We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but uninspiring meals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Derwentwater Hotel is located in a beautiful setting with mature gardens including ponds and a putting green. Some reviewers have said the hotel decor is "tired" - I agree but it did not bother us unduly. Our room was very spacious and had a superb view over the lake (we paid a little extra for this and it was worth it).
From the hotel you can walk to Keswick and carry on to do a circular walk round Derwentwater, about 8 miles, mainly flat walking.
Breakfast was good, but evening meals were uninspiring. The quality was acceptable but the menu was unadventurous and repetitive (perhaps some people are happy with this - we were not). With hindsight, we should have just done bed and breakfast and eaten out in Keswick's many restaurants in the evening.
All the staff were courteous and extremely helpful.
Just one other small negative - the internet connection kept dropping out in the bar, which was rather annoying, although the bar and reception staff did their best to keep me online.
On the whole, we would probably go back, but only on B & B or possibly to their self-catering apartments.

Room Tip: Lake view room costs a little extra but it is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H9105ULelaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is very valuable and used by all the team to try and improve the hotel.

I am pleased you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed the fantastic view.

I will though investigate your comment about our dinner menus, our food generally receives positive comments. But thank you for the praise of my team.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for The Derwentwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked and stayed at this hotel for seven nights. Externally the grounds and gardens are lovely but unfortunately the inside of the hotel is dated, tired and shabby. The stretched carpeting throughout the lobby area is a tripping hazard. The room we were allocated (106) is small with old rickety furniture. The lock had been forced off and roughly repaired but had not been re plastered. Paint is chipped. In fairness the room was clean but not particularly comfortable. The bed creaks with every slight movement. When the ensuite bathroom door was open it almost touched the end of the bed. The bathroom was basic and extremely small. The toilet did not flush well.
Breakfast was frugal. When bacon, sausage and egg was ordered it was, literally, one piece of bacon, one sausage and one egg. On the days when breakfast was buffet style it was not self-service but dispensed by a member of staff who provided the same singular items.
The staff, almost all of whom are Eastern European, were pleasant helpful and courteous. In our week at the hotel we did not see any member of management.
This hotel, in a beautiful location, needs a complete refurbishment. Until then we will certainly not be returning and could not recommend it to our friends.
Wi-fi only works in the lobby area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bengra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write about your stay following a 7 nights with us. Yours comments are important to us and invaluable to us.

I am disappointed that you found the hotel to be disappointing. I am surprised about some of your comments but I will investigate everything and hopefully make improvements for future guests. I know my team would have done their best to take action if these comments had been raised with them.

Our carpets are being addressed as a matter of urgency as in the recent hot weather they have "sweat" and come loose from the floor boards. On another note we are a long way through a process of upgrading all hotel bedrooms - a plan which we hope to complete next year.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just returned from the Derwentwater hotel. This is the second year we have stayed but it might be the last. The hotel is in a great location and accepts dogs which is the reason we chose it. As soon as you enter the hotel it looks dated. The carpets are a trip hazard to some people as they are starting to wrinkle up, this should be put right. We got put in room 102 which is a disabled room even though we did not need the facilities. On entering the room the first thing you notice is the smell of damp, confirmed by the paper peeling of the wall under the window and stains on the ceiling. The bathroom is very dated with a 1970s looking pink suite, poor fitting shower screen on the bath and mildew on the bath tiles. One of the windows in the bedroom does not open due to the mechanism missing. The bed was comfortable and clean.The dining room has the same problems with damp on the walls and ceilings. Last year we stayed in the Ruskin Suite and unless this has been repaired it had wall lights missing with wires just hanging out the wall, another dated bathroom , with loose taps and bath panel.
Putting the condition of the building aside, the staff were helpful and friendly. We were talking to other residents who have visited the hotel a few times over the years and they agreed the condition of the décor was going downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Davidappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your comments, All feedback is important to us.

I am sorry that you did not overall enjoy your stay, and your feedback will be used to improve the hotel moving forwards. Our carpets are being addressed as a matter of urgency and we are in the process of upgrading all hotel bedrooms - a plan which we hope to complete next year.

I am pleased that you found the team to be helpful.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed over the weekend of 18.07.2014 last minute booking to escape for a fresh air weekend with the dog.
The hotel is a bit dated but was very clean and comfortable and set within its own beautiful grounds where I spotted a deer on our first morning walk. The room had plenty of room for the dog to mooch around in, the room we stayed in was a designated disabled room which wasn't an issue but was a rather bit stuffy as one of the windows wouldn't open, but again not a major problem, read loads of reviews but I prefer to form my own opinion.
The breakfast was ample and with a decent choice. The staff are very helpful. Overall i would definitely stay again,

Room Tip: ask fro an upstairs front facing room to appreciate the view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeC37WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to give us your feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and found the team to be helpful - they really are an asset to the hotel.

I will investigate your other comments, and thank you for bringing these to my attention.

I hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have been to this hotel before, and enjoyed it as much on our 2nd visit. The food is very good, with plenty of choice, and if you decide on the A la Carte menu you get a discount off each course. All the staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. The room we had was a little dated, but that doesnt spoil your stay at all. There is a lovely walk through the garden to the lake. You can use the spa but that is about a 5 minute drive away, but well worth a visit, its very tranquil with a lovely pool. Will definately go back.

Room Tip: We had the Ruskin Suite, it has has three rooms, bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. The veiw is no...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to review the hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your feedback onto the team The "Ruskin Suite" is a room which I agree is a little dated, but still very comfortable. I am planning to refurbish the room in early 2015 - in the next stage of our uprade progra

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to the apartments and the first where we brought our dog.
We were slightly early on Saturday and made use of the conservatory menu which was varied for all the family to get something.
We checked into the apartment and found it to be as lovely as ever although in need of a little TLC.
Reported to reception that the bathroom door was jamming and they mended this immediately.
Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff here and the grounds and the walk to the lake are beautiful.
We look forward to our next visit which we will be booking soon.
Thank you all x

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, see you again soon!

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk outside Keswick, by the side of the Derwentwater lake. From the hotel you can walk through the hotel grounds to the edge of the lake. The hotel building is quite old so the interior layout reflects this. Our room was an odd shape but well decorated, very clean with modern furniture. The bathroom was a good size but looking a bit tired, rust on the shower head an a hairline crack in the washbasin but it all worked efficiently. Breakfast was a combination of buffet plus items ordered from the kitchen. There was a good selection and good quality. Our stay included an evening meal which was a set menu each night, with a choice of dishes plus the opportunity to go a la carte if you wanted. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and reception staff offered advice on local attractions including discounts on certain things. The only downside was that the bar did not serve real ales, only keg bitter plus bottles. But the Farmers arms is just along the road and Keswick is packed with pubs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is vital to us.

I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay and found the room to be clean, my team to be friendly and professional and the food good.

I have noted all of your comments and will pass them onto the team.

We ideally would like to add a real ale on our bar, hopefully on your next visit this will be fitted! I hope to see you back soon.

Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £90 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing