We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope this helps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Cheshire - England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hope this helps”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel has a very distinct character and clearly from the reviews some people like the place and some hate it. As such I provide the following FACTUAL information that might help people decide if it is for them.

Guests – I have eaten at the hotel a number of times and just stayed for a long weekend. On each occasion it has seemed to me that while there are certainly some younger guests most seemed to me to be over 55 with their being plenty of pensioners.

Food – I found this to be excellent. The breakfast is the typical cereals, juices and any cooked items from the usual selection with there being lots to choose from. The evening meals while not fine dining were very good and there was always a vegetarian item and lots of nice sweets. For coffee and tea you return to the main bar and serve your self so can have as much as you want.

Staff – All seem young, enthusiastic and keen to oblige.

Public Areas – While these have been re done as some time in the past few years, they are shown in pristine condition on the web site and this is now most certainly NOT the case!!! Yes they are very clean but they are really showing their age and some of the photos posted by past guests clearly indicate this.

Room – As with the public areas while these are clean and functional they are very dated. The room that I have just had was a time capsule of the 1980’s, built in wardrobe made of varnished pine with lots of peeling paint and wallpaper, again this is clearly shown by some of the photos posted by past guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonrwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest, and detailed review. Trip Advisor is used by us as a valuable tool to improve the hotel, and engage with our guests, as such we really appreciate the time guests take to review the hotel.

I am delighted to read about many of your comments, regarding the food, and team members - who are always keen to ensure the guests have a great holiday.

I have noted your comments about the rooms and décor and agree that some of our rooms could do with an update. We do have a rolling plan of upgrading rooms and this will continue, with 8 rooms being done this year representing almost 20% of the bedrooms plus the 10 others which have been refurbished in the last few years we are progressing along this programme.

I hope that we will see you again, and once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    257
    134
    78
    57
See reviews for
105
406
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is part of the Shearings "Coast & Country" chain of hotels. We stayed 2 nights DBB in a lake view room for which we paid a premium. The hotel is situated at the northern tip of Lake Derwentwater in the village of Portinscale. The hotel grounds extend down to the lake edge, a walk of about 10 minutes and the nearest town, Keswick, is accessible via a footpath and a 20 minute walk. The hotel setting is glorious , with easy access to most areas in the North Lakes.

Our room was on the second floor; was large, comfortable and with modern furniture in good condition. The en-suite bathroom was basic but clean, with what appeared to be 70's sanitaryware. The showerhead had seen better days and dispatched an uneven stream of water which could not be improved by cleaning.

Staff were generally friendly, efficient and helpful.

Regarding food; breakfasts were very good with a reasonable choice of both hot and cold dishes. Staff were efficient in delivering coffee and specially ordered items. The food was of a good standard and well-presented. There was no evidence of tables being left uncleared; as identified in several reviews from about a month ago. Dinner was a bit more of a problem. Guests booked in for DBB were offered the table d'hôtel menu, but could choose from a la carte at a discount. We stuck to the basic menu for the two nights we stayed. The menu is too ambitious, giving an initial impression of upmarket dining; which is not maintained through the process of cooking and presentation. For example, my wife choose a vegetable moussaka for main course. This looked fine when presented, but mainly consisted of blobs of quark together with a small quantity of potato and aubergine, covered in cheese. The whole dish was flavourless because of a complete absence of tomato sauce. On the previous evening she had chosen fish & chips. The fish was tasteless and the batter soggy, possibly because the food had been cooked earlier and kept warm for some time.

Would we stay again? Probably not. Maybe we would consider a future visit to the hotel because of its picturesque location, but certainly only on a B & B basis next time.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review. It is fantastic that you have spent so much time to give readers a thorough insight into the hotel - from you viewpoint.

I am pleased to see that you found your room to be clean as well as the team friendly, helpful and efficient, this is important to us.

I am disappointed with your comments about the food, and we will take this on board as it is important to us all at the hotel that guests enjoy their meals. On the whole our food receives good reviews but we are not perfect and will look into your comments.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

myself and my boyfriend had an overnight stay here, first impressions were that this hotel is for the older person. our room was beautiful, with an amazing view over the garden and marina in the distance. Breakfast was lovely, and the waitresses very friendly. The only negative was and i hate to point this out was the receptionist! on leaving she didnt ask how our stay was, if we had a good experience or how our room was, we presumed she was having an off day because we forgot to hand our key in and had to return a short time later with it and she didnt even bat an eyelid! id stay again, beacause the room was so quiet and spacious and reasonably priced....

Room Tip: we had a corner room over the conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and the amazing views the hotel offers. I will ensure the team get to see your comments; they do deserve praise for their hard work.

I have made a note of your negative note regarding the receptionist and will be sure to re-iterate how important the reception team are in providing guests with a polite, friendly and professional service and thank you for drawing this to my attention. I sure this is a rare occurrence but will still mention it.

I hope you will join us again where I hope we are able to further improve and get a 5* review from you.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for the one night, but we had a warm welcome from the gentleman on reception.
We had our 11month daughter and dog with us, and were treated wonderfully by all staff.
The waiters/waitresses in the breakfast room were all so friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself was set in a lovely quiet area, with a gorgeous little garden and path leading to the lake.
Sadly we only stayed for one night, but we WILL return for a break away.
Highly recommend to anyone either families with children/dogs, or even just couples looking for a lovely relaxing break away!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel, following your stay. Feedback is very important to us.

I am over the moon to read you had a great time and have rated us 5*. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all the team, particularly Peter who welcomed you to the hotel.

I hope you will get the chance to visit again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a weekend break here. What a lovely hotel. Despite a slight hiccup with our allocated room was soon offered an excellent alternative. Staff very friendly and helpful. We love the Lakes and will definitely return. The walk down to the lake through the grounds was superb. Used Oxleys Spa which was great. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, the views of our guests is vital to help us improve the hotel, and gain a deeper understanding of the areas of improvement.

I am pleased to read that you had a good time, and the team looked after you. I will ensure all the team get to see your comments and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked two nights dinner , bed & breakfast for our wedding anniversary with upgrade to Lake View which was worth it !! Took our dog for first time to a Hotel and this turned out really well and was stress free .Staff , especially in dining room were lovely and very professional , nothing seemed to be a trouble for us or other guests. Grounds were beautiful and well kept with good walk for the dog in the mornings. Yes Hotel was a little tired in some areas but clean, good value for money and a lovely break.

Room Tip: Lake view room on 1st Floor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonirvine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It gives us all great satisfaction to read that you have had a great time, it makes all the hard work worth while!

I will ensure all the team get to see your feedback, and keep up the good work.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location for Keswick and the northern lakes. It's garden and views of the lake are great make sure you ask for a lake view its worth it even if you have to pay a supplement. The rooms are clean spacious and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is good quality and served over two hours which is flexible depending on what you are doing. It's quiet and does have an older clientele which was fine for us especially if you are there to holiday by walking the fells or surrounding areas as you can get to sleep without rowdy guests disturbing you. it is a little tired and maybe ready for a little decorating in parts but we love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view its amazing and well worth any supplement also higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is very pleasing to read that you had a great time.

Your comments regarding the "fantastic location for Keswick and the northern lakes" is very accurate. I believe our position is second to none!

We are in the process of updating some more areas of the hotel which hopefully you will notice on your next visit.

I will ensure the team see your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing