We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a joke, would like to see the old faces back and the new faces out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Reviewed 1 September 2010

i stopped in this hotel a couple of years ago for a buisness trip to carlisle, i had one of the best experinces in the hotel you could have! i have recently been back to the hotel and i was in for a shock, i do believe all the previous staff had left due to new management, the new management! what a joke, when i came to check in i was told i was in a certain room, when i got to that room, there was dirty towels on the floor and the bed was unclean and had been slept in. i was not happy with this and consulted the receptionist whom told me what shall i do about it, housekeeping have gone, ill get someone upto it when they arnt to busy!!!!!!! what!!!!!! the food was very basic and could easily tell it came from the freezer, what happened to the good home cooked food from the real chefs that wernt there, i was quite upset to realise debra wasnt there anymore as she had the restaurant under control, the place is now a sham, staff swearing at each other and eating at the podium!!!, was promised to have a chat with the manager, russell, the manager whom had no customer service at all, face like a wet weekend in keswick and dam right rude. will never be back in again and i have complained to shearings head office!! bring back the derwentwater

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysticman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for The Derwentwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

For people who,ve stayed in Shearings hotels before, this hotel is above the average. I understand that some people who stayed here under the previous owners are not too keen on the present set up. Speaking for my wife and myself, we have just come back from a four night break and thought the hotel fine. It is in a great location with fine gardens and meadowland. The food was a bit mundane but well cooked and presented, and our standard room was chincy but comfortable. If you like "Semprini" type piano playing you will like the occasional entertainment. The car park needs to be improved, and access to the hotel can be a bit constricted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brimar3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I disagree entirely with any adverse comments .We had a very enjoyable stay with no comlaints.Every aspect was more than satisfactory.For walkers ,the situation is ideal as the "Honister Rambler" bus service ( to Catbells, Grange, Seatoller. Honister Pass. Buttermere, Lorton ) stops outside the hotel. Also it is only a short walk into Keswick.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardson-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We have just returned from a four day break at this hotel, we paid an extra £40 for a lake view and if we craned our necks over the roof of a nearby house, we could just about see a corner of the lake. The room was very clean and about what you would expect from a standard room in a three star (there were no upgrade rooms available) the double bed was not too comfortable and we did wake up with aching backs ! The food is ok, nothing special, would advise against ordering a greek salad for starters a few lettuce leaves in a cereal bowl with 3 olives, two or three small bits of feta and no dressing. The staff in the dining room seemed a little overworked and there was a bit of a language barrier on occasions. They were very polite but one or two seemed a bit inexperienced. On one occasion we went to reception to hand in our key for the day and were kept waiting for a good few minutes by a female receptionist who obviously wanted to finish what she was doing before she even acknowledged us.

The grounds of the hotel are stunning and you can walk down to the lake in a few minutes, the conservatory bar is very stylish and comfortable, but if we had known how quiet it was going to be, without any entertainment (apart from a solitary piano player on one night who could hardly be heard ) we would have gone somewhere else. I have never been to a more boring hotel in the evenings.

All in all an ok stay, if you like peace and quiet and middle of the road food you will be ok here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallsendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

After reading some reviews I was concerned about our forthcoming visit to this hotel, I need never have been concerned. The staff at reception were most efficient and helpful, we stayed in a standard room with no complaints, the food was excellent with ample choice and the restaurant staff could not be faulted. The setting is excellent and sitting in the conservatory on an evening with the pianist providing pleasant music was a lovely way to end the day, so if you fancy a break go for it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarrowjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Having read the reviews on this site, I was worried about the proposed weekend at this hotel to celebrate a relative's birthday.... I really should not have been concerned!

The party had a mix of rooms, we had an upgraded room which could not be faulted with wonderful views from the sitting area, a family room and a disable-friendly room. Yes, our room had been recently refurbished compared to the other rooms but the whole party agreed the rooms were very clean, with good provisions. I also have to say the disabled facilities within the hotel are very good, with ramps, wide doors etc.

It is clear that the hotel is undergoing a general upgrade, with contrasting styles while this is happening, however this did not distract us during the stay.

In terms of the food, the party of 10 had a mixed range of tastes which were all catered for. I would describe the style as traditional which did not disappoint any of us. Generally there is a choice of 3 starters/main course included in the set menu, with additional choices available at an extra charge. The veg changed each of the three nights we stayed and was lovely - not sure where the "tin veg" comment comes from!

Special mention to the staff - they were so friendly. Particular mention goes to David the barman and Sam and Laura in the restaurant. They were attentive and friendly. My partner celebrated a birthday during the stay and the restaurant staff made the effort to discretely decorate the table without us knowing which was a lovely touch. Additionally the bar closed at 11 pm each night, despite the earlier review and as we were still in the lounge at that time we were told the night porter would be happy to get any us further drinks. No complaints there!

Finally the customers - we did not recognise the earlier description of them being a problem . We experienced a lovely atmosphere where fellow residents chatted and swapped stories of their day with each other.

Unfortunately some visitors choose to see the negative in everything, whilst we saw very many positives.

All in all we had a lovely stay and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank as-nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

After reading some of the unfriendly reviews i was felt i had to join up and write one of my own after my stay here.
I stayed at the Derwentwater in July with my husband after initially being tempted by the "stunning location" as advertised online.
When we arrived we recieved a warm welcome by the Reception staff with nothing being too much trouble for them throughout our stay. We dined each evening in the Deer's Leap Restaurant and found the food and service first class. The menu had several choices, you' d be hard pressed not to find something you like! Spot on.
The bar and lounge had recently been refurbished resulting in a spacious and relaxing atmosphere with stunning views (as promised!!) down the garden to Lake Derwentwater.
We upgraded to a superior room overlooking the lake which i would say is definately well worth the extra, to get up and see that view every day definately made our stay, however the hotel is in such a quiet area i dont think it would matter where you were,
Overall we had such an enjoyable stay and will definately be returning soon hopefully!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelKins19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range: £89 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing