We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, hotel okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice location, hotel okay”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We went for a 3 nights stay at the Derwentwater Hotel, The hotel is in a great location with a 15 minute walk into Keswick. Has great grounds with its own lake also. Great for a morning walk with the dog.
The staff are great. We stayed B&B and the breakfast choice and quality was good with a cereal and fresh fruit buffet as well as the traditional full English, porridge, salmon etc.
The only down side to this hotel is the room, It needed slightly updating a little. The bed wasn't great with a creaky headboard, wallpaper was hanging off in different parts of the room and housekeeping wasn't great. We had a dog with us and obviously did a lot of walking and it was noticeable that in the 3 nights we stayed there the floor didn't get hoovered.
We also didn't get notified of how much it would be for our dog either.

The hotel overall was okay it just needs a little TLC and updating slightly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and I appreciate your comments about certain aspects of your room. The recent weather hasn’t helped in our continued preventative maintenance programme, I assure you however it is ongoing and I hope you will come back to see the improvements when you are next in the area.
I apologise that you were not notified prior to arrival about the additional charge for your dog, these charges are for the additional cleaning involved on departure to make the room and corridors good for the next guests. We hope this didn’t spoil your stay and that you will come and see us again soon.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    258
    134
    78
    57
See reviews for
105
407
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

No need for a car as you can walk from the hotel to the country or the town of Keswick-a nice stroll. The hotel has a big conservatory- looking down to the lake- where you can sit and read. The atmosphere is restful and relaxed. The staff are there to help but not intrude.If we can get booked in again we will be there like a shot. So convenient for a short break-just up the motorway and left. Only there for 4 nights so did not take advantage of nearby Oxleys?(sic) health centre/pool and fitness suite but other guests praised it,so keen to try next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we very much look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Derwentwater Hotel for Christmas and we had a fabulous time, its a dog friendly hotel and thats why we chose it. Yes, the place is a little tired and some of the rooms havent had a makeover yet, but its comfortable, the food is plentiful, its a great location and the best thing of all is that the staff are all so friendly, they simply cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: If you dont like dogs, bear that in mind, but its great if you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,
I’m so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Christmas with us and the team helped make it so. I completely agree with your comments regarding some of the rooms and we are working tirelessly to make the necessary improvements on a daily basis. We hope you will come back and that the improvements will be noticeable since your last visit.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boldon United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We havestayed at the Derwentwater Hotel before, and I must admit as a private hotel we did think it was becoming a bit jaded. We did, however, decide to give it another try as it has now been taken over by Shearings. Sadly, it is no better. The Derwentwater is situated in an idyllic setting and could be a fantastic hotel. Unfortunately, at the moment, is is in dire need of refurbishment.
The lounge, which looks out onto beautiful gardens, is cold and riddled with black damp patches. The modern boutique style furniture does not fit in with the traditional Lakeland building. The dining room, again,lacks warmth and atmosphere.
We stayed in a classic double room which was cramped, cold and also dotted with black damp patches. The safe was on the floor of the wardrobe and therefore almost inaccessible, wifi was limited to the reception area.
The evening meal was reasonable but the full English breakfast had obviously spent some of its time under ( or over) a heat source.
The staff, I'm pleased to say were charming, particularly Jose in the restaurant.
We will not be staying here again as we believe the hotel did not live up to our expectation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Boxjellifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,

I am so sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us, we are aware of the problems you mention with the Conservatory, but unfortunately given our location and the recent bad weather we have been experiencing, it has been proving very difficult to make the necessary repairs to the outside framework. We need a week or so of dry weather, then we will have this and other weather related work carried out, so hopefully you will come back and see these improvements, as well allow me the opportunity of turning your experience and view of our beautiful property around. I’m pleased to hear that the team and in particular Jose shone during your stay and I will certainly pass on your kind words.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First of all I had a number of e mails with Kelly from the hotel where I asked lots of questions. Kelly always replied and nothing was too much trouble. I never once felt as though I was a burden although I am sure she would have been busy. Excellent start.
First class customer service before and during our stay.

The hotel is fairly dated but this should not put you off. I was scared off the basic rooms seeing previous reviews so upgraded to one of the top rooms (108). The room is still pretty basic but was very comfortable with amazing views. To be honest we didn't spend that much time in there. Not much wardrobe door space for a winter break when you have more clothes. Overall the room was fine but maybe not worth the extra money.
The walk into Keswick is brill and takes 15/20 mins. Aqua Force was a great day out with a well earned drink at the Inn on the lake close by.
The waiting staff try really hard but I imagine there is a large turnover as there seemed to be new staff most days. The bar was understaffed but the guy who tried to run it was extremely amusing and kept running from place to place at times with food. I felt sorry for him but entertainment value was brill.
Food was either amazing or awful but to be honest mainly amazing. After an ordinary 1st night for me ( Cold mushroom dish followed by a cheese salad with no more than a dozen strands of grated cheddar ) I had the Luxorious ice cream as an upgrade that was not worth it. My wife upgraded her starter and main course and both were brilliant. It appeared as though you needed to upgrade to get anything decent. The main menu did improve and on the final night we both ate off the normal menu and had a really nice meal. Overall the dinners were fine and the first night was a blip.
Breakfast was lovely, plentiful and well prepared. Plenty of choice.
All in all we had a great time and would recommend especially location. The spa is lovely but we were lucky to find out it needed to be booked. There are 3x3hr slots and only 5 passes for each slot per day so you need to book. We were lucky and went all 3 days. Short drive but worth it. 4.30-7.30 after a day walking is lovely.
i did rate average but it is better than that and nearer to good maybe not very good.

Room Tip: 108 was our room. 114 is meant to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, thank you on behalf of Kelly for such glowing feedback, she is delighted to be mentioned on Trip Advisor! I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made full use of the Spa, which I have to point out is not actually owned by the Hotel, We have purchased six memberships for our guests and allocate five timeslots throughout the day to allow as many of our guests as possible the opportunity to use the facilities free of charge.

I was happy to see the first night ‘blip’ with the food in the Restaurant did not spoil your stay and have raised your comments with the Chef and his team, good to see things improved after that first night and it didn’t impact on the rest of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future and thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Their excellent Dining Room deserves 10 out of 10 - excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff, and catering for special dietary needs was dealt with superbly. The chef clearly sought to produce very good quality meals.
Our particular bedroom deserves 8 out of 10. The only criticisms were that the elderly shower did not work well, and that noise from adjacent bedrooms could be obtrusive at times. One has to accept that it is an older building, and there is little that Shearings could do to improve sound insulation.
Several dogs stayed with their owners during the week. Most were no problem at all.
This hotel is extremely well managed, and the staff were polite and helpful.
We would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important to us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the team to be providing excellent service, this will be passed onto the team who will be over the moon.

I will investigate your comments about the shower.

See you again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 3 nights stay at the Derwentwater Hotel and over all we had a good time. The hotel is in a great location in Portinscale just 20 mins walk into Keswick and is set in its own grounds by the lake. Great location for walkers like ourselves. With easy access to fells like Cat bells.

The staff are excellent and are very welcoming and willing to help. We stayed B&B and the breakfast choice and quality was good with a cereal and fresh fruit buffet as well as the traditional full English, porridge, salmon etc.

The only down side was the standard of our room. We got a very good deal at under £70 per person for 3 nights so did not expect to be blown away by the quality but there are something's that I expected to be better. Our bed was not very comfy at all with a extremely creaky headboard and only one rather dated duvet. Also we notice that although our bed got made every morning the floor in our room did not seem to get hoovered which wasn't great as we had moody boots from lots of walking. As some other reviewers mention some parts of the hotel seem a bit 'worn' and could do with some TLC. There were some dirty corners and pealing wallpaper but nothing terrible. We did plenty of walking so we did not spend much time in our room but these are some of the negatives that effected our stay.

Also we stayed with our dog who had to pay £20 for 3 nights which is more than most other B&B's that I have stayed in. It also would have been nice to have been notified of this charge before we got there as it is not hard to send an email with this information.

Overall we had a good stay but it was nothing more then just ok.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the considerable time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent 3 night stay. Your comments are valued.

I will go through each of your points individually and both pass onto the team and address where improvements may be required.

I agree with you that our location is perfect for accessing local walks, with many just a short distance from us with amazing scenery.

I hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing