We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Waterloo Cross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterloo Cross
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed two nights last weekend. The bedroom was spacious and clean but rather cold. Plenty of parking and staff very helpful. The restaurant was busy both evenings so you needed to book and although there was about a 30 minute wait for main courses they did warn you and the starters arrived within 10 minutes. We also got 20% off the food as residents. Nice breakfast with plenty to eat. Easy to find just off the M5.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Waterloo Cross
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

the food is alright but it takes a while to get to you. i ordered a pesto and chicken wrap and it took nearly an hour to arrive. good when it did come and would recomend it if not in a rush!!! lovely style of serving aswell!!!!! lovely service aswell!!!!!

Thank BeckyBoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I visited on a Friday night at about 6pm with my two children,we took the last table that wasn't reserved,it was very busy but we were seen to very quickly and all the staff were very friendly and helpful,as for the food I orders a veggie Wellington that came with veg and new pots which was very dry and one of my daughters had tortilla wrap and her cheese to put in them had already melted in a lump to the plate,will try them again when they are less busy as we were made to fill welcome

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mrsshakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a birthday meal on Saturday,with my family.the staff were very helpful and looked after us well.we seem to wait a very long time between the starter to the main meal,it was about 50mins,which was far to long,some of are party did not have a starter,and felt that time the main meal had arrived,they appetite had gone.it was a long draw out affair,time we had a pudding, it was 3hours for three courses.far to long?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kevinscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night this weekend to visit relatives in the area. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was very busy and had a wait for meals but we were advised of this on ordering. The meals were plenty and hot, we sampled chicken, steak and pie between us and no complaints at all. We were then told we were getting 50% discount on our food as we had waited longer than told. This was unexpected as we had not even noticed the time taken.
Breakfast was selected from a list of items which were then cooked to order all came exactly as ordered hot and service was excellent. checkout was fast and efficient. We would definitely stay again as is very convenient just off the M5 and gives easy access to several towns around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellovingforties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stopped for lunch with my mum and a friend,Lovely food,nice and hot,very friendly efficient waitress but a little understaffed considering how busy it was for a Thursday lunch,nice to see an obviously thriving business .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devondiner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The parking was adequate,the waitress service was good at our table.The food however was not good home grown as advertised , i had the rib eye steak .Chips were frozen & the peas still were the single mushroom was full of oil from being deep fried not nice, I asked the steak to be cooked medium it came rare & bloody .To send it back would not have improved the meal..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uffculme
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,733 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ostler Inn B&B
The Ostler Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Uffculme
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Cross

Address: Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Uffculme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Cross Hotel, on the border of Devon and Somerset, is a charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms. The Waterloo Cross is easily accessed, just five minutes from the M5, but also boasts a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel offers a traditional pub experience with a cosy interior and outside seating for the summer months. Cullompton is a great location for exploring both neighbouring counties or for hiding away for rest and relaxation. We serve pub food all day if you are looking for a meal or snack, or you can just relax in a cosy corner with a pint of real ale or glass of wine. Hotel accommodation room rates include our fantastic breakfast and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterloo Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Cross Hotel Cullompton
Waterloo Cross Uffculme, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing