We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Derwentwater Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$321
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$355
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
173
291
170
114
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
291
170
114
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa lake view roomcoast countryself cateringrestaurant staffhotel groundshalf boardlake districtshearings hotelslovely locationlovely walkminute walk into keswickweekend breakplenty of choicestunning viewsa lovely stayfull englishderwentwater
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

After reading some of the unfriendly reviews i was felt i had to join up and write one of my own after my stay here.
I stayed at the Derwentwater in July with my husband after initially being tempted by the "stunning location" as advertised online.
When we arrived we recieved a warm welcome by the Reception staff with nothing being too much trouble for them throughout our stay. We dined each evening in the Deer's Leap Restaurant and found the food and service first class. The menu had several choices, you' d be hard pressed not to find something you like! Spot on.
The bar and lounge had recently been refurbished resulting in a spacious and relaxing atmosphere with stunning views (as promised!!) down the garden to Lake Derwentwater.
We upgraded to a superior room overlooking the lake which i would say is definately well worth the extra, to get up and see that view every day definately made our stay, however the hotel is in such a quiet area i dont think it would matter where you were,
Overall we had such an enjoyable stay and will definately be returning soon hopefully!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelKins19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This could be the worst hotel in the Lake District. Russell the General Manger seems to be proud to run a hotel that fails to deliver even basic service. We booked in for 3 nights and left after one! ! !
The hotel boasts of, ‘Comfortable lounge and bar areas plus a conservatory with lake views’, it negligent to advise that it will also demonstrate how to bleed the central heating system or erect ladders early in the morning, the hotel is being upgraded around the guests trying to relax.
The Derwentwater Hotel claims to have; ‘Plenty of luxurious en suite rooms offering stylish decor with upgrade rooms available’, well that is an opinion. Now another view, only 4 upgraded rooms the rest are yet to be ‘upgraded’. Our room was decorated in pink flowers, wallpaper peeling and pine furniture repaired with the addition of beer mats, to jam close the odd draw. The room was stuffy, a smell throughout the room resembling shake and vac, sickly. No upgrade rooms available.
For really lucky guests the hotel boasts; ‘Excellent food and award winning service from our long serving friendly staff’. Despite asking to enjoy dinner 30mininites before the restaurant was closed, at 8pm, no food was available. Our family was not even offered a sandwich, when requested no snacks were available despite the hotel advertising food being available until 10pm. The unfriendly staff were left to deal with this with no management available.
Fortunately the Red Fort Indian restaurant, 3 miles away in Keswick provided excellent food after which at 10pm we decided to return to the hotel for a nightcap, only to find the bar closed. Reluctantly the staff opened the bar and closed it immediately. Other guests had been told I believe last orders was 9-30pm!
Fortunately I did obtain the General Manager’s mobile telephone number, Russell [-] and in desperation of service rang him at 10.50pm. Despite requesting basic service he was totally uninterested, the staff are clearly lead from the top. If you have the option I recommend you stay anywhere else in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentrus, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

Whilst the hotel supports and encourages guests to share their experiences of the hotel, this review omits a few elements which we feel readers should be informed of when trying to find out more about the hotel.

The reviewer was unable to get a drink from the bar as it was closed for the night. Behaving in a drunken and confrontational fashion, after being politely told by a member of staff that drinks were no longer available, the reviewer forced a young member of staff into giving him the General Managers personal mobile telephone number. Feeling intimidated, the member of staff handed over the number.

At around 11.15pm the reviewer proceeded to telephone the General Manager on his personal mobile number, demanding another drink and explaining what would happen if he could not get one. The General Manager said that he would kindly speak to the guest in the morning and ended the call. The reviewer continued to phone the General Manager and left two lewd, antagonistic voicemail messages.

The next morning, the General Manager sought advice from the police, and the reviewer was asked to leave the hotel. He left without paying for his stay.

The reviewer saw no wrong doing in his confrontational and intimidating behaviour towards members of staff, nor obtaining the General Managers personal phone number and calling him in the night demanding another drink.

Although drinks are not offered 24 hours a day at the hotel, is it acceptable to ring the General Manager on his personal mobile during the night because of this? Whilst the reviewer has every right to share their experiences of the hotel, the hotel management wanted to give more insight into the facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Terrible Sleep, Rude Locals, Booked 2, Left After 1 Night, Wont Be Back Here Again!!!

!!! Chose the 136 Mile trip home at 10PM over staying another night !!!

Booked a 2 night stay bed & breakfast from Friday to Sunday, nice quiet area where hotel is situated, nice surrounding land and free parking around the side, very limited parking though, maybe only 20 spaces if that so was a bit of a lottery to ensure you got a space.

The room was a let down, very dated and bleak decoration and they had TWO SINGLE BEDS STUCK TOGETHER TO MAKE A DOUBLE !!! was extremely uncomfortable sleep on first night, felt very annoyed that they had done that and considered sleeping in car to be honest.

The room was reasonably clean but the bathroom didn't appear to have been maintained and looked as if a child had decorated it with leftover arts & craft materials. The wallpaper was hanging off at many points on the wall and ceiling, and dirt was visible around the shower door seal and around bath edge.

The quality was not in line with the price we paid, which was expensive for what we were offered in return for choosing to stay with them over the other accomodation providers in the area, the local B&B nearby would probably have offered a better service and sleeping conditions for a lot less.

The breakfast on Saturday Morning was another slap in the face: ordered the sausage, beans, bacon and hash brown: Got 1 sausage, 1 bacon, 1 hash brown and a pitiful spoonful of beans. My partner ordered sausage, bacon, scrambled egg and hash brown, was the same: very stinghey portion sizes, as if they were attempting to ration what each person was getting. Had a look around and everyones plates were the same.

Needless to say we ate out within the town both evenings: firday and saturday.

The town of Keswick was good for walking around and seeing all the different shops, traders and food places available, was unfortunate that some of the locals were quite rude and ignorant, was banged into on several occassions with no apologies and treated with disregard by some traders and even bashed by umbrella's a few times, that was quite fun.

There are absolutely loads of outdoor shops selling outdoor shoes and clothing, shame there are so many, probably about 6 - 9 in the Keswick centre vicinity alone, I suppose the area is big on walking and hill walks etc.

The motor museum located within the town is owned by the same company who run the cars of the stars museum and is pricey for admission and no pictures are allowed to be taken.

The parking isn't free within the town but is after 630PM.

One positive part of the hotel was the free pass for 3 hours to nearby oxleys health spa to enjoy the sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool, nice and quiet relaxing building, is located a short distance away from the hotel and Keswick centre.

In summary:

The town is not bad for having a wander around, probably would be ok for visiting for one day but didn't impress me as somewhere I will stay again or will recommend to anyone. The spa was excellent but unfortunately the hotel was a huge diappointment, room was expensive for such bad quality and some locals were rude and ignorant, I couldn't wait to get home and didn't stay the Saturday Night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltire2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We have stayed here regularly in the past and always found it very pleasant with attentive staff. Regret to report the standards in all areas have dropped substatially. The old staff appear to have now gone and the new staff appeared young with couldn't care less aire. The rooms are in need of a revamp and the room I stayed in had a lakeside view except the scaffolding outside the window masked the view and no work was being undertaken during the stay. I went with my wife and a group of friends, so spent a fair amount during the stay. The bar was supposed to be open for residents at any time, non residents 11 p.m. Friday, midnight Saturday. Friday the bar closed about 10 p.m. and on Saturday about 10.50 p.m. when we pointed out residents could be served at any time this was completely disregarded although on Saturday after complaints they did stay open another 35/40 minutes. The standard of food was poor, previously found it good, and on Friday and Saturday evening our party was the last left in the restaurant, we felt rushed to finish and leave. In fact on the Saturday we were asked to leave and go into the lounge and this was well before 10 p.m. We had to point out one of the party was still eating and we wouldn't be leaving until he had finished. We also had to order all three courses on the Saturday night when we sat down at the start of dinner. It was obvious the kitchen staff were packing up and leaving with the sweet being warmed in the microwave. My bread and butter pudding was so hard that I had to use a knife and fork to eat it! The breakfasts were fine.
Needless to say our party will not be returning and will be looking for an alternative venue for our next stay in the lakes. Shearings have lost some good custom who spend alot of cash on our visits but alas no longer at the Derwentwater.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed at the derwentmanor appartments which are part of the Derwentwater Hotel in Keswick. We found them to be perfect for us as we enjoy climbing and walking in the lake district. You get a complimentary pack bread eggs and milk and a 3 course sunday lunch at the hotel and breakfast on the day of departure if you stay Saturday to Saturday. The view across the fells is lovely and the appartments are very well equipped and comfortable. Overall a nice place to stay and we will be returning again next year.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank todysouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews