We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend away for a great group of friends.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Portinscale, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacky D
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away for a great group of friends.”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The amount is situated in the centre of Portinscale and was easily found using the clear directions given by Caroline the owner. There is on street parking and also off street parking at the rear of the property ( you do need directions for this). We immediately warmed to the property which was pleasantly furnished and which had a wealth of beautiful art works to study. Ample lounge, dining room and kitchen all well appointed for our group of ten. We were delighted to receive the welcoming basket of goodies containing freshly baked bread, homemade cake, chutney and marmalade plus two samples from the Soap Co a local manufacturer supporting disadvantaged people. Each bedroom was comfortably furnished and decorated and had en-suite facilities. There was no ground floor cloakroom however a 'spare' shower room was just at the head of the stairs. The bedrooms are situated on the second and third floors of the property. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will recommend to others for the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Many thanks Jacky. It was great having you and your friends here. Many thanks for looking after our home so well. We are delighted you liked it all so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer3833...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location with generous hosts.”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Mount is a lovely home with great facilities and a very well stocked kitchen. Caroline and Clive were very kind and helpful and the welcome pack was outstanding. The home made bread and lemon cake were delicious.
The beds were very comfortable and the showers were great. Large living room with open fire and a large dinning room so you never feel over crowded but with space to welcome guests for a meal.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Many thanks for such a nice review. We feel so lucky to have such nice guests, and are particularly grateful that you left our home looking lovely and clean. We are pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay so much and hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socket52
BOLTON
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After staying in many BBs all over the UK I can honestly say without question this is up there with the best.So many nice touches from the tea and homemade cake on arrival to the exquisite house itself. The owners Caroline and Clive are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble.Our room on the front (2) had stunning views of the lake and the majestic mountains.A lovely suprise of homemade biscuits awaited us in our room. The bed was so comphy and the breakfast from the fruit, yog. and the great choice of cooked was fantastic. I feel I could go on but you really have to try. You wont be dissapointed.Thank you for a beautiful break. Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
We feel so lucky to be able to attract such lovely guests! Many thanks for such a great review. It is so rewarding getting feedback like this. And it was lovely having you to stay, and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eljayem
blackburn
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at The Mount for one night. The house is absolutely beautiful; our room (room 3) was everything I could have asked for - clean, charming, spacious and very comfortable. Caroline and Clive have created a very special guest house and they were the perfect hosts. On arrival we were greeted with tea and delicious homemade cake which was much appreciated. I loved the huge breakfast table which seats all the guests together - it gives a very friendly, family feel and encourages conversation whilst you are enjoying Caroline's fantastic breakfast.
The house overlooks Derwentwater and is just a short walk from Keswick; ideal for us as we were visiting The Theatre By The Lake in the evening. Clive offered us a torch for our walk back in the dark.
I would not hesitate to stay at The Mount again - it feels like a home from home and I hope to return later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Many thanks Lisa. That is such a wonderful review. It means so much to us that you enjoyed it so much and liked all the extra touches! It will be lovely to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWH73
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lakeland magic”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

3 generations of our family stayed at the Mount for 5 days in mid August, to celebrate a birthday and spend time in the great outdoors. We were very, very fortunate with the weather. We were even more fortunate with the Mount. It is absolutely fantastic. Caroline and Clive are the perfect hosts. They've created a beautiful place to stay - spacious, light, and a wonderful blend of the traditional (some great bits of early 20th century furniture) and the very modern (the bathrooms are superb). Their attention to detail is astonishing - every guidebook and map you could dream of, lovely art spread all round, Lakeland soaps, glorious welcome basket full of local and homemade goodies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
What a wonderful review! Thanks so much. We are so delighted you and your family loved it as much as we do. And we work very hard to get the weather right too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colrick_S...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from an 8 night stay, we were a party of 10 ranging from ages 10 to 74. The accommodation was first class, very welcoming, homely, spacious (we all loved the dining room which could easily accommodate all 10 of us when we had meals). It was filled with lots of information, and activities/games perfect for family time, with many personal touches. Lovely treat basket on arrival and big bunch of flowers. Portinscale is a peaceful village, within a short walk to Keswick, and 2 marinas at Derwent Water a few minutes walk away. It is a perfect location for cycling and walking, and ideal for discovering the Lakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and didn't want to leave! We would definitely return in the future. Clive and Caroline are lovely owners and nothing was too much trouble, Caroline even accepted our grocery delivery before we arrived and put it all away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt very homely and spacious, perfect for spending valuable family time together. Lovely large dining room, very accommodating.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
It was lovely having you all to stay and we are so pleased you liked everything so much. We were inspired with all your cycling and have been out on our bikes quite a few times since you left! Many thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfriCarib...
United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Mount for 5 days and it was a lovely break for the whole family. A short walk away from Keswick town, the location is ideal as it is not on a busy road, and has such beautiful views of the mountains and lake from the bedrooms.
The house had everything we needed for our family including cuddly toys for our little daughter, and such lovely books and there was a wonderful welcome basket left for us.

Thank you Clive and Caroline, we will surely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, the house and the location. We really enjoyed having you here and hope you do come back. Kindest regards Caroline and Clive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing