We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice rooms, extremely good value, outstanding service”
Review of The Hampshire Hog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hampshire Hog
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We made an overnight stay here for convenience while visiting some National Trust properties nearby, even though we only live about an hours drive away. It was well worth it. The rooms were really good quality in a new building - some really nice and special touches - a pot to make tea in in the room, as well as a cafetiere with real coffee and a fridge with real milk in thermoses to put in your tea. Above all all the service was attentive and friendly without being obsequious. The (buffet) breakfast was excellent. Despite the fact that it is next to the A3 (which is well-hidden in a culvert), there was no disturbing traffic noise, even though we slept with the window open. The pub itself is also a pleasant place for a drink and a meal an there is a graden and children's playground when the weather suits.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar - newly done out, well-appointed and a good size, but I gather the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent our wedding night here recently, it was booked for us and we had never been before - really glad we chose it.
The service was perfect from start to finish, The night before the wedding I dropped our bags off with the receptionist and got the keys. She was so lovely and friendly and really helpful. When we got there on the night, we went straight to our room - and saw they leave fresh milk in the reception fridge, a nice touch. The room was beautiful - gorgeous soft bed with luxurious sheets, and such a stylish bathroom - double sinks, and a big walk in shower for two with attachments on both sides.
In the morning we really enjoyed the buffet breakfast - nice views from the table out the window, good friendly service and delicious food.
The only negative was that we had a very bright flourescent street lamp outside our bedroom window (room 4) which belonged to the hotel car park and was on all night - would be good to get blackout blinds as it really shined through the curtains and kept us awake for a while.
We would definately return here soon and would like to have a meal or do their pub quiz. Thanks for a lovely weekend!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 until they turn off the lamp outside the window or get blackout blind/curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMorgan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki B, General Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you so much!

Street light through the window, noted! Thank you for some really constructive advise.

Dont forget us on your anniversary, we wish you many happy years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Hampshire Hog for one night on a work trip. We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly greeted by the receptionist and shown to our ground floor room. The Inn part of the building is all exposed beams and old world charm. The hotel part of the building is modern comfort plus. As well as the usual furniture in a bedroom there was a round table and two comfortable chairs. The hospitality tray was well stocked and instead of those little UHT milk containers there was a fridge in the hall way with fresh milk in small flasks. Wonderful!
The bathroom was a well appointed wet room which is great for those of us who need help to get in and out of a bath.
Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet which was replenished regularly, while tea, coffee and toast were made fresh as required.
We will certainly be using the Hampshire Hog next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms look out to the car park and fields beyond. Despite this it was a very quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiblein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki B, Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Reiblein

Thank you so much for your kind review of The Hampshire Hog. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

regards

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stayed here for one night after looking at local Travel lodges and Premier Inns and finding this gem cheaper! All the staff were very friendly.
The rooms are as advertised "Stylish" and I was really pleased with my choice. We had a meal in the pub and were fortunate that Monday's they have a buy one main meal deal and get the second for a £1...result!!! The full English breakfast was also very good, although seeing a fellow guest in her pyjamas, dressing gown and slippers sitting at a table was a bit of a shock!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whosshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The rooms were very good and well appointed with superb showers. Fresh milk in the corridor..............heaven compared with UHT milk. The dinner was good quality normal food and the breakfast was lovely. The only down side was the breakfast was a buffett style, which I think has had its day?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Passing so went in for a meal. Not a huge menu, we had pie of the day and I have to say it was delicious, definitely home made, full of chunks of meat, good pub food. Don't know what the rooms are like as didn't stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A small group of us stayed last night at this hotel prior to a business meeting. Not knowing the area we were keen to avoid chain hotels, but also somewhere we could sit and discuss work the night before. The location was lovely, the bar area warm and welcoming (a lovely big open fire was lit) but I was particularly impressed with the menu. It had had a good, interesting choice for veggies (even on the specials board) and when the food arrived it was delicious. Not cheap, but worth the money.
My room (1) was comfy, everything worked well, the shower was great. Breakfast was good and rounded off a brief but enjoyable stay. I'd love to come back with my family when the weather is more amenable to show off the lovely scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
3.6 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
347 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Clanfield
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampshire Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
The Hampshire Hog Clanfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing