We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one to many Shearings hotel stays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just back from a 4 night midweek stay. First impressions not good, older receptionist very short with us - not good after a long journey! Room cold and had to request heater (which did arrive and sorted out the room). Great view, location and good food - apart from Monday night - was it chef's night off we wondered? Excellent service in restaurant. no real atmosphere in bar - shame as location is good. Just checked bar bill - and was charged for a bottle of wine we didn't have. Shame it has left us with a bad impression. not sure whether we want to go back to another Shearings after all of this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a long weekend at the Der went water hotel we had upgraded and had a good sized room with a good view of the lake room 114,the room was clean, bathroom of a good standard towels changed every day could not fault it.Hotel staff were all pleasant breakfast on the Saturday morning was busy and some older residents were very quick to complain but a short wait in the lounge area was all that was required,we have had the same service in five star British hotels, if everyone turns up at once that's what happens the dining room staff were pleasant at all times and very apologetic for even the shortest delay.Food was good hot and varied with a reasonable wine list the bar staff were equally pleasant and polite at all times the weather during our staff was glorious so this helped too.Lovely surrounding
scenery and a perfect location for touring the area .We would love to return . One small complaint,we have a dog , but we were a little disturbed at times by dogs barking when the owners had left them to have a meal ,this was only occasional and had no disturbances at night ideal hotel to take your dog as plenty of areas to walk your dog in the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a lake view room and or superior room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leicestersupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having recently stayed in this apartment opposite the main hotel, I feel compelled to warn others before they consider booking at this awful place!! The only decent thing that I can say about the apartment is that the decor has been maintained over the years. Having said that, the rest of the two bed-roomed apartment needs to be completely updated. The windows in the bedrooms and kitchen were extremely difficult to open and close. All of the window fixtures were loose and in need of replacing. The window in the lounge was locked due to having a crack in the pane. Why this couldn't have been fixed is another matter for debate. Because of this we had to borrow an electric fan from the hotel as it was very hot sat in on an evening after being out all day. The two en-suites were extremely disappointing. The shower mixers on the bath were totally shot away. They were extremely stiff to operate and only 75% of the time produced any hot water. The times that hot water came through were enough to suddenly scald you. The glass partitions on both baths had their rubber strips missing which meant that every time you took a shower, the floor would get soaking wet, causing a slip hazard when getting out of bath. The toilet seat in one en-suite was very loose, and one of the towel rails was hanging off the wall. The tiles over the baths were covered in mould. The boiler in the kitchen needs replacing as it cannot handle both showers being operated at once. I had to spend 30 minutes on arrival hacking away ice in the freezer compartment of the fridge. The fridge had a shelve missing so we couldn’t store milk upright inside it. It also needs replacing along with the boiler. The cooker needs a damn good clean out as it stank out the apartment with unions when we decided to cook a meal one evening. The only positive thing that I can say is that we had milk, orange juice, bread, and some fruit provided by the hotel on arrival. When I politely pointed out these faults to reception, I was met with a couldn’t care a less attitude by the member of staff. The food in the hotel restaurant was overly expensive…£18.95 for a sad little Sea Bass!
The final straw was when we came back from the pub on our last night of our stay, only to find a pile of dogs mess on the carpeted stairs leading to our apartment. The animal belonged to one member of staff who live in at the apartments. Yes, it was cleared up within 10 minutes of us complaining, but it was an awful thing to come back to after having a lovely meal up the road at the local pub. Needless to say we won't be staying here again. Avoid this place and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StgMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

I am surprised at your review as we normally receive such positive reviews about the standard of our apartments and good food we serve in the hotel. We tried our best to rectify as many of the maintenance issues you had during your stay and apologise that the remaining problems could not be rectified. Whilst we happily take dogs in the apartments, it is the responsibility of their owners to clean up after them and occasionally accidents happen that are cleaned up immediately. The offending animal was unknown but not belonging to a member of staff as suggested. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having gone to this hotel for over 20 years, I now find it has been taken over and destroyed by Shearings. Still the same building, in the same place, but all the extras have been cut away - accountants have been allowed to do their worst. The menu has been pruned back, quantities have shrunk and the whole atmosphere of the place has changed. None of the staff seemed happy and few of the regulars thought they would be back. I won't either, as I always went there for an autumnal treat. This was no treat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doubleoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are frequently fully booked with both new customers and our regular guests who have been visiting the hotel for several years, who all comment positively on the refurbishments we have carried out, the standard of food and the fantastic service delivered by our long serving members of staff. I would therefore disagree that the hotel is “destroyed”. On the contrary, the hotel is much better value with some excellent offers throughout the year, and now also has a modern and relaxed atmosphere. I don’t feel that the “extras” you speak of make any impact on the overall enjoyment of a stay at the Derwentwater hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

this hotel was part of trip to the lakes , only for a couple of days . once we had located the hotel (with the aid of sat nav) we were very pleasantly suprised by the hotel and its grounds. the large rear garden are really nice , with a long rustic pathway leading down to waters edge.the staff are all very pleasant and helpful , also the food is of good quality, again offering a gluten free option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having stayed in the Apartments over many years as we had never had any complaints we had booked a full week during August. For the first three days we were without any hot water, no alternative was offered or apology. The response to my email to Head Office was "Sorry for the inconvience"!
Needless to say we wont be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sqibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Sorry to hear that you had problem with the hot water in your apartment. I have looked back and cannot recall receiving notification of any hot water problems; we rely on guests to notify us of any issues so they can promptly be rectified. We always endeavour to ensure guests are offered alternative accommodation if there is a problem and pride ourselves on great customer service as other reviews clearly show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed for 4 night, downstairs lovely, upstairs very dated indeed. Room was ok but very old indeed, bathroom needed lots of attention. Very typical of a shearings hotel. First impressions good but look
Closer. Male receptionists were brilliant. Mature lady was less helpful. No sign of any management at all. Restaurant staff worked very hard indeed. Mostly polish etc, but obviously overworked and probably underpaid. We felt sorry for them. Customers around us complaining all the time but no management presence at all - shame on them. Could be so much better.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairreviewees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with all aspects of your stay. If you had notified us of the issues within your bathroom these would have quickly been rectified. I am bemused that you did not find all of our highly trained staff friendly and helpful. Several reviewers often comment on the friendliness of our staff, regardless of their nationality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
19.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing