We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Rectory”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Thormanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Rectory”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Attending a wedding at nearby Newburgh Abbey. There was even a taxi company a few doors away. This was a perfect location. Wonderful hosts in a charming setting and delightful boutique rooms. Breakfast was a feast, no pressure and set us up for the day. Thank you for the welcome and for looking after us in such a relaxed way,

Room Tip: The 'Luxury' room has the 'best' of bathrooms, and at the back of the building has g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSchumm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night break. Everything was perfect location, breakfast, bedroom and the owners. We even got recommend to a fantastic pub about a 5 minute drive from here. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone going to stay in york.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, A good base for touring North Yorkshire. York, Thirsk, Harrogate, close by. Fantastic host's. Excellent breakfast. With home grown free range eggs. Information book in room very informative. With good choice of pubs close by for decent fare. Park and ride for York is close.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m19076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from three night stay. The Rectory at Thormanby is exemplary. This is how all guest houses would be in a perfect world. Paul and Rachel are the most hospitable owners you are ever likely to meet. They have lovingly and tastefully restored this beautiful 18th century Grade II listed building, managing to include all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel without compromising the ambience and history of the building.

Our room was tastefully and simply furnished and included a comfortable bed, sofa, chest of drawers,tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview and free Wifi. The bathroom was spacious, contemporary, spotlessly clean and functional. Both Paul and Rachel possess a fund of knowledge about the local area and North Yorkshire in general.

Breakfast was of the highest quality, locally sourced (including eggs from their own chickens - delicious!) and well cooked and presented.

We were never aware of traffic noise from the road, and although it is an A road, it is pretty quiet at night.

This has got to be one of the best Guesthouses we have ever stayed at in Britain. In fact it is, simply, the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a perfect weekend stay at the Old Rectory in Thormanby.
The rooms and the house are fantastic and the breakfasts are delicious. Paul and Rachel made us feel very welcome and were really helpful with cab numbers, directions and advice on where to eat.
The B&B is perfectly situated as a base for exploring the north York Moors, York City and surrounding tourist attractions.
We were in a stunning room at the front of the house which had large recently fitted bathroom and a very comfortable four poster bed- we slept very well. The village and surrounding area really is beautiful, we will definitely be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlaandstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I just wanted to thank you for your hospitality. My wife and I stayed at The Old Rectory on April 27, 2014. The room was delightful, cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was magnificent and the setting was lovely. The breakfast was great and both you and your husband were extremely warm and friendly. We are both very happy that we chose your place to stay and will not to hesitate to recommend you and it to all who may ask. 5 stars from us and keep up the good work.

Thank you,
John L

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlongbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago for 3 nights. Its perfectly situated 25 minutes drive from York. The guest house has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our room was beautiful - as was the whole house! Breakfast was served from 8am every morning and was superb. The hosts were extremely helpful with directions to the local towns. It would have been nice to have one of the refurbished bathrooms, but we had a good deal! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with renovated ensuite and away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thormanby
7.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.2 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: Thormanby YO61 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thormanby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thormanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Grade II Listed 18th Century Georgian residence which was built in 1737 with a later addition built in 1786. Part of the building housed what was a music room for local school children in bygone times, but is now the Drawing Room. The house is set in a large old English Country garden with the original early Georgian garden wall. The village of Thormanby dates back many hundreds of years and has a population of just 118 residents.Grade II listed Georgian Rectory located on the fringes of the North York Moors National Park, More commonly known as 'James Herriot country', with Whitby , and the seaside towns of Scarborough and Filey a convenient drive away. Ideally situated for the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District, Harrogate, and only a 20 minute drive from York city centre. Set in a rural location near the Georgian market town of Thirsk with its popular racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Thormanby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing