We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We both enjoyed our 3 night stay.Very pleased with breakfast and dinner with plenty of choices on the menu.The room was well up to standard and with fine views of the lake.Very close to Keswick, just a short stroll to town and return by boat " Keswick Launch" .The local walks mean no need for the car.The peace and quiet we wanted we found .The staff were very helpful making our stay most enjoyable.The cost was reasonable and we would certainly come again.

Room Tip: The room with views of the lake,gardens and fells ticked all our boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very much appreciated and I am pleased to hear your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Spent 3 nights DBB with friends. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast choices were substantial and good quality. The dinner menu gave a range of choices that were very good value for money and enjoyable. The hotel is superbly positioned to allow a wide range of walks without driving anywhere and is only about a one mile walk from Keswick. The free use of spa facilities at the nearby Oxleys was a fantastic addition to the break. We felt very much at home and would certainly consider a return visit. Next time we may even consider taking the dog!!! She would love it even more than we did:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,
I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at the Derwentwater with your friends and that the team were on hand to assist. The Spa is indeed a nice addition to have, especially after a long walk so I am pleased that you made good use of this facility. Please do come again and you’re dog is more than welcome too, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I were really impressed by both the location and quality of this place. We stayed in the luxury apartments (Buttermere) and couldn't find fault. Everything had been thought of, a true home from home! At the price we paid I was slightly concerned about turning up and finding it to be of a low quality, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The hotel is modern and well decorated a lovely place to eat and drink; food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Staff were great, genuinely happy to help. Catherine (reservations manager) could not do enough to help when setting up our stay, she ensured we had spa passes for the nearby luxury spa (a must when staying at this hotel as the passes are free and entitle you to 10% off treatments too!) and that we could check in early to suit our plans. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

What lovely feedback, Catherine and the team will be delighted to hear such glowing comments and I thank you on their behalf for taking the time to post them on here. We hope you will come back to see us on your next visit to the Lake District and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went for a 3 nights stay at the Derwentwater Hotel, The hotel is in a great location with a 15 minute walk into Keswick. Has great grounds with its own lake also. Great for a morning walk with the dog.
The staff are great. We stayed B&B and the breakfast choice and quality was good with a cereal and fresh fruit buffet as well as the traditional full English, porridge, salmon etc.
The only down side to this hotel is the room, It needed slightly updating a little. The bed wasn't great with a creaky headboard, wallpaper was hanging off in different parts of the room and housekeeping wasn't great. We had a dog with us and obviously did a lot of walking and it was noticeable that in the 3 nights we stayed there the floor didn't get hoovered.
We also didn't get notified of how much it would be for our dog either.

The hotel overall was okay it just needs a little TLC and updating slightly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and I appreciate your comments about certain aspects of your room. The recent weather hasn’t helped in our continued preventative maintenance programme, I assure you however it is ongoing and I hope you will come back to see the improvements when you are next in the area.
I apologise that you were not notified prior to arrival about the additional charge for your dog, these charges are for the additional cleaning involved on departure to make the room and corridors good for the next guests. We hope this didn’t spoil your stay and that you will come and see us again soon.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

No need for a car as you can walk from the hotel to the country or the town of Keswick-a nice stroll. The hotel has a big conservatory- looking down to the lake- where you can sit and read. The atmosphere is restful and relaxed. The staff are there to help but not intrude.If we can get booked in again we will be there like a shot. So convenient for a short break-just up the motorway and left. Only there for 4 nights so did not take advantage of nearby Oxleys?(sic) health centre/pool and fitness suite but other guests praised it,so keen to try next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we very much look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Derwentwater Hotel for Christmas and we had a fabulous time, its a dog friendly hotel and thats why we chose it. Yes, the place is a little tired and some of the rooms havent had a makeover yet, but its comfortable, the food is plentiful, its a great location and the best thing of all is that the staff are all so friendly, they simply cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: If you dont like dogs, bear that in mind, but its great if you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,
I’m so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Christmas with us and the team helped make it so. I completely agree with your comments regarding some of the rooms and we are working tirelessly to make the necessary improvements on a daily basis. We hope you will come back and that the improvements will be noticeable since your last visit.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We havestayed at the Derwentwater Hotel before, and I must admit as a private hotel we did think it was becoming a bit jaded. We did, however, decide to give it another try as it has now been taken over by Shearings. Sadly, it is no better. The Derwentwater is situated in an idyllic setting and could be a fantastic hotel. Unfortunately, at the moment, is is in dire need of refurbishment.
The lounge, which looks out onto beautiful gardens, is cold and riddled with black damp patches. The modern boutique style furniture does not fit in with the traditional Lakeland building. The dining room, again,lacks warmth and atmosphere.
We stayed in a classic double room which was cramped, cold and also dotted with black damp patches. The safe was on the floor of the wardrobe and therefore almost inaccessible, wifi was limited to the reception area.
The evening meal was reasonable but the full English breakfast had obviously spent some of its time under ( or over) a heat source.
The staff, I'm pleased to say were charming, particularly Jose in the restaurant.
We will not be staying here again as we believe the hotel did not live up to our expectation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Boxjellifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,

I am so sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us, we are aware of the problems you mention with the Conservatory, but unfortunately given our location and the recent bad weather we have been experiencing, it has been proving very difficult to make the necessary repairs to the outside framework. We need a week or so of dry weather, then we will have this and other weather related work carried out, so hopefully you will come back and see these improvements, as well allow me the opportunity of turning your experience and view of our beautiful property around. I’m pleased to hear that the team and in particular Jose shone during your stay and I will certainly pass on your kind words.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
19.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing