We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derwentwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value For Money”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have Just Returned From Our Second Visit Within The Month And I Have Read Some Of The Recent Reviews With Interest. Our First Visit Was On A Weekend And We Were Attracted To The Hotel Due To Its Position On The Lake And The Fact That It Is Dog Friendly. We Booked Through Coast & Country By Telephone And This Was A Very Easy Experience And The Only Other Thing We Had To Do Was Book THe Dogs In Directly With The Hotel And This Again Was Organised With One Phone Call. On Arrival We Were Dealt With Very Quickly By Very Friendly Staff And What A Great Weekend We Had. The Hotel Is Comfortable And All The Staff Are Very Efficient And Polite. Nothing Is Too Much Trouble For Them And The Food Is Excellent. The Bar And Conservatory Area Is Very Pleasant And The Prices Are Suprisingly Low, £3 For A Good Pint Of John Smiths. It Does Have To Be Appreciated That This Hotel Attracts Mainly Retired Clients So Do Not Expect Lively Entertainment Every Night Although The Management Have Organised Various Tribute Acts To Appear In The Next Month Or Two And I Hope This Goes Well. We Were Delighted With Our First Stay and Returned Again Last Week With My Parents Who Are Both In Their Mid Eighties And Again We Had A Very Enjoyable Stay. On Reflection We Use Hotels Frequently Arround The World And For A Relaxing Break In A Beautiful Area This Hotel Takes Some Beating For Value For Money. Mike Tibbett (Scarborough)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketibbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    258
    139
    81
    60
See reviews for
107
413
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed there over the August Bank Holiday and initially had to move rooms because I thought I had booked & paid for a superior one but was told no, it was only a lake view with a bog-standard analogue TV - totally useless in a digital only area and a disgusting bathroom with black mould on the shower head, no water pressure and peeling wallpaper. The new room we were moved to was very nice but we were unable to use the bath because of the filthy water full of sediment in there. We were offered yet another room but as we had already moved once & were assured it would be fixed, we declined. It was never fixed and the manager was a waste of space. Shearings have finally responded to half my complaints today saying everything was fine. I have the photos - I don't think it was! The bedrooms do NOT match the standards in the brochure! I can't describe how let down I was by our stay there, it's such a shame because the location is beautiful and some of the staff are lovely, but don't waste your money, book an unlisted B&B because you will probably get better facilities and much better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokefree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinscale hotels

Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Staff unfriendly, food poor, room old fashioned… Stay anywhere else is my advice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here for one night while on a motorcycling trip with a colleague - we hadn't booked in advance, and found the place using points of interest on a GPS.

Its a big place, and there's refurbishment going on - which is needed. To be fair, I stayed in a room that had NOT been refurbished, but I considered asking for the Daily Sketch to be delivered in the morning - and that ceased publication in 1971 (by which time, incidentally, most of the other guests had already retired).

The most notable problem was the food at dinner time. The starter was an unpleasant soup - soup is supposed to be a liquid, I think - this was not. The main course was a bland, roasted chicken breast served with vegetables which had been boiled into submission, and they served us cheese rind afterward. Yes, that's right - slices of smoked and stilton cheeses, 3mm thick,and consisting entirely of the bits other people would cut off and discard.

Actually, we enjoyed it, but in the same way you enjoy laughing at a film which isnt supposed to be funny.

Also, the pianist was dead.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumblingDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

hotel is a couple of miles outside keswick helpful staff excellent food nice decor nearby to launch on derwentwater [half a miles walk] for trip around lake or get of at various points to go hill-walking or rambling stunning scenery am sure this hotel allows dogs too nice gardens

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Last week we had a sudden and very distressing family emergency so we tried to contact Coast & Country Hotels to re-arrange our forthcoming weekend break at the Derwentwater to another time .. in October perhaps. Not an unreasonable request one would have thought.

And all day we tried to make contact with the Coast & Country booking line and just couldn't get them to answer. Coast and Country are part of the Shearings group which own the Derwentwater. So in the evening we rang the hotel in desperation and the male receptionist told us that he couldn't do anything about it and that we must do it through Coast and Country. We tried to tell him that we had been trying all day .................. but he wasn't prepared to listen and just put the phone down. At a time of much worry and concern we could have done without this.

Eventually in response to a message we left on their out of hours voicemail we received a curt message from Coast and Country informing us that our booking could not be transferred to another date and has been cancelled and that we have forfeited the entire cost which we had paid in advance ... £290.

It would appear that the hotel manager is never available as he spends all his time crouched over his PC in the back office responding defensively to critical reviews from disappointed and sometimes angry clients who have paid good money for third rate service from a third rate company. In the absence of the manager, the hotel appears to be run by a male receptionist who specialises in arrogant disregard for the public and allies this to abusive behaviour .. obviously an honours graduate from the Shearings training academy .. their very own charm school.

Looking on the bright side to all this .. there are so many bad reviews that it may be a blessing in disguise not to stay there.

Earlier in the year there were reports that Shearings which started off as a small bus company was up for sale but it would appear there were no buyers .. and one doesn't have to look far to wonder why. It needs to be acquired by a reputable company which is prepared to spend time and money in restoring the portfolio of hotels to their former pre-Shearings status. And there needs to be a mission to recruit quality staff with a mission statement of customer attentiveness.

All in all a dreadful experience .. and we never actually got to booking in!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VicLaszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The hits were that the food was nice, breakfast and evening meal. The location was lovely too. The misses were that the paper on our ceiling room was peeling off, The shower wasn't working properly.The staff seemed to be qite untrained in how to deal with customers, as they were not always very helpful with queries or when special requests were made, 'have you a pen'? 'no sorry we only have one'! 'may I use the phone for a minute'? 'No sorry you will have to use the one in your room' (a few flights up the stairs) The bar was ridiculous the wait to be served took ages as most of he time it was unmanned. At 10-15pm a packed lunch was requested for the next morning at 9am the request was denied as it was too late! That aint customer service. Staff training definitely needed, there was quite a lot of foreign staff maybe their cultures are different to ours. However saying all that we had a brilliant time because we made a big joke of everything and made light of it all we had not laughed so much for ages.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicetocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinscale
1.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Property: The Derwentwater Hotel
Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing