We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Grounds, but Poor Standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Took a 4 day inclusive package as did almost everyone else at the Hotel.
The grounds to the Hotel are beautiful and the location is convenient - these are the best points. The hotel rooms are small, but clean and quite well fitted. However we found the double bed to be small and uncomfortable.
The Hotel gives the impression of being tired with peeling paintwork, decor, etc. The cleanliness in corridors and public areas was not of a good standard - in fact it was clear to see that the corridor outside our room was not cleaned at all during our stay. Restaurant floor especially edges could also have been cleaner.
The overall standard of the food provided was poor - particularly two of the main courses which were close to inedible. Some meals were a bit better, but none were really good.
As is often the case Restaurant Staff were mostly East European and were all very friendly and helpful. The attitude of other staff was mostly good with a some exceptions. There did nopt seem to be any heirachy of supervision at the Hotel which could have raised standards. Most Staff appeared to be under 30 years whereas most guests were probably over 70.
Part of the package was for free drinks between 7.30 - 10.00 pm. However the drinks available were from a selected list and most spirits were inferior budget brands.
There is free Cloud Wi Fi, but I could not get it to work even after referring to Reception.
Despite the apparent good value of the package stays at this hotel I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Guess you would have to pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

The food was absolutely gorgeous and the staff very friendly indeed, don't let any of the bad reviews put you off, we found it remarkable, and our room was definitely clean. The manager of the hotel Russell, is brilliant, very helpful and such a lovely person, the views and grounds of the hotel are one in a million. We had a fantastic time

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaloulanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

While the country was gripped with Royal wedding fever we decided to escape to the lake district for the weekend and do some walking.

As we have stayed in this hotel before we decided to " upgrade " to a lake view room and what a good decision it was !!. The room was light , clean and roomy with wonderful views over the gardens and Lake.We were thrilled the hotel had provided a Fruit Basket , Chocolates and a bottle of Bubbly with two glasses.

Before dinner we walked down through the gardens to the Lakeshore and admired the setting in glorious sunshine.

Dinner was even better than we remembered and sevice was impeccable , special mention must go to our waiter Felip.
Over the three nights we found the meals were delicious and the sweets to die for.All food at breakfast and dinner was of good quality.

After dinner we would sit in the conservatory bar and relax over a couple of drinks in lovely surroundings.
We did talk to a dog owner who bemoaned the fact her pet was not allowed in the conservatory , however we must side with the hotel on this one as it would spoil the ambience.

For the price we paid considering the location we recieved excellent value for money and would return definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Our standard room was substandard. The bathroom had cracked floor tiles and the edge of the floor needed sealing (so that it could be properly cleaned). The food was unimaginative.
The front of house staff were fine but there apppeared to be no one in charge in the restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redowlYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The room we were given was very poor standard,the shower had no pressure the bed was hard the pillows even harder and the carpet was filthy, although we would of had a very nice view if the windows were clean ! The food was bad and the staff rude and the manager was always "busy" or "away" we stayed 3 nights and had to order a chinese takeaway on the second night as the food was shocking in the restaurant and went into keswick on the third night after our "meal" to dine on real food. The area is fantastic well worth a visit just don't waste your money on this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The hotel is set in large gardens , leading onto Derwentwater and is ideal for local walks such as Catbells , or within short driving distance of the 3 peaks , Castkerigg stone circle , Cockermouth etc. We went on the 4 night all inclusive deal which was excellent . Breakfast was good English and dinner was very good every night . Service was generally very good , even though the hotel was completely full and they were short staffed one evening , we had no long waits and it was easy to make friends in the dining room . After dinner everyone went to stay in the lounge which , if you took the 8.00pm dinner sitting meant it was difficult to find a seat . Again it was easy to make friends in the relaxed atmosphere . On the Thursday evening , Norman Johns provided the entertainment and he was excellent . He tried to please the majority of the audience and succeded very well with his repertoire from each decade , varying from Elvis to Led Zeppelin . As the hotel was full , we were offered an upgrade to one of the vary large spacious apartments across the road but we rejected it to stay in a small cosy room in the main hotel . All in all a very good all inclusive break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_peers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Have stayed here many times but may consider B&B next time. I still adore the hotel but not so much the evening meal although it was better than it had been the last couple of years. Since the Shearings takeover, many things are not the same. But, you would expect that when a large company takes over a small and old fashioned independent hotel.
I miss the proper breakfast that we used to have with the delicious vegetarian croissant which has now gone to be replaced by a generic menu. The breakfast lacks mushrooms and fried bread but considering the health issues, meh, I can live without both.
I still adore the place for it's comfort, for the views and the conservatory which has recently been very much upgraded.
Catherine, Susan and Mark on reception give such a warm welcome and are a credit to the business unlike the current manager who I doubt has any clue who his returning guests are. We have stayed there many times and always been greeted and chatted to by the manager. Not so now. Russell [-] is next to useless.
In the bar, David Woodford, superb service.
In the restaurant, Zuzana, perfect service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
670 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,165 reviews
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £51 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing