We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hampshire Hog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hampshire Hog
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nice quiet place to stay ( except the toilet flush). I did find the menu rather limited. Not saying that was a problem but only half a dozen choices for mains. I ordered the burger which was nicely presented although for the price I would havs hoped for a slightly larger portion on chips. unfortunately I did find my burger rather undercooked. I dont mind it looking pink but this was raw in the middle. Listening to the table next to me this was also a problem.

One other negative point. if someone flushes the toilet in the middle of the night in the room next to you it will wake you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    154
    60
    39
    29
See reviews for
118
205
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I booked a table for Sunday carvery for 16 family and friends to celebrate my daughter's baptism and son's birthday and, despite being very busy and there being so many of us, nothing was comprised. We had a lovely afternoon with great food, very friendly helpful staff and it was very good value for money. I would definitely recommend the Hampshire Hog. Thanks for helping to make it a great day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

As we arrived back at Portsmouth from Caen on the 9.15pm ferry we decided to stay overnight before returning home (a 4 hr. drive). How lucky we were to find the Hampshire Hog. Only 15mins. drive from the port and arriving in time for a drink in the bar. Sadly we missed most of the quiz night but we were able to join in with Ron's raffle. Wonderful accommodation. Fresh milk for coffee in the morning. Great breakfast. Ticked all the boxes for us. From the minute we arrived the staff were extremely helpful. If we travel to France Portsmouth to Caen we will certainly visit the Hampshire Hog again it is so handy.

Room Tip: Very convenient for Portsmouth ferry to France. Room No.1 was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Really pleased you found the location so helpful for your journey, and I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities.

The big question is.....did you win the raffle?

All the best.

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I always try to get away for a weekend break at this time of year and have stayed in lots of hotels over the years.This is the first time we have ever returned to the same hotel from the previous year. It ticks all the boxes for us and we had very good weekend break.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, rooms are great and food was very nice ...again.
Its nice to be able chill out then just pop into the pub for a drink and food. Add some shopping and a walk on the sea front then along with this great place to stay you`ve got yourself a great break.

Would also like to add, how hard working all the staff at this hotel. They make this place work and make sure you have a good time.

See you again ,thanks for the great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellysinKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having just got home from Hampshire, after spending 3 nights at ''the Hog'' my wife and I both wished our stay could have been longer. Being regular travellers, we have stayed at a multitude of hotels, motels and guest houses, and we both agree the standards set by this hostelry, from the warm welcome, of the friendly staff from check- in to check- out, made our stay the best we could have wished for. Our room was spacious, clean and vey comfortable, with an on suite to die for, well done to the designer, it certainly shows some places can go the extra mile for the guests. As this was a trip to visit family in the area, we never got to sample the culinary delights of dinner, and so can only comment on our breakfast, which was another extra mile moment, with well cooked food, and a more than ample amount, once again served by friendly and nothing too much trouble staff. We did however use the bar for a night cap after visiting, so it was obvious that everyone was enjoying the food. We would certainly recommend '' the Hog'' to everyone, and we would certainly stay there again. Well done to all the staff, thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having lived in this area for 29 years the Pub/Hotel was well known to me but sometimes not for the right reason. UNTIL General Manager Nicki arrived with her family. The welcome is always warm as the rooms. It is never cold,never noisy, never keep you waiting if you lock yourself out despite the HUGE notice in reception warning that the keys do not mix well with mobiles in pocket or bag. Soundproofing excellent. Outside lights do not cause issues once the curtains are drawn. No need for a fridge in the room taking up space when FRESH yes FRESH milk available in reception 24/7 in flasks to keep fresh. WIFI excellent but on the odd occasion the issue was down to BT not the hotel.Menu extensive and trust me i know after all that time both old & new. Rooms & general maintenance fantastic, never shabby or tired thanks to a very hard working multitasking Shaun. Every hotel should have one! Issues resolved with speed and ease. Whatever you need whenever you need it you are never made to fell 'in the way'. As with any property things go wrong and we are at the mercy of tradesmen but they always get it right. Come on? things go wrong in life. All the tradesmen either staying or working there were great! They are like a family and have all the traits of family life, right there in front of you. Fab
Not a drinker but i am told by everyone the selection of beer etc is fantastic. As for Nicki & all of the staff it's way past the time for them to get the recognition they deserve for being, Basically Brilliant at what they do every single day of the year. Christmas dinner was great too, so there. If after all this time i can be positive why do some people feel the need to moan about something? Life goes belly up sometimes and that is the best thing about Nicki, Sarah, Mike, Connie, Rob ,Kay, Dan & Dan, Keith, Emma and all of the staff at Hampshire Hog, Is... They are like life REAL. Hats off to you all.
Am going to miss you lots, I will be back. THANKYOU.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have a Swimming Poor or a Fitness centre, but i am sure if they did it would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
There is very little one can add to your wonderful review. I can only say how pleased we were to have been given the chance of accommodating your booking. I am sure that a 6 month stay was the last thing you wanted, but we were blessed that you were here with us. After such a long time, you became a familiar face to both staff and customers, and we all miss you very much, and I mean that sincerely.

Of course we never want you to have to suffer the issues in your home again that brought you here to us in the first place, but please dont be a stranger, The Hampshire Hog will always be your second home now.

Nicki and all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Lovely place for family sunday roast..their meat is superb, usually a choice of two meat each Sunday..i always go for beef, lovely roast potatoes, Parsnips is the best, cabbage, cheesy cauliflower or brocolli, mashed carrots beans and red cabbage sometimes or creamed leeks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakuraneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review!.. I am really delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, your feedback is really welcome.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for lunch again really soon.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
7.2 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
10.7 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampshire Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Property: The Hampshire Hog
Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
The Hampshire Hog Clanfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing