We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break to the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this break the night before departure - so room availability was scarce - and we ended up with not the best rooms - but understood this before we left as we were keen to stay. The best rooms overlook the lakes or the gardens - but of course with us being last minute we had rooms without a view - saying that the rooms were clean and well presented. The staff were very helpful and curtious at all times - they could have done no more. The rate we were offered at short notice reflected the room and for that we were grateful. Our overall stay was lovely - and so we have booked to go back in October (proof of an enjoyable stay). Certain areas need sprucing up - and I believe they are in the process of doing this - we saw evidence of this during our stay. Pity there is no more than one night entertainment - it would have been nice to have someone playing the wonderful piano there - not everyone wants the TV or radio. The location is second to none

Room Tip: Choose overlooking the lakes as this is quieter
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you 4* review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and are booked to return soon.

I will pass your comments onto my team, and we will continue as a team to push the hotel forwards.

See you soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for The Derwentwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been several times to the Derwentwater Hotel, but each time we go there have been more cutbacks. We always book a Lake View room and each time we are given the same room. This time the room had been newly refurbished, which was nice, as it had started to look a bit dated and tired. The down side to this is, there is now no safe in the room and we found this very useful when going out as you could leave valuables safely behind. Now the alternative is paying £1 per item to leave in the hotel safe, which is both expensive and inconvenient. The new furniture looks nice, but there is a distinct lack of storage space and if you were staying for a week, would find it hard to store your clothes. They always ask if you would like to order a paper, we do, and it has always been delivered to our room. This time they have changed all that and you have to collect your own, which is fine if they inform you of that. When ours didn't arrive we went down, only to be told the had already sold it, and it was only 9am. Lastly the Dining Room, when we first started going the menu for half board, was quite extensive, now you are down to 3 choices for each course, with an alternative menu for which you have you pay, granted you do get a small discount if you choose from this, simple things like the cheese board are now extras. While we were there, buckets were in use in the Dining Room, as water was coming through the ceiling from an upstairs room.

Room Tip: Lake View Room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lakelover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience when staying with us recently. Your feedback is valuable and appreciated.

I am pleased you liked the new bedrooms, but sorry that you felt there was not enough storage space - I will look into this comment. In regard to the hotel safe, we are in the process of adding the safes back into the new bedrooms (however the bedrooms are only recently completed and we are awaiting delivery of the new safes), I know this is important to our guests. I am unable to understand you comment of a "£1 charge" for storing items in the main hotel safe, this is not something we would do, and I will check with my team to ensure no guest is told this, I am sorry if you were given the wrong information.

Time to time our products and services do change, along with menus. This is all done with the aim of improving the customer experience and overall running of the hotel. General feedback shows most recent changes to have been well received by our guests, I am sorry that you do not agree.

Once again thank you for your comments. I will investigate all items and take corrective action where required to improve the hotel moving forwards.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely location with access to the lake, we booked this particular hotel as they accept dogs and we have three small dogs. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was ideal for the dogs with large gardens and a walk to the lake side, the dogs were allowed in the bar area at one side overlooking the gardens. The room was quite small and overlooked the front of the hotel, it was noisy early morning as delivery drivers were calling at the hotel. The bathroom was small too and quite dated. The bedding was nice and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and consisted of reasonable choice of cereal and fruit juice but no fresh fruit, cooked breakfast was cooked to order and was served quickly. I feel the hotel would benefit from a refurbishment especially the bedrooms and bathrooms but we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank KarenCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well. I have noted your comment about refurbishments, this is something we are getting on with - and by this time next year we aim to have refurbished all bedrooms.

I will pass your feedback onto the team.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have been coming to the Derwentwater Manor S/C Apps for the past 8 years, the location alone will see us return again. However the place is in severe need of a spruce although very clean as always the décor , fixtures and fittings are dated and tired (new flat tv , not before time ) Thanks to the Lady on reception for swiftly providing a brand new frying pan and for throwing the old pan straight into the bin !
The Hotel lounge / conservatory is nigh on unpleasant, damp stained carpet and seating, the carpet in reception is at best shoddy workmanship and nearly unsafe to walk on.
Entry to the s/c apps was previously a secure affair via a number punched in to a keyboard, this door is now ajar and the next door is a badly fitted affair .
Time for the hotel group to wake up and restore the hotel and s/c to its rightfull place as the Best lakes hotel with a WORLD CLASS location

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROWSBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences when staying with us. All guests views are very important to us.

I agree with you that we have a world class location, with lots to see and do very nearby. The scenery is great too.

I am sorry that you feel the Apartments have been neglected, and need a spruce. We are progressing along a plan of refurbishments which has seen 6 figures invested into the property both this year and last, with much more planned moving forwards. Part of that investment is planned for the Self-Catering apartments. I hope you will notice this investment upon your next visit.

I also note your comments regarding the lounge, I agree and the new carpet is on order for this area, which is due to be fitted in the Autumn, with reception carpets being addressed this week.

I will pass your comments regarding the high level of cleanliness onto the housekeeping team. Thank you once again for your feedback.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I recently stayed at the apartments attached to the Derwentwater Hotel, a beautiful period building with pleasant mature gardens for walking and stunning views; it cannot be faulted for location and setting. The staff, prior to our leaving, were helpful and friendly. Only a short walk from Keswick via a public footpath, there are also a number of short walks around the hotel if you didn't wish to venture far. The apartment itself was extremely spacious, if a bit dated in décor, and suited us admirably for our long weekend. There were a few issues that may make me think twice about booking again, or for a longer period. The water pressure wasn't great in the apartments, so taking a shower was a bit of a gamble - with trying to regulate the heat too! There was no washing machine present in the apartment, which I found strange given that you could rent it for weeks for a full holiday. Instead it appeared that you had to use the hotel laundry facilities, which admittedly seemed to be about standard hotel charges but still, I would expect washing facilities in any self catering apartment. There was instead a very large dishwasher, however ironically the apartment was not equipped with anything like enough dishes to fill this. Indeed, there was the bare minimum for the number the apartment slept, excluding glassware, which was in short supply. Every knife in the knife block for food prep was blunt, and additionally the handles on several were coming away from the blades - very dangerous if we hadn't noticed. Most of the serving equipment (ladles, sieves etc) suffered from this same problem, which we discovered when serving hot soup for lunch - thankfully the base of the ladle containing the hot soup hit the floor when it separated from the handle and not the person serving. Also, the torch which was provided for emergency purposes in the case of a fire didn't work - something that I would expect the staff to be checking every time the flat is serviced. These issues really only became apparent on the final afternoon we spent in the apartment, really the only afternoon that we were continuously inside. When we reported these items to the hotel as we checked out the next day, we were told very ungraciously that we should have phoned reception at the time. When we posited that we had really only become aware of issues on the only afternoon that we spent in the hotel, we didn't really receive a response.

It is a beautiful hotel, in a superb setting. The staff were friendly and helpful during our short stay, and Derwent Water itself is a great base for exploring the surrounds. In terms of the apartments, they are (in our experience of the one we stayed in) spacious and neat. However they are not really set up for true self catering - lack of a washing machine and the lack of kitchen equipment/utensils/sufficient serving dishes would impact a stay of longer than a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelladonnaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the considerable time you have taken to review us following your stay, your feedback is very important.

I will investiagte all of your comments and take action to improve the areas you have mentioned, and I will pass your feedback onto all the team.

Once again thank you.

I hope to see you back.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the outside, the hotel looks great. It's a period property and full of character. It's in a great location too, right by the lake and has a pub and restaurant nearby. However, the internal deco of the hotel is rather average, slightly dated. The room is rather disappointed. Once again, the furniture and deco could be replaced and one of the taps on the shower was replaced with a cheap plastic tap. Nevertheless, the staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always important to hear from guests about their experiences of the hotel.

I will praise the team on your behalf, they are a great team who work very hard to look after all our guests, and do a great job.

I have noted your comments about our decor. We are in the process of upgrading all our hotel bedrooms, a process due for completion next year.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On the plus side; lovely surroundings and short walk to Keswick and also a ferry stop and bus stop nearby, very pleasant international staff. On the minus side; tired and shabby decor throughout. The first room we were offered was a threadbare museum piece from 40 years ago with no view and the smell of cooking coming in the window from an extractor right below. The next had the smell of paint but we accepted as there were no more options, and at least it had been updated a bit... if on the amateurish side.Nothing seems to have changed since the 1980's, including the very limited and poor choices on the menu. We only dined in once, and my wife did not enjoy her meal at all. We tried the bar menu which was even more limited and overpriced.
I foolishly thought a hamburger would be a safe bet. I was served a very basic burger in a plain white bun with no onions or garnish of any sort, with a few uninteresting fries, even a Mcdonald's would have been a huge improvement and at 30% of the price. The breakfast was OK except for the porridge which was like wallpaper glue,(if the manager is a Scot. he should be ashamed.) Also the bread rolls were continually reheated for the next meal until they were too solid to bite. Two triangles of toast per person only. No choice of where you sit as the staff clear tables as soon as vacated and will not reset them. This is all very basic stuff. Time for Shearings to get their act together and drag themselves into the 21st century. For the price there is a lot of very superior competition out there!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, not the front as it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your feedback and comments are much appreciated.

I will investigate all your comments and take corrective action where possible to continue the improvement of the hotel.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
761 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £89 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing