We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Derwentwater Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
178
291
172
117
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
291
172
117
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lake view roomcoast countryself cateringrestaurant staffhotel groundshalf boardlake districtshearings hotelslovely locationlovely walkminute walk into keswickweekend breakplenty of choicestunning viewsa lovely stayfull englishderwentwater
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Set in the most beautiful surroundings, this hotel is not to be missed. Good choice of breakasts and evening meals. Very friendly and helpful staff. Dog Friendly. We loved the walks which went right to the edge of the lake.
Lots to see and do in the area including a local bus service which went all round the villages. There is also a sister hotel which has a free pool and spa centre.

Room Tip: Access is quite good to rooms. You can ask for a room near to the lift if you have walking difficulties.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you fro the time you have taken in reviewing the hotel. Customer feedback is vital to us, and is always listen to.

I am delighted with your 5* review, and the comments within. I agree we have "the most beautiful surroundings"

I will ensure all the team get to see your comments and hope that you will be back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We spent 2 nights DB&B, 129GBP per person.
On arrival broken shower, missing mirror light, dust-filled radiator. But all repaired second day.
Slow dinner service, but friendly. Jose and Andy (?) (Roumanian) very efficient.
Only one chair in bedroom. A second chair could replace unnecessary trouser press.
The young staff at reception were polite.
Room doors tend to bang noisily, could disturb neighbours.
Excellent location. Hotel gardens extend to lake side.

Room Tip: Room 254 had partial view of the lake but Room 255 had no view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Derwentwater Hotel, following your 2 night stay.

I am suprised by your maintenance issues but am pleased they were adressed.

Our dinner service is deliberately relaxed and staggered, this is to create an experience which compliments our setting. I am pleased your waiters were efficient, and will ensure they see your comments.

I hope to see you again soon. In the meantime myself and the team will work hard, to improve the hotel so that next time you visit we will get a 5 star review!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four-night stay in this wonderful part of the Lake District. This is a lovely Coast & Country hotel with beautiful grounds, superb views and the whole stay was so peaceful.
Our room was clean and tidy, the food was very tasty and the staff were friendly and very efficient. The conservatory was a lovely place to sit and relax - when the sun came out it was even better to sit in the grounds and listen to nothing but the birdlife.
We especially enjoyed the chance to use the facilities at Oxley's - a ten-minute drive away - and no more so than after our seven-mile walk taking in Cat Bells! Keswick is a delightful town and is a twenty-minute stroll along a well-defined metal track.
The hotel's location lends itself to an array of hill-walking, water-based activities, cultural and general sightseeing. Thank you to all staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room - the sun comes in first thing in the morning and the views are fabulous
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Feedback is so important to us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with Coast and Country Hotels. Your comments are very positive, and I will ensure all the team get to see them - they deserve this praise.

We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful location, and the weather you had was amazing!

We will continue to work hard, and hope that next time you stay we can go that extra mile to make your stay worthy of 5* review rating.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is the nicest shearings hotel I have stayed at.It is set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views. The food was fantastic and with the friendly and efficient staff it made my stay very enjoyable. We were a 15 strong walking group and we sat together and served very quickly at meal times. Reception were very helpful and answered our questions expertly. It was so good we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavisboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review The Derwentwater Hotel, our guests views are important.

I am delighted that you enojoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. There are plenty more walks for you and your party! I will ensure all the team get to read your comments.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just come back from Keswick for our half term break. We have stay at The Derwentwater hotel's apartment. The location is perfect for exploring the Derwentwater . You can walk down to the lake side through the hotel garden . And only half mile to Keswick centre.The apartment is very spacious and clean.( yes it does needed update, but you get what you paid for.) staff are very friendly and helpful. We (party of six) have enjoyed our stay and have a great time. Love the place and love the Lake District .already booked our Autumn break .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 687Syau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your break.

Cath did mention that you had booked again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews