We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be coming back :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
East Anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will not be coming back :(”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We have been visiting Derwent Manor apartments (owned by & adjacent to the Derwentwater hotel) every year for at least the last 10 years.We chose it initially because it boasted superb accomodation excellent staff and service and was dog friendly. We thoroughly loved staying there. Alas - the accomodation during the last couple of years has not been up to the usual high standard. We noticed that the rooms were looking very tired & shabby -the dining room in the hotel was filthy. We returned one last time this year in the hope that things had improved, only to find that everything had deteriorated further. Although the staff were exeptional, they admitted that they were trying to work under very difficult conditions and most were looking for work elsewhere. The managements attitude of couldn't care less was very apparent - except for the staff manageress who was in tears over the whole situation. Over the years she has been so helpful. We were disgusted with our bed. On previous visits we always had a very good quality comfortable bed, but the last time was horrendous. We spent 4 nights of our holiday in agony with bad backs & eventually a young porter managed to find a replacement matteress, but this was a very cheap one that was still uncomfortable with springs sticking through giving us sores! Our son & his wife spent an entire night up moving their furniture away from a leak in their ceiling where rain was pouring through on to their beds. This used to be such a fantastic place to stay but now, since changing ownership the standards are so far below our expectations that we will sadly not be returning. It feels like the end of an era for us and we are very sad that the accomodation etc has been allowed to sink to such a low level.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandWEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    265
    145
    90
    65
See reviews for
111
436
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I have been a regular visitor to the Derwentwater Hotel for the past ten years or so, having recommended it to family and friends alike. Sad to say, after my most recent trip, I won't be back. Under the new ownership, standards have dropped to such a level that, despite having paid for a two night dinner, bed and breakfast package, we chose not to eat dinner in the hotel on the second night and opted instead to eat out . Starters consisted of a tiny half-mackerel fillet and utterly tasteless cream of asparagus soup and main courses were poorly presented and served with overcooked vegetables. It was most evident that profit was more important than customer satisfaction. The dining room had the aroma of a hospital canteen. Glassware was dirty and tablecloths displayed stains from a previous sitting. What was previously a most enjoyable experience to be savoured was a rushed non-event. Breakfast was little better. Staff were indifferent and indeed some were unsuited to the hospitality industry. No doubt a new clientele will frequent this hotel but those who enjoyed the experience under the previous ownership will very much mourn their passing.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Staying in the area, we decided for one night , to sample the local hotel cuisine and not to walk into Keswick as per normal.

Having stayed in Portinscale many times, we have in years gone by ventured in for the odd drink.
On entering the hotel at 18.55 (note) we asked the friendly receptionist if we could eat in the restaurant 'tonight'. He duly range presumably the kitchen, and after a protracted debate said ok, assuming we went in by 1930 (!). This was not a 11pm curry special!

Much amused, we just had to carry on. The barman was an excellent chap, providing great service and rapport - then the call to dinner....

The hotel's guests were in situ - all 12 of them. The waitresses were efficient, but desperately keen we ordered our food the moment we sat down, which we resisted (should you need to resist?) until we were ready. The 3 course menu (that was it) and the food were limited, but passable - but not at the price - we had far better cuisine in Keswick, itself not a gastronomic centre.

Perhaps the accommodation is better, but we get the feeling this hotel has seen better days and the recent change of ownership (a coach company) will do nothing to improve this, for e.g. staff numbers have been cut, not a good sign.
We wish the staff well as they deserve better that the apparent future holds, so dear reader go with eyes open - or go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helikaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We spent a very special wedding anniversary weekend here and loved every minute. We were not expecting all-singing, all-dancing up to the minute excitement; it would appear that some reviewers had not done enough research before booking. The room was outstanding - plenty of space for a romantic waltz - with a stunning view over the lake. The staff were unexceptionally helpful, even when clearly very busy. Perhaps the Dining Room was a little cramped - but this is Cumbria, not London's West End. The food was good, the wine good enough. We certainly didn't scrimp on extras, yet the bill at the end was less than expected - always a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeehetOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

At the time of booking on the web, as this was to be the first night of our honeymoon, I asked for a room overlooking the lake/garden and asked again by phone 2 weeks before our stay. On arrival, the receptionist was confused and off-hand and we found we had a very tiny room overlooking a flat roof and a brick wall! We quickly found that the radiator didn't work and, upon complaining, the porter brought a miniature electric radiator which was useless.
The one barman was slow and there was a queue for drinks and the dining room service was confused, although the food was adequate.
Generally, the hotel decor, carpets, lighting etc are very tired and leave a lot to be desired. It is a very over-rated establishment and cost far too much for what you get. We were glad that we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Having tried this hotel again, it remains a shadow of its former self. Those who write more glowing testimonies have obviously not tried decent hotels. This hotel has not attempted to regain its’ former stature. It was once very good, but to regain very good means that it would have to work so hard to do that. When it was family owned it was so good, but alas it has now disappeared below the horizon to miserable depths of mediocrity, suitable to those who don’t know any better in the worlds of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We spent four nights here and had a lovely time. Entrance into reception area is rather old fashioned and a bit dowdy as is some of the decor throughout the hotel, although parts of the hotel are being refurbished.
On booking in we were given a lovely room but it was over the kitchen and the noise of the fans were annoying. After complaining to management we were allocated another room which was excellent. The food in the hotel was very good and staff very efficient and polite. The garden at the rear of the hotel is lovely with a lovely walk down to the lake. We would definately go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing