We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It is easy to see this hotel is improving but it has a way to go. The restaurant and the lounge areas are spacious and modern : not all the rooms are. Ours. Certainly whilst clean and function has not been redecorated for a number of years. The shower whilst functional certainly didn't qualify as a power shower. However these are minor issues. The garden are spacious and the walk down to the lake on a morning of bright winter sunshine was a joy. Equally the walk into Keswick without traffic was a bonus. We stayed half board and the food was perfectly adequate. At the price of course it is not Michelin star quality. However the real bonus in the restaurant is the staff. Catolina and Jose could not have been more helpful. They had that knack of being friendly and caring without being in your face constantly.
This is a very good value for money hotel in a great location and ideal for touring or walking.

Room Tip: Take the footpath into keswick rather than drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am always pleased to hear what our guests have to say about the hotel.

Your review is both fair and constructive. I am delighted to see you mention our public areas which we have investee into, our restaurant team who are fantastic & the term "Value for Money" is exactly what we strive for.

Improvement across the hotel is vital to us achieving our goals and I have noted your comment regarding the room, and whilst some of the rooms could do with an update I hope it was still comfortable for you. We are aggressively tackling our refurbishment plan and on top of the 8 rooms refurbished in 2013 we and planning another 16 in 2014 making 60% of our rooms will have been done by this time next year. I hope this significant investment along with the operational improvements will be noticeable upon your next visit.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel shows to all that management has not upgraded the facilities or supervised the repairs / replacements carried out. The fixed head shower was in fashion in the 1970s and did not inspire you to believe that it had been recently cleaned. The toilet had been replaced but no one had bothered to make good the holes used by the previous installation. Only 1 out of 2 ceiling lights worked. Did anyone inspect this room before it was made available for letting - I doubt it. This attention to detail (or the lack of it) makes the difference between enjoyment and ratings. This hotel is graded 3 star but I would rate it at the low end of 2. However the bed linen and the towels were clean and fresh.

Food - well would you like warm reheated chips (which were hard) and the mushy peas ( the consistency of cold porridge)? We did not! The Breakfast was better but the toast was thin and hard. Shearings (who own this hotel) used to serve simple and wholesome food but this hotel could easy be bettered by a mobile catering van. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Select a room above the first floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to review the hotel following your short stay with us.

I am very suprised by your comments, particularly being there is no record that either the issues with the room or food were reported to my team who would have rectified the issues right away.

I know we can not get things right all of the time and am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

I take on board your comment and will take action where required however I do not understand your comment that "This hotel shows to all that management has not upgraded the facilities" We have refurbished 8 rooms this year and are planning another 16 in 2014 on top of having public areas which are all brand new!

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

You can tell it's good when visitors return, as we did in early November. It has a stunning location, bordering on Derwentwater with views from our room across the lake. You can take a stroll through the extensive grounds to the water's edge, from where there is an even better view along the lake.

Our room (no. 206) spacious enough to have a bay window and easy chairs was very warm and comfortable. The service throughout our 5 day stay was brilliant - the staff are very attentive, couldn't do enough for you. Lovely evening meal - there was always a traditional main course choice, together with more varied dishes, carefully presented starters and lovely desserts.

Only one small niggle - if you are very fussy you could find a few minor flaws in the paintwork, but when you consider the price we paid, the service we received, the lovely meals and the amazing views, overall delighted with our hotel break.

Amazing value, would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We upgraded to lake view - which we knew from experience would give us a generous sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haberdasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always good to read guests thoughts on the hotel.

I am over the moon to read your enjoyed your break & I will ensure the team get to see your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just had a lovely self drive half board 4 day break £139 each (2 couples in 60s), the hotel is in a nice location with some fantastic views when the rain and mist clear, we had booked 2 standard rooms and requested to be close to each other and were given 201 + 203 which were next to each other, both of which were big enough, clean and comfortable, although everything in our bathroom 201 worked ok it does need a few improvements.
All of the staff, reception, restaurant and housekeeping were very pleasent and helpful.
The half board option evening menu was varied and the food was excellent, if you wanted something different to the half board menu you could pay a small supplement and order from the normal restaurant al a carte menu.The breakfast was of hot and cold buffet stile and also very good.
We are now looking at other hotels within the group for another break (Similar costs) early next year and if the hotel, staff and food are of a similar standard we will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skydad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review. It is always important to get guest feedback.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will though investigate the issues you have mentioned. Thank you for drawing this to my attention.

I will ensure the team get to see your comments.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just come back after spending 2 nights there,fantastic place to stay,fantastic hotel,could not fault it in anyway,nice gardens,view of the lake,10 min walk to Keswick town centre,looking to go back in dec

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Monki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking to come back soon. The team and I are very proud so many guests come again and again.

See you soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

If you like walking,Cumbria and the Lake District is the ideal place to go.The Derwent Water Hotel is in a beautiful position just across the lake from Keswick The hotel itself offers a good standard of rooms and food. The staff are friendly and helpful with a wonderful conservatory leading out to gardens which go down to the lakes edge.Guests also have access to a good fitness and leisure centre 5 minutes drive away.We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and always enjoyed our stay whatever the weather.

Room Tip: For a special occasion an upgrade would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the lovely review. It is great to read your positive comments, I will pass them onto our team who will be over the moon.

Hopefully you will come to join us again soon.

Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had not stayed in Keswick for over 25 years and saw this hotel in a Shearings Brochure offering excellent deals. The locations and views of the Lakes were just what we were looking for.

The staff are wonderful, everyone so helpful and going the extra mile to make your stay so pleasant. The food was first class and varied, plentiful too.

The rooms could do with an upgrade, but this does not detract from the wonderful hotel and location.

Already planning our next stay here..........

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you, I am very proud to lead such a professional team. I will make sure your feedback is shared with them.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
19.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,123 reviews
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £47 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing