We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE SELF CATERING APPARTMENTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE SELF CATERING APPARTMENTS”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed at the derwentmanor appartments which are part of the Derwentwater Hotel in Keswick. We found them to be perfect for us as we enjoy climbing and walking in the lake district. You get a complimentary pack bread eggs and milk and a 3 course sunday lunch at the hotel and breakfast on the day of departure if you stay Saturday to Saturday. The view across the fells is lovely and the appartments are very well equipped and comfortable. Overall a nice place to stay and we will be returning again next year.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank todysouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    258
    139
    79
    60
See reviews for
106
412
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break at the Derwentwater Hotel in Portinscale. We were so impressed with the hotel I felt I should write a review as soon as I got home as I disagree with all the negative comments on this website. The hotel is in a great location with beautifully kept grounds on the edge of the lake derwentwater (if the name does not give it away!). All the staff were polite and helpfull (especially the young staff in the dining room). The food was of a good quality- some of the earlier reviews spoke of poor quality food and tinned vegetables which worried us slightly- however, rest assured none of the vegetables were tinned, and all of the food was of a good standard and beautifully presented. Our room was excellent- it had a fantastic view over the lake, and very clean. The bar and conservatory has recently been refurbished and was very comfortable after a long day of walking.

The one down side of the hotel were some of the other customers who really annoyed us by the end of the week! The hotel was privately owned and is now owned by a large chain which clearly a major problem for some of the other customers staying here. One elderly lady travelling with her disabled daughter did nothing but moan the whole week about how the hotel was not as good as it used to be. She was such a gossip it made us uncomfortable. Another couple were moaning about everything and said the hotel was not the same since the complimentary sherry and fudge was taken out of the rooms! Me and my wife both laughed - We are suprised the staff remain so cheerfull!!!!!

In summary - This is a great hotel with great staff. Ignore the negative reviews from other miserable customers who clearly don't understand good value for money!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordiepaul36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Have stayed in this hotel on previous occasions when it was privately owned and been impressed especially with the food. We read the previous reviews after take over by Shearings , some good and some bad,so we thought we would find out for ourselves what it was now like. We wish we had taken notice of the bad reviews! We booked in for two nights but checked out after one; more in sorrow than anger. The place looks like it is being upgraded but we didn't see any actual work being done. The dinner menu was very limited. Cheap cuts of lamb(2 slices) two small new potatoes(not quite cooked)two potato "croquets" and two spoonfuls of vegetables. They had run out of salmon so my wife ordered fish-cakes. When it arrived it was ONE fish-cake. The starter and pudding was just bought-in and heated up bog standard fare. When we went down for breakfast and saw the table of cereal(museli,weetabixor corn flakes) we checked out without breakfast and went into Keswick and ate. We shall NOT return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Seems to be in a processof badly needed refurbishment.
The scaffolding was going up as we left.
If Sheerings Bus is in the buffet breakfast is served on cold plates>otherwise cook to order is OK.
No cold meats or cheese at breakfast.
What Hotel runs out of Yoghurt?
No crossiant unless the BUS is in.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Having stayed at this hotel many times over the last 15 years, standards have deteriorated significantly over the last 2 years.
- Food is now of a very poor standard .... tinned and/or frozen vedge, poor quality meat etc.
- Dirty cups and carpet not cleaned in restaurant
- Bins of dog-poo left full / not emptied for 2 days in garden area
- Complete lack of supervision / management particularly in restaurant area.
- Complete lacking on attention to detail .. once a real strength.
- Only good point left is the location but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had a lovely couple of days that worked out at £44.50 each for dinner, bed and breakfast which was a bargain. All the food was good and some of it was excellent and as a world traveller I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world so have something to compare it to. This is a 3 star hotel with friendly, helpful staff, comfortable, clean rooms and character. There has been some renovation and this is ongoing according to staff members we spoke to. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and our room had heaters we could turn on and off or up and down so even in February we were warm. I could definitely recommend this hotel and would suggest you look out for special offers in the papers or on the internet to make it a bargain break!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I cannot understand these negative reviews. The hotel and staff were excellent and we had a very enjoyable stay. This was our second visit and I will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing