploring both neighbouring counties or for hiding away for rest and relaxation. We serve pub food all day if you are looking for a meal or snack, or you can just relax in a cosy corner with a pint of real ale or glass of wine. Hotel accommodation room rates include our fantastic breakfast and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waterloo Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Cross Hotel Cullompton
Waterloo Cross Uffculme, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing