We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eddie m” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“eddie m”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

we booked ourselves a superior room at this hotel after reading about how modern and comfortable they are,
we found our allocated room 112 very dated, no flat screen as advertised,seating had torn fabric on the arms,the bathroom had a missing grab rail for access into the shower also the bath panel was cracked and split not what we expected for a superior room.
It felt as if we had traveled back to the 70's

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like your room. Room 112 is in fact a Deluxe room which offers unrivalled views over Derwentwater, this room is classically appointed and is one of our most popular rooms, however I will investigate the room standards again following your comments. Our superior rooms are indeed all decorated in a modern style and have a 32” Flat screen Television.

Regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    255
    128
    74
    55
See reviews for
101
396
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel end of July as a birthday treat for my husband. The room was quite spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities, the decor rather dated. The evening menu was poor as only 3 meals to choose from one of which was vegetarian there was a menu with lots more choice but had a supplement to pay as wasn,t included in the bed breakfast and evening meal we paid for.
As we were leaving on the Sunday morning i walked outside to the car park and had a nasty fall on a very shiny grid cover as it had been raining and would like to warn other guests as i cut my hand, bruised my knee and hurt my shoulder, other elderly guests may not be so lucky and could have broken bones as a result of this. I have contacted the hotel company who informed me this path is not their responsibility but the local council which has been reported to them before and have not as yet reponded.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your fall on path close to the hotel and I do wish you a very speedy recovery. I am pleased however that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the bedroom to your liking. We do have a table d'hote menu which is included in the half board package which has a choice of three mains, however I do hope that you enjoyed our extensive A La Carte menu which offers guests that extra choice.

Once again I do hope that you are ok after your fall and I look forward to seeing you again in the future

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We only stayed for one night (with dog) prior to taking over our holiday cottage, but we will definately come again. Reception staff were really helpfull and a pleasure to talk to.The room was tired decoration wise but it was clean plus bed was lovely and comfy and it had all we needed for the night, some good things to do magazines in the room too which was a great help. The shower and bath had really good water pressure, which is good as husband likes a good shower. We had our evening meal in the hotel, my only gripe was the lack of vegetarian choice, only 1 option on both menu's and one of those not available so I had no choice but to have what was available. Hubby as a meat eater was fine lots of choice, both our meals were well made and tasted lovely and were of adequate portion size for us. Breakfast had plenty of choice from porridge to full English to suit all tastes. We had a short explore round the grounds which looked lovely despite the weather the Lakes have endured this summer, though time did not permit a detailed explore. Would like to stay again and experiance the Spa at their sister hotel it looked good in the pictures. Lastly the dog enjoyed her stay too, I am sure she would recommend it too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am glad that you had a pleasant overnight stay and enjoyed the facilities in both the room and the hotel. I am glad that you found the menu varied and to your liking and that Breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of choice. Hopefully next time you will visit us for longer or if staying in a cottage is preferable, the Manor apartments opposite may be more suitable

regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

we stayed three nights having booked the best room in the hotel at a cost of £490-00. on arrival my wife asked where the dining room was to be told where it has always been. fortunately for that member of staff I did not hear the comment.On entering the room it was obvious it had not been hoovered and the carpet was filthy.There was wall paper hanging off the wall and the toilet only flushed if you could get the handle in the right position. dinner the first night was a fish cake or a small though piece of pork.On speaking to a fellow guest he said the previous nights meal had been inedible the two following nights meals where if anything worse.I did not complain to the manager as I thought it would be a waste of time but on my return home wrote to the directer in charge of complaints not asking for any compensation but reporting this terrible experience and guess what he had not the decency to reply. so be warned

Room Tip: book in at any other Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Norman,

I am sorry that you did not approach me during your stay, and I am sure that our customer care department will contact you regarding your letter.
My staff are highly trained in customer care so it saddens me to hear about they way your wife was talked to, this is unacceptable and I apologise if this happened.
Our table d’hote menu offers three main courses and a choice to upgrade to the A La Carte menu which has twelve choices, not just fishcake or a pork chop. As you can see from lots of the reviews our food is normally of a consistently high standard.
Regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a week in the Grange which is one of the apartments owned by the hotel across the street. It had passes for the local spa, which we used for free. The swimming pool was lovely as was our back massage treatment. The flat was clean, tidy and well-appointed with trouser press, toiletries etc.The weather was appalling but the heating system was great. However, the bed was so hard my husband had to curtail our walks as his back was in spasm. (The massage helped but it cleared up after one night at home.)
Our main complaint was the disappointment over meals in the hotel. It was our wedding anniversary and my husband asked the hotel to put champagne in the flat, which they did, adding a card. Very nice. We booked dinner that evening, intending to have the table d'hote advertised in the Guests' Handbook. We were refused that option. Only HOTEL guests were allowed to have the table d'hote. We had a very embarrassing conversation at the table with other guests listening to us being treated as second class citizens. The restaurant manager was adamant that she could not allow us the menu we wished so we had the a la carte menu, it being too late to go elsewhere. In the event, the food was very indifferent and certainly not worth the prices charged. We never ate there again.
The restaurant manager obviously realised that the refusal - and public humiliation - had spoiled a special day. She phoned the flat later and cut the bill in half, which was a good gesture but didn't change our feeling of being treated as inferior guests.
Someone came in to the flat when we were out and removed the table d'hote menu from the Guests' Handbook.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your review on your stay at the Derwent manor Apartments. Grange is a two bedroom apartment and it is good to know that you found the apartment clean and tidy and had good facilities. Guests at the Manor can get the table d'hote menu for £10 per person or they can use the main a la carte menu as priced, i am sorry about the confusion during your stay but it is good to hear that Sam the restaurant manager offered you a discount on the a la carte menu. From September guests will be able to get 25% off the Derwentwater hotel a la carte menu during their stay, with the table d'hote available to hotel guests only.

I do hope that you return to the manor in the near future.

regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Third visit to this hotel, excellent location close to Keswick infact a nice easy walk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a superior room with excellent views of garden and lake excellent facilities the only thing that spoilt it was a shower that had really poor water pressure and had inadequate space for the shower. Will visit again!

Room Tip: Second floor, lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tel1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you tel1062 for your review.

Our superior rooms are very popular and I am glad that you found excellent facilities, i will investigate the poor water pressure problem you encountered. I will pass on your lovely comment about the staff being friendly and helpful.

I look foward to your fourth visit in the near future

regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My friend and I took four 80 plus year olds to this hotel in May 2012 for our twice yearly "golden girls " weekend. We all had a fabulous time and can't praise the staff enough. They were all very helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
The food was very good - lots of choice, well-cooked, lots of it and always hot.
My mum is in a wheelchair and has to use oxygen, so we had room 1 on the ground floor which had plenty space for us to move around and when we asked for an extension cable for her oxygen machine it was promptly delivered.The only problem with it was no outlook as it is below street level so the window is frosted, but to be honest we weren't in it much!
The others were upstairs (there is a lift) and all were happy with their facilities.
The setting is delightful, with beautiful gardens leading down to the duck pond and the lake beyond.
All in all, good value at a reasonable price

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcleary53, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am glad that you all had such a good time and that you found your stay good value for money. Our staff are highly trained in customer care and its good to hear that they made a good impression on your group. I will pass on your lovely comments to the head chef and his team.

I look foward to the 'Golden Girls' next visit

regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing