We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hawkhills(Easingwold)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
87
13
1
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
13
1
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedb bbeautiful period housewonderful hostsgreat bed and breakfastcooked breakfastperiod featuresoverlooking the gardentea and coffee making facilitiesfull english breakfastlight sleepernice roomthree nightsgood sizehome from homewonderful stayweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We would highly reccomend this hotel as a stay with or without children. We were made very welcome when we arrived our son also stayed and was very welcomed also. The rooms are very clean and could not fault them and we were provided with tea biscuits. Our breckfast was lovely and owner of here is very helpful.

Lovely stay here would recommend

Selina and John and Liam :)

Room Tip: you are provided with a lovely room reguardless
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our very best at all times to ensure our guests have the best experience that we possibly can give them and we are pleased you thought so, we look forward to you coming back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just had a lovely one night stay in the Old Rectory which is a beautiful grade II listed building full of character.The bedroom was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. Paul made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was delicious.An earlier check in time would have been advantageous but other than that we can't fault it. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you had a lovely time and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.Paul went out his way to draw a map of area so we could take kids on cycle..great place to stay.We knew it was on outskirts of York but that suited our family and York was easy to get too on park and ride which is very cheap and easy to get to from The Old Rectory.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blair1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

So pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and my husband have recently had a lovely stay at the rectory .
Rachel Paul and little Joseph were simply the best hosts we were made to feel very welcome .
I knew as soon as I walked in the front door and saw Rachel's , jo Malone candles, I was in the right place .
The bedroom was superbly decorated with a beautiful four poster bed ,everything is very in keeping with the period of the house .
Breakfast was cooked on the aga and was delicious .
I can't praise this establishment enough ,Rachel and Paul work extremely hard and I would recommend this guest house to anyone I can't wait to visit again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our very best at all times to ensure our guests have the best experience that we possibly can give them and we are pleased you thought so, we look forward to you coming back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Large, quiet and comfortable room at the back of a property full of character. Our hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful. A great position for visiting York (the main road leading directly to a 'park & ride' site) or the two nearby National Parks. We felt very much at home here and didn't want to leave at the end of our 4 night stay...highly recommended!

Room Tip: I would think that rooms at the rear would be quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raynsford-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, thrilled you had a great time with us and that you would love to retur, we do hope that will be soon! thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews