We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, accommodation slightly disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, accommodation slightly disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location ,ideal for exploring Northern lakes. Hotel is situated near to lake edge but is misleading as it is a path with tall trees and grass etc you can barely see the lake . Restaurant staff were excellent,efficient and very friendly, reception staff were polite but not over welcoming. The room was ok although very dated in decor. The bed was horrendously uncomfortable resulted in both of us coming home from holiday with bad backs. The bathroom was in serious need of updating ; cracked sink, broken floor tiles,black grout and sealant ,flaky paint ,rusty radiator and filthy taps. The hotel had a very tired old feel to it , with the exception of the bar and dining room which have been refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to review The Derwentwater Hotel.

Your feedback is vital in helping us improve the hotel.

All your comments will be used constructively and discussed at our next management meeting.

Once again thank you

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    258
    129
    77
    57
See reviews for
104
402
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the August bank holiday and were very impressed. The location is excellent, it's a short walk to the lake or 15 minutes into Keswick. The grounds are very tranquil and there is loads of space in the lounge area for taking it easy. The room was clean and decorated in a modern style. The bathroom was very spacious and also clean. Breakfast is great with a good menu choice, the staff were very prompt and curteous. Overall this is a very nice place to stay and we would definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will ensure your review is passed onto the team, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my daughter. The room was spacious but looking a bit dated...the ceiling paper was hanging down. The ensuite was large but there was a step up from the bedroom which resulted in stubbing my toe at night! The shower, over the bath was adequate but the suite a bit dated. Breakfast was served in the dining room and there was a limited breakfast buffet with stale cereal, no fruit or cheese and a cooked menu. The wi fi, even in the lounge, was almost non existent and the mobile phone network poor. Dinner was served very early and tea and coffee available for free in the lounge. DVDs are available to borrow for free but not all rooms have a dvd player. The grounds were pretty and there was onsite parking. The hotel seemed to attract a more elderly clientele.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iguana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Your comments have been noted and will be passed onto the team. We appreciate some of our rooms are in need of some refurbishment and are part way through a program to address this, we do though pride ourselves on high levels of cleanliness and a friendly team.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Upon arrival my first thoughts were dimmed by an ill-fitting carpet in the long foyer but very friendly and amiable staff who were always courteous and efficient at all times in carrying out their duties during our stay.
We went to our room which had probably last seen decoration in the late 1990's and this is what lets this hotel down, the fact that my room had a VHS video recorder in it said it all. The whole place is tired like a sleeping giant of a bygone age and is ripe for re-awakening with a large overhaul.
Whilst checking out I spoke to the manager who was a very charming man who was well aware of the condition of the hotel and was keen to impress that the hotel was under a rolling refurbishment, this is good news and not undeserving of a Hotel which such Victorian stature.
This hotel could be, with some investment an excellent place to stay as it is it is a friendly well staffed hotel with a desperate need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is good to hear guest opinions and read their thoughts on the hotel.

We have got an on-going refurbishment plan which in progress and has seen a considerable amount spent on the hotel, even very recently when 8 bedrooms were refurbished.

I will pass on your comments about the staff to the relevant team members and thank you for mentioning the team. They deserve credit.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently stayed for a short break in Buttermere apartment in the Derwent Manor apartments and having stayed in this apartment before knew what to expect. On this visit I was accompanied by my daughter and granddaughter and they were pleasantly surprised at how well the apartment is equipped (thank you for the sheets and blankets on the beds rather than duvets, very much appreciated in the hot weather) and the character of the building. We received a warm welcome at reception and were allowed to check in half an hour early as the apartment was ready. All of the apartments were booked but the allocated parking means that you are not jostling for spaces, and there is surprisingly little noise from the other apartments - none at all at night. We were very lucky with the weather and grateful for the lovely gardens with the picnic tables in front of the building as no-one felt like walking very far in the intense heat. We lunched in the hotel on two occasions and the food was tasty, well presented and quickly served by the efficient and friendly bar staff. Each evening we walked through the hotel conservation gardens down to the Lake and it is a lovely walk - the only thing that could improve it would be the reinstatement of the benches or some form of seating by the Lake and the river - I realise the previous seats were probably swept away during the last floods but it would be nice to see something replacing them. During our last stay in September 2012 the (then) manager had started a programme of improvements to the hotel in general and this was obvious in the improved quality of the food and standard of service. We didn't meet the new manager on this stay but I'm sure he will be just as innovative as his predecessor and look forward to our next visit in September. We had to leave a night early because my granddaughter was ill, but despite this they enjoyed their visit so much they booked another break in October before we left- as they say 'actions speak louder than words'!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary words. It is great to read that a loyal and regular guest has enjoyed another stay with us.

I will make sure all the team see your comments; they will be equally as delighted as myself.
This coming winter we do indeed have plans to re-instate the benches down by the lake as well as a few other minor alterations in the grounds.

I am sorry you did not meet me on this visit, but rest assured I will be sure to see you in September.

I hope that your grand daughter is feeling better now.

See you again very soon!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights July 2013. Arrived at 1.45pm knowing check in was at 3pm but was informed in a no nonsense voice that we could not check in before 3pm. Started check in at 2.55pm and informed room would be ready in 5 mins.Cannot believe with people checking out at 11AM that all vacant rooms were ready at 3pm.
Up to room WoW great veiw across lovely gardens and the Lake.
Room badly needs updating, creaking floor boards,light fitting hanging from ceiling,wallpaper on ceiling hanging from corner which has had a leak from above.
Bathroom not nice we thought we had new black grouting and bath sealant but on inspection it was mouldy and peeling. Bed was comfortable and clean.
Staff were very good breakfast was exellent but evening meal poor.
This is a 2-3 star Hotel and putting a trouser press in the room does not make it a 4 star.
Very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Dont get room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Check-in is indeed from 3pm, and whilst the housekeeping team do try where possible finish earlier this is not always the case. With 47 rooms to clean the day which you arrived and priority on high levels of cleanliness we were unable to have them ready any earlier. I will consult the front office team regarding the "no nonsense voice" you have mentioned, it is vital we create a good first impression.

I am pleased you found the views to be pleasing, I very much agree that our views are fantastic.

I will investigate the comments about the room you were allocated, and I am disappointed that you left our hotel feeling disappointed yourselves. I cannot find any record of the issues you have raised being reported to the team, I know that they would have done their utmost to try and accommodate you with another room.

Your comments about food too do surprise me. We generally receive good comments about our food, of which the team take great pride.

Our hotel is a 3* Hotel and have never claimed to be anything different, we take pride in the clean and comfortable accommodation we offer, for very reasonable rates, in comparison to our competitors locally.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and once again thank you for the time taken to review the hotel.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in June at short notice. Room was fine. A bit tied and quirky but did the job more than adequately. The gardens at the rear and the spacious lounge and conservatory area help the relaxed feel of the hotel with ample parking. It is however ideally placed for some good walks, a nice cafe and pub are close by in the village and whilst giving the quiet feel of a small lake district village it is only a 15/20 min walk away from Keswick and all it has to offer. Prices can vary throughout the year but and it is worth monitoring offers but bottom line is would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roughguideLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we very much value your feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I agree with all of your comments!

See you again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing