We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently spent a long weekend with friends at this hotel and throughly enjoyed ourselves. The Staff were friendly and curteous and the room was spacious, warm and comfortable. We had a very large bed and decent size bathroom. We had a few hiccups with the shower but nothing major. The meals were good with plenty of choices on the menu both for breakfast and evening meal. We found the bar prices a little high but most hotels do the same thing, instead of encouraging people to stay in the hotel for drinks in the evening by tempting them with reasonable drink prices, they hike them up and people go out to try and find a cheaper option. All in All we really enjoyed it and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber64dronfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is good to hear that you had excellent weather on your long weekend and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your meals and that you found my staff was both friendly and courteous. Our bar prices are similar to other hotels in the local area. I hope that you return to the Derwentwater in the near future.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel located in a quiet backwater a short walk to the lake and ferry point, Keswick is a pleasant walk of approximately 20 minuets. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was good for breakfast but average for dinner. We enjoyed the conservatory with it's pleasant views across the lake to the hills beyond. The room was a little dark and small with good services (shower etc.) although some of our party did complain of low water pressure in their shower. If we were to return to this hotel we would consider a larger room with lake view. Our party of eight, had a wonderful long weekend enhanced by fabulous weather.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your review of your group holiday. I am glad that your party had a wonderful long weekend in our stunning location. I am thrilled that you found the staff very friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the restaurant and the amazing views from our conservatory. I look forward to meeting your party again in the near future.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We thouroughly enjoyed ou 4 day break, the hotel was very comfortable ,cleanand accessible. The staff were all very good , the food in the restaurant was excellent and the bar was well stocked.The weather was not kind but we managed to get out every day. The only complaint was the poor lighting in ou bedroom, not able to read in the evenings.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDTLA232BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Many thanks for your review and I am sorry to hear that the weather was poor during your stay. We use low energy bulbs at the hotel that are environmentally friendly, we can offer a higher voltage bulb upon request to aid your reading if you require this on your next visit. It is pleasing to hear that the staff were very good and that the Bar and Restaurant were to your liking. We have now just refurbished the restaurant to give it an even more vibrant theme. I look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Friendly and efficient welcome on arrival. public rooms large, bright and well maintained. Good choice of food on menus and food very good. Efficient and friendly restaurant staff. Bedrooms well appointed and comfortable but in need of redecorating (but don't let this put you off). Excellent value for money. Bar prices a little high but local pub if you like to have a drink. Nice grounds and superb location for walking or sightseeing. We hope to visit again in the future and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments about our public rooms and our food. It is also nice to hear that you found my restaurant and Reception staff both efficient and friendly. We do have a rolling programme of redecoration within the hotel but it is good to hear that you found your room comfortable and well appointed. I look forward to you visiting the Derwentwater again and I am particular pleased to hear that you will recommend us.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our extended family stay in the Derwent every year; we love the conservatory, the views and find the staff very efficient and helpful.

We have just returned from a weekend break, the food on the Saturday was better than the Friday but the breakfasts were delicious with plenty of options. The restaurant staff were very helpful

The only down side for us was since the hotel has changed to Coast and Country it is more difficult to book for family rooms. We were required to book Deluxe Rooms to add a child in each one but the family room was actually smaller and you needed to book that to have 2 children in it. This did not seem logical and previously the hotel were much more flexible and pragmatic...it also meant the cost was higher as deluxe rooms are obviously more expensive.

We are not dog lovers ( sorry) but there was absolutely no problems with dog smells as others have reported and our rooms were all clean . Yes some of the decor is abit dated but we think this adds to the character.

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your honest review and it is pleasing to hear that you always stay at the Derwentwater because of the stunning location, views from the conservatory and that you find the staff of a high standard. Our family rooms are available to be booked both direct at the hotel and also through shearings, subject to availability. I am pleased that you recognise that there are no problems with the fact that we allow dogs into our hotel. I look forward to meeting you all again next year, if not before.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel. The conservatory, dining room and reception has recently been refurbished which is very nice. We booked a five day Mon-Fri deal and upgraded our room to a lakeview. The room was clean but very tired although the view to the lake was a nice extra. We had fresh towels every day and there was tea making facilities, TV but not digital and basically all that you would need in the room. We also booked early and duly enjoyed £50.00 towards bar snacks and refreshments and a nice bottle of wine and chocolates when we arrived. Not bad for the price we paid for a five day holiday.
The food was nicely presented and enjoyable and after evening dinner the coffee and tea is set up in the conservatory where lovely low couches and tables are there for you to relax. Staff friendly and helpful. I noticed that some of the reviews are less than kind...Its a shame as we found very little to complain about. The hotel is also near Keswick (20 mins walk) so there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a lake view but there is an upgrade fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romacaldwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, how pleasing to hear that this is the third visit to us. I am glad to hear that you found us value for money and that you enjoyed our winter deal of £25 per person inclusive credit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your lake view from your bedroom and that it was worth the upgrade.
I look forward to your fourth visit.

Regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Having spent weekend 'Winter wonderland" s for a number of years, we had been put off returning since Derwentwater Hotel had been taken over by Shearing’s by the adverse reports on this site.
However since we had not managed to find a better hotel in other parts of the Lakes since, we decided to give it a try at the end of January 2012.
For the first time we have to feel let down by tripadvisor reports, how misleading. OK the menu is not as good, no soup course, the breakfast smaller, but the same high standard of rooms ( Although the restaurant decor is lacking ) the staff are professional and I am sure they have the same duo on the organ on the Saturday evening in the conservertory.If it was the old Derwentwater hotel it would be at least 50GBPs per night dearer, so for the money I could recommend all past holders of the loyalty card to give it another try.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikeandrews55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Many thanks for your review. I am so pleased that you have decided to give the Derwentwater Hotel another try after you had been a regular beforehand. The restaurant has been completely refurbished which now offers a vibrant feel. The rooms are still of the same standard infact the Delux rooms are of a higher standard than before. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you become a regular once again

Kindest regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £51 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing