We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing, enjoyable weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
England
2 reviews
“relaxing, enjoyable weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and decided a weekend break would be lovely. On arrival at the hotel we found the car park at the side to be full so had to park across the road where the lodges are. This was only a little inconvieniant. The hotel reception was straight from a Faulty Towers sketch except Basil was much shorter! There was a definate Cybil and Manwel in there but no little rats popping out of the cheese biscuit tin.
Our room had a lovely lake view and was clean and well presented. The bed was a bit on the old side and certainly needs a new mattress but we coped.
The food was very good and the waiters/waitresses were all well presented although they nearly all only spoke broken English. The prices at the bar are very expensive for what you get. We had two large glasses of Rose wine and it was awful and cost £9.95. Yes I did return it and got two very weak southern comforts instead but at least we could drink these.
On the Saturday morning we had booked compliementary passes for the Oxley's Spa. This is free from the hotel but you have to book a time slot and leave a deposit for the card. They don't tell you this on the website. Oxley's was fantastic. Th facilities were outstanding and we both booked a massage which we paid for seperately from the hotel. My husband rated his as the best he had ever had except from me of course!
We went into Keswick town for a short walk around the shops but to be honest unless you need to buy walking items the shops are all the same.
The countryside around the area is outstanding and lots to see. We have two dogs but did not take them this time but this hotel does offer that service and I would defo consider taking them next time.
There is no real entertainment at the hotel in the evenings but on Saturday night there was a pianist and singer. They were ok but catered for the very much older persons than us. I think we were the youngest there at being only 50.
For the price we paid we were very satisfied. Make sure you check out Oxley's spa. It is only a short drive from the hotel and really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a lae view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    255
    128
    75
    55
See reviews for
101
397
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a perfect relaxing weekend stay at this hotel and cant fault it! From the excellent location with stunning views, to the staff who were really friendly and efficient, with special thank yous to susan and mark. As a wheelchair user (with a few steps walking ability) i found the facilities very good downstairs, ramps for access and excellent toilet, the lift was small but adequate, room was large but no special adaptions, so would not recommend for more severly disabled. Food was of an excellent standard with a good choice. Loved that we were able to take our dog with us, will definitely be going back next year for a longer stay at this hotel.......keep up the good work everyone 10/10!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend! I will pass on your kind comments to Susan, Mark and all of the catering staff. We do have two fully adapted rooms on the ground floor with adapted WC facilities which could be more suitable for you on your next visit, please call us if you would like this to be arranged. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you (and the dog!) in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just back from a 4 night midweek stay. First impressions not good, older receptionist very short with us - not good after a long journey! Room cold and had to request heater (which did arrive and sorted out the room). Great view, location and good food - apart from Monday night - was it chef's night off we wondered? Excellent service in restaurant. no real atmosphere in bar - shame as location is good. Just checked bar bill - and was charged for a bottle of wine we didn't have. Shame it has left us with a bad impression. not sure whether we want to go back to another Shearings after all of this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a long weekend at the Der went water hotel we had upgraded and had a good sized room with a good view of the lake room 114,the room was clean, bathroom of a good standard towels changed every day could not fault it.Hotel staff were all pleasant breakfast on the Saturday morning was busy and some older residents were very quick to complain but a short wait in the lounge area was all that was required,we have had the same service in five star British hotels, if everyone turns up at once that's what happens the dining room staff were pleasant at all times and very apologetic for even the shortest delay.Food was good hot and varied with a reasonable wine list the bar staff were equally pleasant and polite at all times the weather during our staff was glorious so this helped too.Lovely surrounding
scenery and a perfect location for touring the area .We would love to return . One small complaint,we have a dog , but we were a little disturbed at times by dogs barking when the owners had left them to have a meal ,this was only occasional and had no disturbances at night ideal hotel to take your dog as plenty of areas to walk your dog in the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a lake view room and or superior room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicestersupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having recently stayed in this apartment opposite the main hotel, I feel compelled to warn others before they consider booking at this awful place!! The only decent thing that I can say about the apartment is that the decor has been maintained over the years. Having said that, the rest of the two bed-roomed apartment needs to be completely updated. The windows in the bedrooms and kitchen were extremely difficult to open and close. All of the window fixtures were loose and in need of replacing. The window in the lounge was locked due to having a crack in the pane. Why this couldn't have been fixed is another matter for debate. Because of this we had to borrow an electric fan from the hotel as it was very hot sat in on an evening after being out all day. The two en-suites were extremely disappointing. The shower mixers on the bath were totally shot away. They were extremely stiff to operate and only 75% of the time produced any hot water. The times that hot water came through were enough to suddenly scald you. The glass partitions on both baths had their rubber strips missing which meant that every time you took a shower, the floor would get soaking wet, causing a slip hazard when getting out of bath. The toilet seat in one en-suite was very loose, and one of the towel rails was hanging off the wall. The tiles over the baths were covered in mould. The boiler in the kitchen needs replacing as it cannot handle both showers being operated at once. I had to spend 30 minutes on arrival hacking away ice in the freezer compartment of the fridge. The fridge had a shelve missing so we couldn’t store milk upright inside it. It also needs replacing along with the boiler. The cooker needs a damn good clean out as it stank out the apartment with unions when we decided to cook a meal one evening. The only positive thing that I can say is that we had milk, orange juice, bread, and some fruit provided by the hotel on arrival. When I politely pointed out these faults to reception, I was met with a couldn’t care a less attitude by the member of staff. The food in the hotel restaurant was overly expensive…£18.95 for a sad little Sea Bass!
The final straw was when we came back from the pub on our last night of our stay, only to find a pile of dogs mess on the carpeted stairs leading to our apartment. The animal belonged to one member of staff who live in at the apartments. Yes, it was cleared up within 10 minutes of us complaining, but it was an awful thing to come back to after having a lovely meal up the road at the local pub. Needless to say we won't be staying here again. Avoid this place and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkimber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
I am surprised at your review as we normally receive such positive reviews about the standard of our apartments and good food we serve in the hotel. We tried our best to rectify as many of the maintenance issues you had during your stay and apologise that the remaining problems could not be rectified. Whilst we happily take dogs in the apartments, it is the responsibility of their owners to clean up after them and occasionally accidents happen that are cleaned up immediately. The offending animal was unknown but not belonging to a member of staff as suggested. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having gone to this hotel for over 20 years, I now find it has been taken over and destroyed by Shearings. Still the same building, in the same place, but all the extras have been cut away - accountants have been allowed to do their worst. The menu has been pruned back, quantities have shrunk and the whole atmosphere of the place has changed. None of the staff seemed happy and few of the regulars thought they would be back. I won't either, as I always went there for an autumnal treat. This was no treat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doubleoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are frequently fully booked with both new customers and our regular guests who have been visiting the hotel for several years, who all comment positively on the refurbishments we have carried out, the standard of food and the fantastic service delivered by our long serving members of staff. I would therefore disagree that the hotel is “destroyed”. On the contrary, the hotel is much better value with some excellent offers throughout the year, and now also has a modern and relaxed atmosphere. I don’t feel that the “extras” you speak of make any impact on the overall enjoyment of a stay at the Derwentwater hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

this hotel was part of trip to the lakes , only for a couple of days . once we had located the hotel (with the aid of sat nav) we were very pleasantly suprised by the hotel and its grounds. the large rear garden are really nice , with a long rustic pathway leading down to waters edge.the staff are all very pleasant and helpful , also the food is of good quality, again offering a gluten free option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing