We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Thormanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I just wanted to thank you for your hospitality. My wife and I stayed at The Old Rectory on April 27, 2014. The room was delightful, cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was magnificent and the setting was lovely. The breakfast was great and both you and your husband were extremely warm and friendly. We are both very happy that we chose your place to stay and will not to hesitate to recommend you and it to all who may ask. 5 stars from us and keep up the good work.

Thank you,
John L

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlongbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago for 3 nights. Its perfectly situated 25 minutes drive from York. The guest house has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our room was beautiful - as was the whole house! Breakfast was served from 8am every morning and was superb. The hosts were extremely helpful with directions to the local towns. It would have been nice to have one of the refurbished bathrooms, but we had a good deal! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with renovated ensuite and away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
654 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful old house in quiet location adjacent to A19 north of York. Room was well appointed and tastefully decorated. Nice welcome and pleasant, friendly service from the owners - made it a pleasurable and value for money experience. All in all a lovely place to stay !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked at last minute for 3 days. Lovely area. Lovely rectory. Made very welcome. Lovely large modern room and large bathroom, recently refurbished. Lovely breakfast. Plenty space in car park. On edge of A19 but we had a back room and didn't hear traffic.
Plenty of places to visit nearby and good choice of places to eat. Had lovely weather too. Would recommend to anyone and would go back. Fresh eggs to buy on departure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope you return very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiptree
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a first class stay this weekend. We were made welcome and the accommodation was first class . I cannot thank Paul enough for the peppermint tea he conjured up when I was feeling unwell. We cannot wait to return and cannot thank Rachel and Paul enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we try to make every guest as welcome in our home as possible and do everything we can to ensure a fantastic stay, glad you had a nice time and look forward to your stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Couldn't have been any better, great place, oozes character, and Rachel and Paul are probably the nicest hosts i have ever experienced. I cannot think of one thing that me or my family would have changed, b&b? We could have stayed in that wonderful house all weekend without bothering to go outside. Thank you very very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our best to make your stay the best and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Easy to find location with car park to the rear up Church Lane. Friendly welcome on arrival with our cases carried up to our spacious room. We had booked the 4 poster bedroom, which turned out to be the Rector's room. Amazing history of previous owners from 18th Century to present day. Superb bed, linen and pillows. Warm and cosy too, with tasteful room decorations. Quiet library room packed with information on local attractions. Breakfast was nicely cooked and presented, with excellent choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, pleased as punch that you had a lovely stay with us we do everything we can to ensure that you have the best stay that you possibly can, we hope that you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thormanby
7.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.2 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: Thormanby YO61 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thormanby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thormanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Grade II Listed 18th Century Georgian residence which was built in 1737 with a later addition built in 1786. Part of the building housed what was a music room for local school children in bygone times, but is now the Drawing Room. The house is set in a large old English Country garden with the original early Georgian garden wall. The village of Thormanby dates back many hundreds of years and has a population of just 118 residents.Grade II listed Georgian Rectory located on the fringes of the North York Moors National Park, More commonly known as 'James Herriot country', with Whitby , and the seaside towns of Scarborough and Filey a convenient drive away. Ideally situated for the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District, Harrogate, and only a 20 minute drive from York city centre. Set in a rural location near the Georgian market town of Thirsk with its popular racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Thormanby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing